Sisters of Willow House by Susanne O’Leary @susl @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #review

Today I pass the blog over to Mandie who has a #booksontour review of Susanne O’Leary’s Sisters of Willow House. Thanks to Noelle Holten for inviting us to join the tour and providing the advance review copy. Here’s what the book’s about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

A heart-warming novel about the bond between sisters, set along Ireland’s windswept shores, where romance beckons and secrets unfold…

Roisin McKenna and her husband Cian are taking time apart. Unsure of what she wants, Roisin’s prayers are answered when she receives a call from her sister Maeve who is desperate for her help.

Roisin heads to Sandy Cove to help Maeve restore their aunt’s gorgeous tumbledown mansion Willow House and soon all she has time to focus on are its crumbling walls. Despite a shocking announcement from Maeve and hidden secrets in the house’s rafters, Roisin begins to feel a sense of self she’s been missing for years.

The ties that bind Roisin to her husband seem to be unfurling in the Irish wind, when she unexpectedly stumbles into a mysterious man on the beach. Suddenly, she’s swept up in the idea of another life she could lead…

The restoration may have brought the sisters back together, but as a storm rolls over the coast Roisin feels sure she must make a choice. Will her time at Willow House teach her the precious lessons she needs to return home or has the cove called to her in ways she’d never imagined it could?

Fans of Sheila O’Flanagan, Debbie Macomber and Mary Alice Monroe will be swept away by Sandy Cove.

Available From: Amazon | Kobo | Google | Apple Books

Mandie’s Thoughts

Roisin and Cian find themselves at a loose end after they sell their successful business. With the children all happy in boarding school they are looking for their next project, something they can enjoy together now they have the time. Or so Roisin thought, until Cian came home with a Campervan that he named Rita after his first girlfriend. With Cian wanting to go travelling (something that fills Roisin with dread) and Roisin wanting to go to her aunt’s house to help her sister oversee the renovations, they decide the best thing to do is for them to each do what they want and have a little space.

Sisters of Willow House is the second book in the series, but you won’t have any trouble following this one if you have not read the first one. Roisin is quite a feisty character and really does like to take charge of things, so she has been struggling with not having anything to focus on. Despite this she does sometimes have bouts of self-doubt especially when it comes to Cian and the current state of their marriage. Her relationship with her sister is a very close one, however despite this even she challenges Roisin on the state of her marriage and questions if her new friendship with ex reporter Declan was as platonic as she tells everyone. As her personal life explodes onto the local press, you do have to wonder who is behind it all and the culprit may surprise you. The only good thing about it is that it gives Cian the kick up the backside needed to curtail his travels and finally meet up with his wife to sort out their lives once and for all.

As Roisin tackles everything head on she manages to re connect with old friends and make new ones that are certainly quite colourful but have her back when it matters most. The community of Sandy Cove certainly take care of their own and are quick to protect them from gossip.

Although this is the fist book in this series, I have read it is not the first one by this author. Once again, I was drawn into the beautiful locations within the book. Susanne O’Leary has a way of drawing you in to the characters and the settings making the books even more enjoyable. This one certainly explores friendships, family and what happens to a relationship when you start taking things for granted. This is definitely an enjoyable read and one that I would recommend.

About the Author

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of fifteen novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties (including MacGillycuddy’s Reeks, featured in Full Irish), or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Author Links: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Follow the tour:

2 thoughts on “Sisters of Willow House by Susanne O’Leary @susl @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #review

Comments are closed.