Sinner by Jacqui Rose @RoseThisis @AvonBooksUK #extract

Today it is my pleasure to be joining the blog tour for Sinner, the latest thriller from author Jacqui Rose. Thank you to Sabah Khan for inviting me to join the tour. I have a great extract to share with you all but first let’s take a look at what the book is all about:

About the Book

Having been brought up amongst the hardest gangsters and faces of London, Franny Doyle learnt never to let love be her weakness. But she’ll do anything to protect those close to her, and at whatever cost.

Her partner Alfie Jennings is under pressure. The only person he ever sent down has recently been released from prison, and his Soho nightclub is under threat from his rival Charlie Eton – a man who doesn’t respond kindly to people taking away his business.

Charlie is playing dirty to come out on top, and when innocent children become involved in the feud, Franny and Alfie are dragged into a dark underworld where Alfie must face demons from his past, and Franny is in a dangerous race against time to ensure her own secrets aren’t exposed.

Betrayal and lies come with consequences, and old sins cast long shadows…

The heart-racing new thriller perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books

From the Book

Charlie Eton was one of life’s bastards and he prided himself on this self-proclaimed title. If anyone called him a bastard, rather than be offended, he took it as a compliment, knowing that he must be doing something right, because to Charlie being a bastard showed strength. It showed aggression. It showed he’d wound somebody up enough for them to be upset. Everything he aspired to do and be – that word said it all.

He didn’t ever want to be called nice, kind, warm, loving, not by anyone. Not by his ten kids he never saw, not by any of his ex-wives and certainly not by the people who worked for him. Though after being in the business for as long as he had, he doubted anyone who knew him would call him those names. And he was comfortable with that. Very. Because those names were synonymous with weakness.

Weakness to him was a disease. A disorder. It was what his mother had been, night after night when instead of fighting back, she’d allowed his father to beat her up and then done nothing when his father’s attentions turned towards him and his younger sisters. Attentions that not only included kicks and punches, but also long, painful, drawn-out attentions in the bedroom, day or night.

If this has got you all intrigued, you can order the book from one of the links above.

About the Author

Jacqui Rose is a novelist who hails from South Yorkshire. Jacqui first came to appreciate the power of the written word when as a child she charged her classmates a packet of sherbet dips to write their essays for them. Adopted at a young age and always a daydreamer, she felt isolated growing up in a small mining village in South Yorkshire and it was her writing which kept her company. Sent to boarding school as a teenager, it was there she discovered her love for acting. After leaving school she studied to be an actress and started teaching drama voluntarily and writing workshops for prisoners, ex-offenders and the homeless, helping them develop and create their own plays but it was several years before Jacqui herself wrote again. 

Jacqui’s introduction back to writing was when she began to write and perform stand-up comedy and although this was very short lived it brought back the joy and freedom as well as the fun which writing gave to her.

Author Links: Twitter

Follow the tour:

One thought on “Sinner by Jacqui Rose @RoseThisis @AvonBooksUK #extract

Comments are closed.