Rewind, recap: Weekly update: W/E 18/08/19

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Well … this a week where I have done nothing. Until the end of the week I hadn’t even bought any books for heaven’s sake. None. Nada. I know! Most exciting thing I did was take the day off work and go to the dentist. Yep. That’s me. Living the dream. Managed to get in a bit of reading though so now I am on manic catch up with review writing as realised I was a mere 10 behind. Whoops …

How has your week been? Do anything exciting? Me neither. I have been blessed with some brilliant reads though so it’s not all bad. No book post, although that’s not a bad thing as right now I have no shelf space left … Did pick up a couple from Netgalley though. I know, I know. I should know better but I’m an addicted and books are my drug.

First up was The Assistant by SK Tremayne. I also picked up The Long Call by Ann Cleeves. Looking forward to tucking into both of them. Purchase wise it was one pre-order and one audio book. Pre-order was Broken Souls by Patricia Gibney. Audio was Bad Day at the Vulture Club by Vaseem Khan.

Books I have read

Endgame – Daniel Cole

A locked room. A dead body. A secret that went to the grave.

When retired police officer Finlay Shaw is found dead in a locked room, everyone thinks it’s suicide. But disgraced detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes isn’t so sure.

Together with his former partner Detective Emily Baxter and private detective Edmunds, Wolf’s team begin to dig into Shaw’s early days on the beat. Was Shaw as innocent as he seemed? Or is there more to his past than he’d ever let on?

But not everyone wants Wolf back – and as his investigation draws him ever deeper into police corruption, it will not only be his career on the line – but the lives of those he holds closest as well…

The explosive new thriller from the Sunday Times and international bestseller, perfect for fans of Fiona Cummins and Helen Fields.

Degrees of Guilt – H.S. Chandler

When you read this book, you will think you know every twist in the tale.

Maria is on trial for attempted murder.

She has confessed to the crime and wanted her husband dead.

Lottie is on the jury, trying to decide her fate.

She embarks on an illicit affair with a stranger, and her husband can never find out.

You will think you know who is guilty and who is innocent.

You will be wrong.

A gripping, sexy and twisty novel for readers who devoured ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, APPLE TREE YARD and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

The Neighbour – Fiona Cummins

A new home. A new start.

It’s all the Lockwoods want.

And on The Avenue, a leafy street in an Essex town near the sea, it seems possible.

But what if what they want isn’t what they get?

On their moving-in day they arrive to a media frenzy.

A serial killer has struck in the woods behind The Avenue.

The police are investigating.

And the neighbours quite clearly have secrets.

With their dream quickly turning into a nightmare, the Lockwoods are watching everyone.

But who’s watching them?

The Long Call – Ann Cleeves

The Long Call is the captivating first novel in the Two Rivers series from Sunday Times bestseller and creator of Vera and Shetland, Ann Cleeves.

In North Devon, where the rivers Taw and Torridge converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his father’s funeral takes place. The day Matthew turned his back on the strict evangelical community in which he grew up, he lost his family too.

Now he’s back, not just to mourn his father at a distance, but to take charge of his first major case in the Two Rivers region; a complex place not quite as idyllic as tourists suppose.

A body has been found on the beach near to Matthew’s new home: a man with the tattoo of an albatross on his neck, stabbed to death.

Finding the killer is Venn’s only focus, and his team’s investigation will take him straight back into the community he left behind, and the deadly secrets that lurk there.

That was me reading wise, but I’m part way into another book now so doing well all things considered. Day off today too so who knows what I’ll achieve. Recap of the last week on the blog below:

#Review – Time for the Dead – Lin Anderson

#Review – Last Victim of the Monsoon Express

#Review – One Good Deed – David Baldacci

#GuestPost – Secrets of a Book Cover – Patricia Furstenberg

Nothing especially bookish planned this week other than reading and reviewing although that’s plenty. Three tours pencilled in, At Your Door by J.P.Carter, A Cruel Deception by Kim Booth and The Girl He Used to Know by Tracey Garvis Graves.

Hope you have fun week. I’ll see you in a few days. I’m off to get my read on while Rory has a snooze. Alright for some huh?

Jen

8 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update: W/E 18/08/19

  1. Everyone needs a ‘do nothing’ week once in a while Jen. You needed a break after all your travelling.
    I too am anticipating “The Long Call” by Ann Cleeves. I plan to read it soon.
    I’m always amazed at how comfortable cats can make themselves. It would seem Rory has mastered the art.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.