Mummy Needs a Break by Susan Edmunds @susanedmunds @AvonBooksUK #extract #blogtour

Today it is my great pleasure to be bringing you an extract from the new novel from Susan Edmunds, Mummy Needs A Break. Thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon for inviting me to join the tour. Here’s what the book is all about:

About the Book

A hilarious story of the ups and downs of unexpected single motherhood, the perfect laugh-out-loud romance for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, The Unmumsy Mum and The Not So Perfect Mum.

With a devilish toddler and baby number two on the way, Rachel’s big dream is to one day go to the toilet on her own. So, she’s surprised to discover that her husband has found the time to have an exciting affair while she’s been bringing up their family.

Suddenly, Rachel is left wrangling with a child who will only eat crackers and a 35-week bump. She knows even Mumsnet isn’t going to solve this.

What Rachel needs is a handsome, good-with-children, single man. But she can barely leave the house without a stain on her top and child on her hip. How on earth can she claim her life back, let alone thinking about dating?

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books

From the Book

‘I don’t want to make myself more of a target . . .’ I could hear her jangling a bunch of keys.

I deployed the most soothing tone I could muster. She sounded about the same age as my mother, but the photos I’d found of her in our files looked as if she was only a decade or so older than me.

‘I’m sure you won’t. You must want something done to improve safety?’

I bit my lip, allowing her silence to spread out between us. She did not take the hint to fill it.

‘More security guards for the mall? Better monitoring?’ I tried. ‘Have you lost a lot of money?’

A wail echoed down the hallway. She didn’t seem to register it. Judging by her breathing and the whir of vehicles in the background, it sounded as if she was hurrying across a car park.

‘Oh, heaps. The insurance excess wipes me out each time. I’m too scared to work late here by myself.’

I swallowed.

‘I’d love you to raise awareness of the problem.’ I had to get the words out before she came up with another excuse to put the phone down. ‘Maybe stop other business owners getting caught out.’

‘I guess.’ The line went silent again.

Thomas howled from the next room. I cringed. Could his father not handle one bedtime alone? ‘Have you any footage? We could post it on social media, see if anyone IDs the guys?’

If you’re intrigued and would like to read more, the book is available from the links above.

Follow the tour:

One thought on “Mummy Needs a Break by Susan Edmunds @susanedmunds @AvonBooksUK #extract #blogtour

Comments are closed.