The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 2

advent-calendar-2900406_1280

#Bookvent – Celebrating my top reads of 2019

My second #bookvent choice is a book I read way back in March of this year. Set in a remote part of Scotland, I loved the sound of this book from the moment I read the blurb, the sense of isolation and mystery something that appealed to me. I was also intrigued to see how well an author from the Southwest could manage to recreate an authentic feeling Scottish landscape – I wasn’t left disappointed. My day two #bookvent choice is:

gift-1760899_640

Sleep by C.L. Taylor

Seven guests. Seven secrets. One killer. Do you dare to SLEEP?

All Anna wants is to be able to sleep. But crushing insomnia, terrifying night terrors and memories of that terrible night are making it impossible. If only she didn’t feel so guilty…

To escape her past, Anna takes a job at a hotel on the remote Scottish island of Rum, but when seven guests join her, what started as a retreat from the world turns into a deadly nightmare.

Each of the guests have a secret, but one of them is lying – about who they are and why they’re on the island. There’s a murderer staying in the Bay View hotel. And they’ve set their sights on Anna.

Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One deadly lie.

The million-copy bestseller is back in her darkest, twistiest book to date. Read it if you dare! Perfect for fans of Lesley Kara’s The Rumour and Cara Hunter’s DI Fawley Thrillers.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books
gift-1760899_640

I haven’t hidden the fact that I’ve had a very difficult year reading wise. I have struggled to keep focus and books I would normally have devoured in a day or two have taken me up to a week to complete. This book was a total exception and I whizzed through it in a single day, which has been almost unheard of this year. Atmospheric, claustrophobic and full of underlying threat and tension, it had everything I needed from a book.

The premise – well lets just say it is something we have probably all dreamed of every once in a while – uprooting and starting your life all over again somewhere quite remote. Most of us probably didn’t dream of that remote place being an isolated, weather beaten Scottish island, and probably wouldn’t be running away in as dramatic a fashion as Anna, but still … I loved that I couldn’t get a real handle on who the bad guy was in this book, that all of the visitors to the hotel on Rum had secrets and reasons for the reader to be suspicious of them. The were moments of real tension and scenes that had me on the edge of my seat. It certainly got me all excited about reading again, at least for that one day. Highly recommended.

You can read my full review here.

gift-1760899_640

Happy #bookvent reading all

Jen

6 thoughts on “The Bookvent Calendar 2019: Day 2

  1. Hi Jen, I have not been reafing psychology thrillers at all this year as I tired of thegenre, but this post has sparked that lovely fluttery feeling in me! I shallget myself a copy! THANK YOU and I hope the mojo returns. May I suggest a leap into another genre? It sure worked for me this year!!

    Like

    1. I have a love hate with psychological thrillers too but for some reason this one just sucked me in. I’ve tried cheating on the genre but really struggle to find one that keeps me hooked

      Like

      1. Man, that’s tough, Jen. If nothing else works, maybe a couple of months reading hiatus may bring some relief. It would free up time to allow joy from other sources.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.