It’s Not you, It’s Him by Sophie Ranald @SophieRanald @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #booksontour

Today I pass the blog over to Mandie who has a #booksontour review of Sophie Ranald’s It’s Not You, It’s Him. Thank you to Noelle Holten of Bookouture for inviting us to join the tour and providing an advance copy of the book for review. Here’s what it’s all about:

Source: Netgalley

About the Books

New Year’s Eve. The most overrated night of the year, right? I have to get through an evening of enforced fun, drink all the prosecco and talk about new beginnings. But I don’t want new beginnings. I want my old beginning back.

It’s been ten days, two hours and forty-three minutes since Tansy got dumped. Two heartbreaking weeks since Renzo, who made her weak at the knees and dizzy with excitement, found out Tansy’s secret – and ended it on the spot.

Since then, she’s spent every evening scrolling through their old photos, drunk texted him twenty-six times (he stopped reading after five), and lost count of how many packets of Kleenex she’s cried her way through.

That’s where Operation Get Renzo Back comes in. She ropes in a new wing-woman, maxes out her credit card and accidentally-on-purpose bumps into him at every opportunity. Oh, and she finds a fake boyfriend, as you do…

But while she’s busy pretending, Tansy’s plan is thrown a major curveball. She has to learn the hard way that it’s not her, it’s him – and that sometimes, a break-up can end up being the making of you.

A fresh, funny and fabulous novel for anyone who has been dumped, got a post-break-up haircut, stalked an ex on Facebook, and then realised they were WAY better off without them. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this laugh-out-loud read.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Playstore | Apple Books

Mandie’s Thoughts

It’s Not You It’s Him follows Tansy as she tries to get over being dumped by her boyfriend Renzo, deal with issues at work and her growing feelings for someone from her past who she thought she hated.

As the New Year is being rung in by Tansy and her friends, she decides that she is going to get her ex back one way or another, she is just not sure how. Now we all know that sometimes decisions made when under the influence of alcohol are not always the best ones, but Tansy is determined that getting Renzo back is the right move and she somehow convinces her flatmate and Renzo’s colleague to assist her in her endeavours.

Tansy is probably like a lot of us….at work seems to be completely on top of it but at home a complete and utter mess which for me made her that little bit more relatable. It doesn’t mean there weren’t times that she really frustrated me. Her initial friendship with new girl Felicity was one that seemed a bit superficial but Tansy it turns out was not the only one hiding a secret as to why they had connected.

The more I got to see of Renzo the more I didn’t like him. I get that things from Tansy’s past may not have been ideal, but he just seemed a bit self-centred and expected everything his way. For me he didn’t seem to have any redeeming qualities and I couldn’t understand why Tansy would want him back.

I loved Tansy’s flatmate Adam. He was a bit of a geek and obsessed with the neighbour’s cat Freezer, but he really cared about her. I found myself chuckling when he really got into his role of “spy” to keep Tansy updated on Renzo’s movements. His jealousy over Freezers sharing of affections with their new flatmate brought a smile to my face.

Throughout the book you get to learn about Tansy’s childhood and some of her insecurities from this period in her life come back in a big way when Josh, an old classmate and son of her mentor moves back to the UK and crashes at her flat for a while. His laid-back attitude challenges Tansy and she finally confronts the things that upset her growing up.

Billed as a laugh out loud rom-com it does touch very briefly on things that are a bit more in the social conscience area such as the exploitation of workers in the garment industry and body shaming but they are only in the background to assist in specific parts of Tansy’s story. This is certainly a fun book with entertaining characters that is easy to get into and certainly one to pack for reading by the pool on your holidays.

About the Author

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed, and The Truth About Gemma Grey was released in summer 2017. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat. 

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com

Author Links: Twitter | Facebook

Follow the tour: