Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 26/05/19

Photo by Trent Erwin on Unsplash

Work, work, work. That’s all I’ve done this past week. Five whole days. Five!!! First time since March. It damned near killed me …

Okay, so that’s not entirely true, but it was a very strange feeling. I had no idea working weeks lasted that long 😉 Thankfully it was followed by a long bank holiday weekend so I had plenty of time to recuperate. I need to get used to it. I’ve another seven five day weeks to navigate between now and the end of September. Not sure I can cope …

Confession … I didn’t just work. I read a little bit too. As you do. Be a pretty lame book blogger if I didn’t now, wouldn’t I? That and well behind on my blog tour reviews which wouldn’t do. And I did a little clothes shopping (which I detest) but it was essential. I ensured that it was supported by copious amounts of coffee so it wasn’t that bad, but not something I want to repeat any time soon.

Had some lovely book post in the week. three books in two days – whoop whoop. First up was Vick Newham’s Out Of The Ashes, courtesy of HQ. I also received Stephen King’s The Colorado Kid from Titan and A Random Act of Kindness by Sophie Jenkins from Avon Books. And my paperback copy of Exit Wounds turned up mid week too, so all in all a pretty good week.

No new Netgalley books – I know. It’s a miracle. And I only bought one book – an audiobook – Conviction by Denise Mina.

But I did turn three. Well, the blog did. I’m considerably older than that. Read some books though so go me.

Books I have read

All That’s Dead – Stuart MacBride

There’s a darkness in the heart of Scotland…

The stunning new Logan McRae thriller from No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller Stuart MacBride.

Scream all you want, no one can hear…

Inspector Logan McRae is looking forward to a nice simple case – something to ease him back into work after a year off on the sick. But the powers-that-be have other ideas…

The high-profile anti-independence campaigner, Professor Wilson, has gone missing, leaving nothing but bloodstains behind. There’s a war brewing between the factions for and against Scottish Nationalism. Infighting in the police ranks. And it’s all playing out in the merciless glare of the media. Logan’s superiors want results, and they want them now.

Someone out there is trying to make a point, and they’re making it in blood. If Logan can’t stop them, it won’t just be his career that dies.

The latest book in the Logan McRae series, this book has all the elements fans have come to know and love. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book later in the week but you can order a copy here ready for release date, Thursday. This has a strong socio-political theme but it has been given the MacBride treatment so it’s not too heavy.

Little Girls Sleeping – Jennifer Chase

He looked down at the little girl, sleeping peacefully, her arms wrapped around a teddy bear. He knew he was the only one who could save her. He could let her sleep forever.

An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California and for 
Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp twenty years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.

But as Katie starts to investigate, accompanied by her loyal ex-military dog, Cisco, the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Hidden deep in the forest she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly coloured teddy bear.

Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls—finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.

And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home.

Katie’s still haunted by the friend she failed to protect, and she’ll do anything to stop the killer striking again—but can she find the little girl before it’s too late?

Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.

Book one in a brand new series featuring Katie Scott, this one has twists and turns galore and a really gorgeous German Shepherd to boot. Full of tension and a strong new female lead, this one has me looking forward to reading more of the series. It’s out at the end of the week but you can order a copy here.

Shadow Man – Margaret Kirk

A gripping Scottish crime thriller from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.

Two sisters

Just before her wedding day, Morven Murray, queen of daytime TV, is found murdered. All eyes are on her sister Anna, who was heard arguing with her hours before she was killed.

Two murders

On the other side of Inverness, police informant Kevin Ramsay is killed in a gangland-style execution. But what exactly did he know?

One killer?

As ex-Met Detective Inspector Lukas Mahler digs deeper into both cases, he discovers that Morven’s life was closer to the Inverness underworld than anyone imagined. Caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, is Lukas hunting one killer, or two?

I’ve had this on my tbr pile for far too long and with book two calling out to me, I figured it was about time to give it a whirl. Completely glad I did and I have to say that Lukas Mahler may be one of my new favourites. And I love the setting of Inverness. Atmospheric, creepy and tense, this was a great read. I’ll be reviewing soon but why not pick up your own copy here, then you can pre-order book two, What Lies Buried, too.

Managed to sneak in a couple of short stories too. Take Care of Your Own Business, a Craig McIntyre short from Gordon Brown, and The Night Beat by Harry Bingham, the short story that introduces Fiona Griffiths.

A so so week on the blog – recap below:

Tick Tock – Mel Sherratt

Exit Wounds – Crime Anthology

The Never Game – Jeffery Deaver

A Necessary Evil – Abir Mukherjee

I Am Three

The Women – SE Lynes

The Detective Kate Hamblin Series

The week ahead is quite quiet, as are the ones after that to be fair. Blog tour posts for Second Chances for Lottie Botte by Katy Lilley, Little Girls Sleeping by Jennifer Chase and Proximity by Jem Tugwell. A few reviews as and when and that’s your lot. Well it is holiday season.

I’m off now to recover from the trauma of shopping. It’s taken it out of me you know. See you all this time next week. Or maybe a day early. Who knows. Soon at the very least.

Jen