The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 3

advent-calendar-2900406_1280

#Bookvent – Celebrating my top reads of 2019 

My third selection is a book which is actually the second in a series set down in the Channel Islands. Now me, being the contrary soul that I am, I haven’t read book one, but when I got the chance to read this second instalment, I didn’t hesitate as it sounded right up my alley. Full of murder, mystery and thrills, my day three #bookvent selection is:

gift-1760899_640

Dark Sky Island by Lara Dearman

There’s a killer on the island – and someone knows who…

When human bones are found in a remote bay in the Channel Islands, DCI Michael Gilbert is plunged into an investigation to find out who they belong to. The remains are decades old – but after another body is discovered, the police realise they could be dealing with a serial killer.

Journalist Jennifer Dorey is desperate for answers, driven by a secret of her own – but it soon becomes clear that nobody on the island is quite what they seem. Will anyone tell the truth before it’s too late? Or will the killer on the island strike again…?

A gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Peter May.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books
gift-1760899_640

Any author who can describe a place so well that it makes me want to go there, hasn’t done too bad a job. That is exactly the feeling I got when reading Dark Sky Island by Lara Dearman. I was as intrigued about the isle of Sark as I was about the mystery – it was one of those times when I felt compelled to learn more about the place and its history courtesy of our good friend, Uncle Google, one of the only reasons I paused in reading the book. From the very beginning we are thrown into a tense, adrenalin pumping story, one which I knew instantly I needed to get to the bottom of. I really enjoyed getting to know Jennifer Dorey, albeit a book too late, and Michael Gibert. even though it appeared I might be too late on that score too. With a real authentic closeted small town vibe to the story, there was an added oppression caused by the eternal darkness supplied by the islands ‘dark sky’ status. With a twisted history, towns folk who will do anything to protect their way of life and a real threat looming, the book kept me absolutely enthralled.

You can read my full review of the book here.

gift-1760899_640

Happy #bookvent reading all

Jen

One thought on “The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 3

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.