Backlash by Marnie Riches

Today I’m delighted to join the blog tour for Backlash, the latest Bev Saunders thriller from Marnie Riches. I’m loving this series featuring a less than conventional private detective team and didn’t hesitate to say yes when invited by Tracey Fenton to join the tour. Thanks to publisher Trapeze for the advance copy for review. Here’s what it’s all about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

Keep your enemies close and your neighbours closer…

When Private Investigator Beverley Saunders is tasked with going undercover, she relishes the chance to disguise herself as a cleaner in order to get close to Manchester bad boy Anthony Anthony, aka 2Tone. Anthony’s neighbours are suspicious of his wealth and sick of his anti-social behaviour, and Bev’s just the woman they need to find out what’s going on behind closed doors.

As Bev begins to infiltrate Anthony’s world, she soon realises she’s in danger – and this time, she might be too far in to get out. Alongside her sidekick Doc, Bev must fight to discover the truth – but when people begin to die, she has to ask herself – is exposing Anthony worth risking her own life?

Marnie Riches is back with a gritty, gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books

My Thoughts

When I read the first book in this series, Tight Rope, I knew the author was onto something special with the mad combination of Bev Saunders and her partner in crime fighting, Doc. Well, Backlash has proven just how right I was, giving readers a book which is equal parts, humorous, dark, compelling and emotive.

This time around we see Bev and Doc well settled in their new roles as Private Investigators, albeit in less than necessarily legal circumstances. A meeting with a prospective client sets Bev up with her next case, one which will put her life and potentially that of the very person she loves most, in danger. Who would have thought keeping tabs on a rowdy neighbour would be so dangerous huh? I’m kind of glad I left my previous neighbour to just get on with it now to be fair …

This is a story in which there are many layers. Although you have the often fun and sassy side of Bev front and centre – she is not your usual PI by any stretch of the imagination – there are some very dark and very topical sub-plots behind her case. With links back to trafficking and the supply of Spice, this book touches upon real issues of today, handling them in a way which is scarily authentic and a stark reminder of how society, even the affluent neighbourhood in which Bev finds herself working, can have a very dark side too.

The book of deftly plotted, the action and pacing just right to keep it entertaining but also believable. Do not think that all you read is gospel truth as Marnie Riches has a real talent for hiding the truth behind a very fine veil of a lie. Just enough to keep you guessing, but leaving enough detail that the observant may put two and two together to come up with an answer very close to, but not necessarily exactly, four.

Creating characters is another of the author’s true talents. She has given readers a diverse cast, from the lovable Doc with his burning but ignored torch for Bev. I really like him. He’s laid back, reluctant, a little too reticent at times, but a brilliant character nonetheless. Then there is Bev’s objectionable and quite frankly dickish ex husband, always on hand to twist the knife. Add in some tough and deadly bad guys, a mystery figure who weaves in and out of the story and a man seeking both his freedom and his brother he believes lost to traffickers and you have a group of people who kept me completely glued to the page.

This is a fun series and I am looking forward to seeing how it grows. Being a PI with no restrictions on the cases she can take, the door is wide open for some cracking tales and I know that Marnie Riches is capable of bringing it all – action, adventure, mystery and a bloody good laugh. If you like a PI novel that lives life on an angle, this is the read for you.

About the Author

Marnie Riches grew up on a rough estate in north Manchester. Exchanging the spires of nearby Strangeways prison for those of Cambridge University, she gained a Masters in German & Dutch. She has been a punk, a trainee rock star, a pretend artist and professional fundraiser.

Her best-selling, award-winning George McKenzie crime thrillers, tackling the subject of trans-national trafficking, were inspired by her own time spent in The Netherlands. Dubbed the Martina Cole of the North, she is also the author of Born Bad and The Cover-Up – the critically acclaimed hit series about Manchester’s notorious gangland.

Tightrope is the start of a brand new series, set mainly in the famous footballer-belt of Hale, Cheshire, and introducing quirky northern PI, Bev Saunders who risks everything to fight the corner of her vulnerable client. A second Bev Saunders novel will follow in early 2020. So far, Marnie has sold an impressive 250,000 books and counting…

When she isn’t writing gritty, twisty crime-thrillers, Marnie also regularly appears on BBC Radio Manchester, commenting about social media trends and discussing the world of crime-fiction.

Author Links: Twitter | Facebook | Website

Follow the tour:

3 thoughts on “Backlash by Marnie Riches

Comments are closed.