The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 23

advent-calendar-2900406_1280

#Bookvent – Celebrating my top reads of 2019

Now my twenty-third #bookvent selection was a late entry to the Red Hot Reads list. The book has only just been published for one thing! This is the latest book in a series featuring a well loved Detective Inspector, one that has only been running for a couple of years but is now already five books in. This is the best and perhaps the most emotional case in a series that hasn’t shied away from some hard investigations. With a team I have grown to love, this is a book at which the author has thrown all the emotions, and it is all the better for it. My twenty-third bookvent choice is:

gift-1760899_640

The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer

Their parents thought they were hiding…

One beautiful summer’s evening, thirteen-year-old twins Ivy and Erin Westmore snuggle down in a tent in their back garden, giggling and sharing secrets.

When their mother goes to wake the girls the next morning, their tent is empty.

The alarm is raised and Detective Natalie Ward is put onto the case. When the twins’ bodies are discovered on nearby marshland, covered with deep pink petals, an icy shiver travels down Natalie’s spine. Everything about the girls’ deaths reminds her of a horrifying case she worked on earlier in her career, which saw a killer of the worst kind placed behind bars.

The next day, that feeling is heightened when she receives a chilling note saying ‘I’m back’. Is this killer a copycat or did Natalie put the wrong person in prison all those years ago? In a small town, where no stranger goes unnoticed, what is Natalie missing?

Consumed by the case, determined to prevent more deaths, Natalie misses the fact that it is her attention the killer wants. And to get it, he has his sights set firmly on her precious daughter Leigh…

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Available from: Amazon
gift-1760899_640

Now this book is not necessarily easy to read if you are a parent. Not because it is one that is overly gratuitous, or offensive, but because it features the theme of loss of a child, on in these cases, two. It is a very difficult case for DI Natalie Ward, partly when she comes across the first crime scene it bears an uncanny resemblance to a murder case she thought she had solved some years earlier. Full of conflict, both internal and external, Natalie is facing her toughest case to date and, believe me, author Carol Wyer has already put her through the ringer many times! I love the development of the characters throughout the series and seeing how Natalie’s home life has impacted upon her work too, in more ways than one. But the reason this one stands out above all others, is because the author has managed to elicit such a range of emotions in me as a reader as she builds towards the series most dramatic and game changing conclusion of a case to date. If you are a fan of the series and aren’t left jaw droppingly gobsmacked by what happens in this case then I think you have been reading a different book entirely. To quote my review ‘This book will reel you in, chew you up and spit you out a completely broken and emotionally spent mess.‘ You have been warned!

To read my review in full, head right here.

gift-1760899_640

Happy #bookvent reading all

Jen

2 thoughts on “The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 23

  1. Ooh, Jen! What can I say? I have been left squirming in delight to find The Blossom Twins on your Bookvent Calendar today and can only offer a heartfelt thank you. Rereading your review has returned all the emotions I experienced when I first read it. Readers and reviewers like you are what keep me going through the long nights of writing, or the countless days of frustration when the plot isn’t going together as i want, or I am exhausted through lack of sleep with the book whirling around in my brain like a never-ending sandstorm. You make it all the more worthwhile and keep me motivated. Thank you. I’m spending the festive season with Natalie and her team… great companions and we all wish you and your blog followers best wishes for Christmas and 2020. Thank you, Jen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.