A Whisker In The Dark by Leighann Dobbs – Review by @mgriffiths163

Today I hand back to Mandie who has a #booksontour review of A Whisker In The Dark, the latest cost crime from author Leighann Dobbs. A big thank you to Noelle Holten for inviting us to join in and for providing the advance copy for review. Here’s what the book is all about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

Discovering the 300-year-old skeleton of shipping tycoon Jedediah Biddeford in the ballroom wall is a big old hassle for Josie Waters, owner of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse. Especially when Biddeford’s descendants turn up, certain that a family legend about treasure buried nearby must be true.

Josie is too busy dreaming up the perfect cake for the Oyster Cove’s 250th anniversary celebration to worry about the Biddeford family – plus half the town – digging up her yard… until one of her guests is murdered in the guesthouse garden. 

With worries that her guesthouse will get a reputation for being the kind of place you only leave in a body bag, Josie must put her detective skills to work to find the killer. Lucky for her, Nero and Marlowe and their gang of cat sleuths are also on the case. 

From the old wharf, to the town common, to the guesthouse itself with its many nooks and crannies, the cats are sure to sniff out the killer… but can they help Josie stop the person behind the mysterious murder before they strike again?

A fantastic page-turner from a bestselling author, purrfeect for fans of Agatha Christie, Adele Abbott, cat lovers and everyone in between!

Available from: Amazon

Mandie’s Thoughts

A Whisker in the Dark is a cosy crime with a slight difference. Not only do you get the usual police investigations into a murder that takes place at the Oyster Cove Guest House but there are others that are taking an interest in what is going on… Nero and Marlowe the resident cats. This is the second book in the series but is just as good as a standalone.

When the skeleton of the Guest Houses original owner is found in the walls, it starts of chain of events that leads to the murder of one of the guests. To add to the twist this guest is one of his descendants. The discovery of the body brings back to the surface the legend of a curse that has the whole town trying to find buried treasure in the grounds.

None of the murder victim’s family are very pleasant and all of them could have a motive for the murder and I found their business of cheese sculptures a little bit odd(if this really is a thing I have to ask why) but with so many others acting suspiciously you have to follow the twists and turns to find out who the killer actually was.

You can’t help but like Josie. She has moved back to the place she grew up in and taken on the running of the guest house. A self-confessed bad cook she is often found utilising the skills of the previous owner to make sure all her guests at least get a decent breakfast. As she is once again thrust into the middle of a murder investigation, she decides that along with Mille and her own mother they would try to find out what happened. Its fun to watch Nero and Marlowe and their motley crew of cats dig and sniff their way round clues and try to communicate them to the humans whilst remaining aloof as cats do.

I will admit that this book may not be everyone’s cup of tea, especially as the cats talk to each other, but I have to say I enjoyed it and I found myself smiling quite a lot whilst reading it. Leighann Dobbs has certainly captured the true essence of the cats and has created central characters that you will enjoy reading about. If you love cosy crime then give this series a shot.

About the Author

USA Today bestselling author, Leighann Dobbs, discovered her passion for writing after a twenty year career as a software engineer. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband Bruce, their trusty Chihuahua mix Mojo and beautiful rescue cat, Kitty.

Her book “Dead Wrong” won the “Best Mystery Romance” award at the 2014 Indie Romance Convention.

Her book “Ghostly Paws” was the 2015 Chanticleer Mystery & Mayhem First Place category winner in the Animal Mystery category.

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Follow the tour:

3 thoughts on “A Whisker In The Dark by Leighann Dobbs – Review by @mgriffiths163

Comments are closed.