Exit Wounds – Crime #Anthology @TitanBooks @PaulKaneShadow #review

Oh I do love me a good crime story and Exit Wounds, a wonderful collection of short stories from some of the top names in Crime Fiction, is absolutely full of them. A big thank you to Paul Kane for letting me have an early read and to Sarah Mather and publisher Titan Books for providing a copy for review. And happy publication day too!

Here’s what you can expect:

Source: Advance Review Copy

About the Book

A brand-new anthology of crime stories written by masters of the genre, including Jeffery Deaver, Val McDermid and Lee Child.

A brand-new anthology of crime stories written by masters of the genre. Featuring both original in-universe stories and rarely-seen reprints, this collection of masterful short stories brings together some of the genre’s greatest living authors.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Google Play | Apple Books

My Thoughts

If there is one thing in the book world that is misunderstood and completely underrated, for me it has to be the short story, or, in this case the short story anthology. I know that some people feel that short stories don’t allow them to get to know the characters, that they aren’t meaty enough, but for me they are the perfect, bitesize way to get your fix of your favourite author or to find an author who may be completely new to you without having to commit to a long term relationship aka ‘the novel’. They are perfect for a quick shot in your lunch break, on your daily commute or that ten-twenty minute wait you have while you are waiting for your tatties to boil for dinner.

If you are a fan of crime fiction, then Exit Wounds is a perfect way to while away those odd moments of time where you aren’t quite sure what to do with yourself. Featuring some absolutely cracking stories from some of the top writers in the business, you are bound to find something there which is right up your street. This book worked perfectly for me and I actually read it over a couple of weeks, a couple of stories a day over lunch breaks and when I got in from work. A nice way to unwind. With added murder and crime. All good.

Now it is hard to talk about short stories as to say too much would pretty well give away the whole plot and negate the need to buy the book, but I will say that there are some real gems in amongst this collection and enough to keep you hooked, shocked, thrilled and blasting through those pages.

For fans of Val McDermid’s Hill and Jordan series you have a nice catch up with the pair in Happy Holidays, a real misnomer for some of the characters and no mistake. And its a very welcome howdy to everyone’s favourite Bounty Hunter, Lori Anderson, in Steph Broadribb’s Fool You Twice. And I might be biased (I am) but I really enjoyed John Connolly’s On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man, and also James Oswald’s Dressed to Kill, the latter of which featured none other than dear old Inspector Tony McLean and Grumpy Bob Laird. (I love Grumpy Bob). I learned it’s probably not a good idea to go to Louise Jensen’s for dinner, and not to pick a fight with AK Benedict. She has a very devious mind … As for Paul Finch’s The New Lad – loved it.

A full line up of stories below:
The Bully – Jeffery Deaver
Dead Weight – Fiona Cummins
Like A Glass Jaw – Mark Billingham
On The Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier – John Connolly
The Pitcher – Sarah Hilary
Disciplined – Martyn Waites
The Consumers – Dennis Lehane
Voices Through the Wall – Alex Gray
Wet With Rain – Lee Child
Happy Holidays – Val McDermid
Fool You Twice – Steph Broadribb
Lebensraum – Christopher Fowler
Dancing Towards the Blade – Mark Billingham
Kittens – Dean Koontz
Take My Hand – A.K. Benedict
Dressed to Kill – James Oswald
Booty and the Beast – Joe R. Lansdale
The New Lad – Paul Finch
The Recipe – Louise Jensen

So? What do you think? Look at that list. You want to give this a try now don’t you?

Go on. You won’t regret it.

3 thoughts on “Exit Wounds – Crime #Anthology @TitanBooks @PaulKaneShadow #review

Comments are closed.