The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog tour and share my thoughts on The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer, the latest book in the DI Natalie Ward series. My thanks to publisher Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review and to the author for keeping me entertained, book after book. Here’s what it’s all about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

Their parents thought they were hiding…

One beautiful summer’s evening, thirteen-year-old twins Ivy and Erin Westmore snuggle down in a tent in their back garden, giggling and sharing secrets.

When their mother goes to wake the girls the next morning, their tent is empty.

The alarm is raised and Detective Natalie Ward is put onto the case. When the twins’ bodies are discovered on nearby marshland, covered with deep pink petals, an icy shiver travels down Natalie’s spine. Everything about the girls’ deaths reminds her of a horrifying case she worked on earlier in her career, which saw a killer of the worst kind placed behind bars.

The next day, that feeling is heightened when she receives a chilling note saying ‘I’m back’. Is this killer a copycat or did Natalie put the wrong person in prison all those years ago? In a small town, where no stranger goes unnoticed, what is Natalie missing?

Consumed by the case, determined to prevent more deaths, Natalie misses the fact that it is her attention the killer wants. And to get it, he has his sights set firmly on her precious daughter Leigh…

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Available from: Amazon

My Thoughts

This book will reel you in, chew you up and spit you out a completely broken and emotionally spent mess. Author Carol Wyer threw all of herself and her emotion into writing this book and it shows. You have been warned.

This is a very difficult book to read if you are a parent. There is a killer on the loose, a vicious mind preying on young girls, whose calling card bears all the hallmarks of a man that Natalie thought she had put away for good years before. COuld she have made a mistake, and if so, how many more girls will die before she can catch the killer?

One member of the team down, Natalie is forced to work with a face from the past, Detective Sergeant John Briggs, a man who bears her no small amount of ill will for taking a promotion he felt he deserved. It makes for an additional layer of conflict in an already complex and tense investigation, putting extra pressure on Natalie. Now fans of the series will know that she is already under pressure from a very fractured family life, something which has not improved any this time around. It makes for a heady mix, an unnecessary distraction, but one which helps the killer no end.

The story bounces between Natalie’s tangled domestic life and the investigation, the occasional chapter taking us back into the past life, and the motivation, of the killer, a person who uses flower petals as their calling card. The flow of the story is spot on, the pace picking up and slowing down as the tension and progression of the case (and lack there of) dictates. Vital clues are dropped in for the reader, with our intrepid detectives left in the dark, and with no end of potential suspects, you will be left reeling by the final reveal.

The characterisation is brilliant as always, Carol Wyer really capturing the naivety and gullibility of the young girls who are easily lured to their death. There is one victim who is harder to fool, but ultimately even then will find it hard to beat such a cunning and deranged mind as that of the killer.

But it is in the final pages of the book that you will find the real emotional heart, the part of the story that will potentially break you and leave you wondering just what the author has done and how anyone can recover from this. For the emotionally invested reader, I suggest you keep some tissues handy as what happens is a real game changer.

I cannot wait to see where the series goes from here because no matter what has happened before, what you thought about Natalie’s character, her complexities and her forthright nature, after what happens in this book one thing is for sure. Nothing will ever be the same again.

You are a cruel lady Carol Wyer. I love it. (Love as in a ‘purely for the purpose of how it will drive the narrative of future novels’ kind of way, of course … Not what you did. Never, ever that. ;))

And you know what lady? I’m going to give you one of these because I think The Blossom Twins is your best one yet …

About the Author

Winner of The People’s Book Prize Award, Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping crime fiction.

A move to the ‘dark side’ in 2017, saw the introduction of popular DI Robyn Carter in LITTLE GIRL LOST, the #2 best-selling book on Amazon, #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible and Top 150 USA Today best-seller.

A second series featuring DI Natalie Ward quickly followed and to date her crime novels have sold over 600,000 copies and been translated for various overseas markets, including Norwegian, Italian, Turkish, Hungarian Slovak, Czech and Polish.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ”Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and the Huffington Post.

She currently lives on a windy hill in rural Staffordshire with her husband Mr Grumpy… who is very, very grumpy.

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Blog

Follow the tour:

6 thoughts on “The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer

  1. Having read your incredible review, I am now a tear-stained mess. Thank you doesn’t begin to cover it. Your praise has lifted me and humbled me. I am overjoyed that my book has made such an impression on somebody who I value highly as a book blogger and reviewer. Thank you for giving me a real sense of pride and for making my head swell so much it is in danger of exploding any time soon. Seriously, Jen, thank you xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have just finished the blossom twins. I adore the natalie ward series, but this one has got to be the best. Outstanding. However I am devastated right now with such a brutal twist! My emotions can’t take it. Hats off to you Carol Wyer for being an amazing novelist…

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.