Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 13/10/19

What I have been doing this week. A little bit of this …

And a little bit of this:

Mostly for some of these:

Yep. Another full week of work, plenty of reading, a quick trip to a shopping centre (hell … bleurgh) and some online book retail therapy and I’ve made it through another week. Go me.

And how has your week been? Got to be honest. This working five days thing is really hard. It’s been so long I’m not sure I can do it anymore. Just kidding, but it has been a shock to the system, so much so, I technically only did 4.5 days last week as I finished at lunchtime on Friday.

No bookish events but an absolute belter of a week for bookish good vibes this week with not one, but three packages of lovely book post. I am truly lucky and a very humbled blogger to be sent the packages I received this week.

First up was a copy of Richard Parker’s latest novel, out this week, The Dinner Party, courtesy of Richard and his new publisher, One More Chapter/Harper Collins. I love Richard’s books and this is another cracker so proud to have it in my collection. As nice as it was to be invited to review the book though, I’d probably think twice before accepting any party invitations …

Next up, received on Friday, was a fabulous and very limited edition gift from David F Ross. You may have notice my Orenda collection last week, and my mini (massive) Orenda book buying spree to finish off my collection? Well, David’s was one of the few books I was still missing, and he very kindly offered to send me a copy with a bonus gift included. Turns out it was only a copy of the record that accompanies book two in his series, The Rise and Fall of the Miraculous Vespas, and with the most beautiful inscription in the book too. Think I might just love this guy a little now.

And as if that wasn’t enough, on Saturday I received not one but two books, with accompanying pens (and some chocolate) from the genuinely lovely, and ridiculously generous, Louise Ross – Penshaw and Borderlands, the two latest books in her DCI Ryan collection. I now have a full house again and mighty fine they look too.

One Netgalley book this week, The Snow Killer the brand new thriller from Ross Greenwood and his new publisher, Boldwood Books.

Bought a couple of books too because why not? Black Wolf by GD Abson; and hard copies of the following Orenda titles: Breakers by Doug Jhnstone (because I only have a . proof copy – shame on me); Call Me Star Girl by Louise Beech (same shame as above); Snowblind by Ragnar Jonasson and Nightblind by Ragnar Jonasson.

With two books on the way courtesy of Mandie (who I reciprocally supplied with some spare Orenda books) and also being gifted a signed hardback of Amanda Jennings In Her Wake, my collection is really starting to take shape. I am just four books away from the complete (and I mean complete – hardback and paperback editions) set now, which are the last two Ragnar books – Black Out and White Out. I will complete it soon, but in the meantime how pretty does this look? And space on the shelves for the Orenda Books class of 2020 too. They aren’t all signed, and I’ll try my best to remedy that over the coming months (or years) but still – it looks amazing.

Books I Have Read

The Blossom Twins – Carol Wyer

Their parents thought they were hiding…

One beautiful summer’s evening, thirteen-year-old twins Ivy and Erin Westmore snuggle down in a tent in their back garden, giggling and sharing secrets.

When their mother goes to wake the girls the next morning, their tent is empty.

The alarm is raised and Detective Natalie Ward is put onto the case. When the twins’ bodies are discovered on nearby marshland, covered with deep pink petals, an icy shiver travels down Natalie’s spine. Everything about the girls’ deaths reminds her of a horrifying case she worked on earlier in her career, which saw a killer of the worst kind placed behind bars.

The next day, that feeling is heightened when she receives a chilling note saying ‘I’m back’. Is this killer a copycat or did Natalie put the wrong person in prison all those years ago? In a small town, where no stranger goes unnoticed, what is Natalie missing?

Consumed by the case, determined to prevent more deaths, Natalie misses the fact that it is her attention the killer wants. And to get it, he has his sights set firmly on her precious daughter Leigh…

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Violet – SJI Holliday

Carrie’s best friend has an accident and can no longer make the round-the-world trip they’d planned together, so Carrie decides to go it alone.

Violet is also travelling alone, after splitting up with her boyfriend in Thailand. She is also desperate for a ticket on the Trans-Siberian Express, but there is nothing available.

When the two women meet in a Beijing Hotel, Carrie makes the impulsive decision to invite Violet to take her best friend’s place.

Thrown together in a strange country, and the cramped cabin of the train, the women soon form a bond. But as the journey continues, through Mongolia and into Russia, things start to unravel – because one of these women is not who she claims to be…

A tense and twisted psychological thriller about obsession, manipulation and toxic friendships, Violet also reminds us that there’s a reason why mother told us not to talk to strangers…

Nothing Important Happened Today – Will Carver

Nine suicides
One Cult
No leader


Nine people arrive one night on Chelsea Bridge. They’ve never met. But at the same time, they run, and leap to their deaths. Each of them received a letter in the post that morning, a pre-written suicide note, and a page containing only four words: Nothing important happened today.

That is how they knew they had been chosen to become a part of the People Of Choice: A mysterious suicide cult whose members have no knowledge of one another.

Thirty-two people on that train witness the event. Two of them will be next. By the morning, People Of Choice are appearing around the globe; it becomes a movement. A social media page that has lain dormant for four years suddenly has thousands of followers. The police are under pressure to find a link between the cult members, to locate a leader that does not seem to exist.

How do you stop a cult when nobody knows they are a member?

A shocking, mesmerisingly original and pitch-black thriller, Nothing Important Happened Today confirms Will Carver as one of the most extraordinary, exciting authors in crime fiction.

Three books doesn’t feel too bad. I’m getting used to only doing a book every couple of days now so think this might be my new normal. A steady week on the blog, recap below:

#Review – A House of Ghost – WC Ryan
#Review – The Shape of Night – Tess Gerritsen
#Review – Little Siberia – Antti Tuomainen
#Review – Don’t Get Involved – FJ Curlew
#Review – Take A Chance On Me – Delancey Stewart

The week ahead is a mix with ad hoc reviews and a couple of tours for Cage by Lilja Sigurdardottir; and The Perfect Dress by Louisa Leaman.

For me, the week ahead holds much of the same as last week, but probably with less book post and book buying. Well … maybe less book buying. Who knows. It’s a long time until Sunday.

Hope you all have a fabulous week. I’m off to write some reviews, cuddle the cat and read another book or two.

Jen xx

4 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 13/10/19

  1. Fabulous haul this week Jen. You must be very highly regarded by publishers to get such prized book post. A well deserved validation of your book blogging efforts. Have a great week. Pat the kitties for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.