Woman in the Water by Katerina Diamond

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be sharing my thoughts on Woman in the Water the latest Imogen Grey and Adrian Miles thriller from KAterina Diamond. This is the last in the series for a while and I have to warn readers of the series, it’s an emotional one. A huge thank you to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. Here’s what the book is all about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

I’m alive. But I can’t be saved . . .

When a woman’s body is found submerged in icy water, police are shocked to find she is alive. But she won’t disclose her name, or what happened to her – even when a second body is discovered. And then she disappears from her hospital bed.

Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey follow their only lead to the home of the Corrigans, looking for answers. But the more they dig into the couple’s lives, the less they understand about them.

What’s their connection to the body in the river?

Why have other people they know been hurt, or vanished?

And can they discover the dark truth of their marriage before it’s too late?

Smart, shocking and twisty – perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Karin Slaughter.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books

My Thoughts

I’ve been taking my time in writing this review because it is one of those that I’m not quite sure what to say. If you are a fan of the author’s work, then you will know that she is no stranger to taking the reader to the edge, or pushing the tension in her books to the limit. The previous book was actually quite intense in terms of the nature of the story and the manner in which the murderer chose to dispatch their victims. This book gives you absolutely all of that tension but in an entirely different way. On top of that, it will absolutely challenge your emotions, and just when you thought you know everything, throw in a few more curveballs to stun you into silence.

Sound good? Then you probably want to read this book.

While Imogen Grey has been a big focus in some of the other books, this is very much Adrian’s story. It starts when he rescues a woman who is lying on the banks of the river, badly beaten and close to death. Whilst this is clearly not the result of an accident, there is absolutely no way of foreseeing what a tangled web Miles has found himself caught in as a result of his determination to find out who the woman really is.

This is not a story full of murder, although murder does occur, but it is one which is full of manipulation – both character on character and author on reader. By that, I mean that Katerina Diamond will absolutely manipulate your emotions. Hard hitting and full of tension, there are some harrowing scenes in this book which are very difficult to read, and that will have life changing consequences for those involved. The author has veered away from the gratuitous but still there is enough detail to leave readers in no doubt and leave you feeling absolutely devastated for those affected.

There is a lot of internal monologue in this book, both from the point of view of Adrian, but also the eponymous woman, with a number of chapters told in her voice. It is clear she is running from someone or something, but the magnitude of what that is was far greater than I was expecting. It is hard to feel absolutely sympathetic towards the woman, but then this us how the author has portrayed the whole victimology of sustained abuse almost perfectly. There is a kind of veneer that is hard to penetrate, a seeming acceptance that there is no way out of their plight which felt authentic.

It is a testing case, involving themes of abuse and murder, with a vile and dangerous perpetrator at the heart of everything that happens, possibly the worst foe that the team have yet faced. With shocking scenes throughout, this book takes readers on a slow journey through a puzzling and difficult case, but one that reflects the vile truth of domestic abuse situations. in which one partner controls everything the other does.

As for those shocking scenes – and readers will know once they reach them – they have clearly been well researched and again felt very real, having a real emotional impact on me as a reader. I loved the way in which the author explored the characters emotions, particularly Adrian Miles and the ‘woman’, playing on their fears in drawing out the readers reaction.

This is a complicated and ultimately tense book for very different reasons to others in the series and as a result had a very different tone. It is hard to see your favourite characters going through something so awful. The book draws to a close at a pivotal point in Grey and Miles’ lives and I shall be on tenterhooks until they return to see just how much impact the events of this book really have. Prepare yourselves Grey-Miles ‘shippers. It’s going to be emotional.

About the Author

Katerina Diamond was born in Weston in the seventies. She moved to Thessaloniki in Greece and attended Greek school where she learnt Greek in just 6 months. After her parents’ divorce, they relocated to Devon. After school, and working in her uncle’s fish and chip shop, she went (briefly) to university at Derby, where she met her husband and had two children. Katerina now lives in the East Kent Coast with her husband and children. She is a Sunday Times and Kindle bestseller.

Author Links: Twitter | Website

Follow the tour:

8 thoughts on “Woman in the Water by Katerina Diamond

Comments are closed.