Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 27/10/19

Can you believe it is nearly the end of October already. In two months time, Christmas will be all over and folk will be allowing their livers a couple of days to recover (maybe) to get ready for the New Year. True story! Personally I will most likely be reading (definitely not drinking) so the only thing I’ll need to rest is my eyeballs.

How has your week been? Mine has been full of work, not a lot else. Most exciting thing to happen all week was Mandie buying me some Leonidas chocolate (heaven) and managing to find some Isey Baked Apple yogurt and the M&S Foodhall. Bonus! Yep. It’s been one of those kinds of weeks. Made a messerole with some halloween pasta – good news: spiders are tasty – and mostly kicked back and relaxed, give or take the odd coffee. I guess sometimes you do just need to relax but part of me feels guilty for not being more productive. Ah well.

Got my planning head in gear ahead of the NaNo launch on Friday. By ‘got my planning head in gear’ I mean, have decided I’m doing it and have an idea for the story, even the characters, but am mostly planning to pants it. Most unlike me as I am a typically anal planner, however I have decided I can’t be bothered and will see how the wind blows and the mood takes me as soon as I start typing. A bit like these posts. But with a plot. Hopefully.

Not a very eventful week book wise but I did have some book post – yay. A Minute to Midnight by David Baldacci, courtesy of Pan Macmillan and Laura Sherlock. Two Netgalley books – self indulgent but I don’t care. Perfect Kill by Helen Fields (love that series) and Westwind by Ian Rankin (because I’m curious). Besides – if I’m going to do any reading at all in November, it needs to be as far away from what I’m writing as I can get and Westwind just about covers it ….

Four books ordered (preorder mostly). The Murder Game by Rachel Abbott, the second book in the Stephanie King series; The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer, an absolutely emotionally charged must read; The Dirty South by John Connolly; Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner.

Books I have read

Motherland – G.D. Abson

MOTHERLAND is the first in a gripping series of contemporary crime novels set in contemporary St Petersburg, featuring sharp and intriguing policewoman, Captain Natalya Ivanova.

Student Zena Dahl, the daughter of a Swedish millionaire, has gone missing in St Petersburg after a night out with a friend. The wealthy family are putting the force under pressure to get quick results. But Captain Natalya Ivanova discovers that the case is not as straightforward as it may seem. Dark, violent and insightful, Motherland twists and turns to a satisfyingly dramatic conclusion.

Motherland will appeal to fans of Jo Nesbo and Scandi dramas like The Killing and The Bridge.

The Snow Killer – Ross Greenwood

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream…’

A family is gunned down in the snow but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing – no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

Fifty years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather – each time it snows another person dies.

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue…

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller readers. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

Two books – not the greatest reading tally ever but I’ll take it as I’ve been a bit distracted this week. Mostly by the need to sleep but hey ho. BUsy week on the blog though – recap below:

#Cover Reveal – When Stars Will Shine
#Review – A Geordie Up The Ganges
#Review – The Regret – Dan Malakin
#Review – The Roommates – Rachel Sargeant
#Review – Deadly Silence – OMJ Ryan
#Review – My Best Mistake – Carole Wolfe
#Audiobook Trail – Impostor – LJ Ross

So that was my week in a nutshell. For the first time in ages we posted every single day. Don’t expect that again for a while 😉. Might have something a little more exciting to talk about next week as Mandie and I are heading to Brum for the evening to the Tess Gerritsen event. really looking forward to it and I can get my copy of Fifty Shades of Casper signed. 👻

A pretty busy week on the blog again, although we have the weekend off. Mandie is taking the lead with three reviews this week, one of which is a blog tour, Coming Home To Winter Island by Jo Thomas. One review from me (thought I’d best make the effort) to round out the week and that’s your lot.

Hope you all have a very happy and productive reading week. I’m off to tuck into Gary Abson’s second book, Black Wolf, and I can’t wait. The cats have done nothing interesting, other than Rory having her annual jabs, so I’ll leave you with some vintage Rory pics instead and see you next week – same same, same place.

Jen

4 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 27/10/19

      1. I think he wrote this years ago and it has been ‘rediscovered’. Rebus is no longer ageing in real time to give him a little longer and Ian Rankin only publishes every two years. Hearing him at a talk when Rebus goes finally I’m not sure he necessarily wants or needs another series to replace it.

        Like

Comments are closed.