Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 12/01/20

Well that is it. The first full week of January and 2020 over and done with. Have you had a good one? I hope so. I’ve had a busy old week at work (this is a good thing, believe me) which is having its knock on effect on my reading. A lot less productive than I was in December – shocker I know. But I’m still reading which is a plus and so far have maintained an average reading speed of one book every two days so far in 2020. Let’s see how long that lasts.

Now January is my second favourite month in Winter. Why? Well because it is the month that the Orenda Roadshows are usually announced, that’s why, and this is something I have come to look forward to every year. It’s only second favourite because February is the month the Roadshows typically happen (which they are this year) and I also get to do my annual James Oswald stalk at his book launch (which I am this year!)

2019 Roadshow

Now don’t get too excited as that poster is for last year’s roadshow in Birmingham. At the time of writing this post, the full line up has not been formally announced although we do know the venues and also the authors who will be appearing at some, if not all, of the events. Now if you want the full goss, you need to be stalking Orenda Books on Twitter. I will update on the blog as soon as everything is confirmed, as well as take you back to a few of the previous Orenda Roadshows that I’ve attended to whet your appetites for this year’s festivities. If you want to also stalk the bookshops to see when booking opens they are:

24th February: Waterstones Glasgow
25th February: Drake the Bookshop, Stockton on Tees
26th February: Linghams Booksellers, Heswall
27th February: The Bookcase, Lowdham
28th February: Griffin Books, Penarth

Now, here is the full goss from Lady Orenda herself, Karen Sullivan on who should be appearing:

AUTHORS involved in AT LEAST one of the events (many of them ALL) on our #OrendaRoadshow are
Matt Wesolowski; Kjell Ola Dahl; Thomas Enger; Will Carver; Louise Beech; Antti Tuomainen; Helga Flatland; West Camel; Helen Fitzgerald; David F Ross; Doug Johnstone (TBC); Vanda Symon; Simone Buchholz; Johana Gustawsson; Matt Johnson; Michael J Malone
AUTHORS from Germany, Scotland, Australia, New Zealand, Wales, France, Germany, Finland, Norway, England SO FAR.

I *might* even be at a few events myself. Watch this space!!!

So. Bookwise it’s been a quiet week. I bought one book – The Tattoo Thief by Alison Belsham. I thought I already had it on kindle – turns out I didn’t but I do now. Two new Netgalley books – The Familiar Dark by Amy Engel and The Mist by Ragnar Jonasson. What can I say? I’m weak.

I received a couple of bits of bookpost too this week which is always a real pleasure for me. First up was Alice Teale Is Missing by H.A. Linskey courtesy of Penguin. I also received a copy of Deep Dark Night by Steph Broadribb from the lovely Orenda Books. I am really looking forward to that one – go #TeamLori

That last book means I felt it was time for a new Orenda shelfie or two, so here we go.

Books I have read

Never Have I Ever – L.V. Hay
Twenty years ago

Four teenagers discover a new game.

They add their own rules, going from sharing secrets to sharing firsts.

And then it all goes spiraling out of control.

Now

A woman gets a note through her door which chills her blood

‘Never have I ever been punished for what I have done’

She thought this was over. But it looks like it’s her turn to play

Because no matter how far it goes, you have to obey the rules of the game. And the game is never really over.

The Tattoo Thief – Alison Belsham
A policeman on his first murder case
A tattoo artist with a deadly secret
And a twisted serial killer sharpening his blades to kill again…

When Brighton tattoo artist Marni Mullins discovers a flayed body, newly-promoted DI Francis Sullivan needs her help. There’s a serial killer at large, slicing tattoos from his victims’ bodies while they’re still alive. Marni knows the tattooing world like the back of her hand, but has her own reasons to distrust the police. So when she identifies the killer’s next target, will she tell Sullivan or go after the Tattoo Thief alone?

Perfect Kill – Helen Fields

He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.

Alone, trapped in the darkness and with no way out, Bart Campbell knows that his chances of being found alive are slim.

Drugged and kidnapped, the realisation soon dawns that he’s been locked inside a shipping container far from his Edinburgh home. But what Bart doesn’t yet know is that he’s now heading for France where his unspeakable fate is already sealed…

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, they face an impossible task – but there’s no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead…

Get ready for a rollercoaster ride like no other, with the next gripping thriller from the number one bestselling crime author, Helen Fields. The perfect read for fans of M. J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

So that was my reading week – and to be honest I’ll take three books as it’s better than I expected. A busy enough week on the blog – recap below:

#Review – Mine by Casey Kelleher
#Review – A Year of Orenda – Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski
#Extract – A Silent Death by Peter May
#Review – A Year of Orenda – The Home by Sarah Stovell
#Review – Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton

Another full Monday to Friday line up this week, starting today with a blog tour review of Backlash by Marnie Riches. Then we’ll be sharing more from our Year of Orenda with Mandie’s reviews of Hydra by Matt Wesolowski and A Modern Family by Helga Flatland and I’ll be taking a look back at book one in the Lori Anderson series, Deep Down Dead, before rounding out the week with mandie’s review of LJ Ross’ Hysteria.

I’m away now as I have a good few books I want to read this week. Hope you have a fabulous week full of bookishness. Also hope that I get to meet some of you at the Orenda Roadshows. Watch this space as I’ll be posting more info as it becomes available.

See you all soon. As you can see, Rory and Luna have worn themselves out with excitement.

Jen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.