Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 05/05/19

Well what a week this has been. First up I spent a lovely evening at Stafford Library in the company of Sarah Rayne, Carol Wyer and Noelle Holten talking all things Staffordshire crime. Then at the weekend Mandie and I headed up north to attend Newcastle Noir, three days of brilliantly entertaining panels with some absolutely superb authors. What’s not to love?

A massive thank you to Carol Wyer for gifting me copies of The Birthday, Last Lullaby, The Dare and Take a Chance on Me, as well as the chocolate honeycomb. Very much appreciated. 😉

I’ll try and put my thoughts on Newcastle Noir together very soon, as I have quite a few panel pictures to share, but just to give you a flavour, above is . the small pile of books I brought back with me from the weekend (plus a copy of Black Wolf by GD Abson sent to me by Mirror Books while I was away). From top to bottom there is:

Turbulent Wake and Absolution by Paul E Hardisty; The Ringmaster and Overkill by Vanda Symon; Dead Inside by Noelle Holten; Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen; The Closer I Get by Paul Burston; You Die Next by Stephanie Marland; Down to the Woods by MJ Arlidge; Zodiac by Anamaria Ionescu; Scared to Death and White Gold by Rachel Amphlett; The Sound of Her Voice by Nathan Blackwell; Black Wolf by GD Abson; A Gift For Dying by MJ Arlidge; The Absolution by Yrsa Sigurdardottir and The Emotion Thesaurus.

It was lovely to meet LJ Ross and Vanda Symon in Newcastle, as well as Juliet Butler and Caroline Vincent and many other blogging and author friends. If you get the chance to attend next year, I’d definitely recommend it. Attending also allowed me to update my Orenda Books collection and fill my shelves with signed books too.

A couple of books ordered this week . Thought I might as well. Thin Air by Lisa Gray; the audio version of A Modern Family by Helga Flatland and The Friend Who Lied by Rachel Amphlett.

Three Netgalley books, mostly for tours, downloaded: The Never Game by Jeffery Deaver; Truth or Die by Katerina Diamond and The Sound of Her Voice by Nathan Blackwell

Books I have Read

Your Deepest Fear – David Jackson

A dark, shocking and relentlessly gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Peter James. 

‘Sara! Remember! Victoria and Albert. All I can say. They’re here. They’re-‘ 

These are the last words Sara Prior will ever hear from her husband. 

As DS Nathan Cody struggles to make sense of the enigmatic message and solve the brutal murder, it soon becomes clear that Sara is no ordinary bereaved wife. Taking the investigation into her own hands, Sara is drawn into a world of violence that will lead her in a direction she would never have suspected. 

For Cody, meanwhile, things are about to get personal in the darkest and most twisted ways imaginable . . .

Well this was quite the thriller. Completely unexpected but very addictive, this isn’t the first book in the series, but you have enough of Cody’s past relived through the book in order to keep newcomers, like me, in the loop. If you don’t like clowns, this is going to fry your brain. Dark and twisted, I thoroughly enjoyed this. You can order a copy here.

The Closer I Get – Paul Burston

Tom is a successful author, but he’s struggling to finish his novel. His main distraction is an online admirer, Evie, who simply won’t leave him alone.

Evie is smart, well read and unstable; she lives with her father and her social-media friendships are not only her escape, but everything she has.

When she’s hit with a restraining order, her world is turned upside down, and Tom is free to live his life again, to concentrate on writing.

But things aren’t really adding up. For Tom is distracted but also addicted to his online relationships, and when they take a darker, more menacing turn, he feels powerless to change things. Because maybe he needs Evie more than he’s letting on.

A compulsive, disturbingly relevant, twisty and powerful psychological thriller, The Closer I Get is also a searing commentary on the fragility and insincerity of online relationships, and the danger that can lurk just one ‘like’ away…

I knew that Orenda Books and Paul Burston would be the perfect pairing. This book is full of obsession, intrigue, mystery and unsettlingly twisted characters who are so insanely normal as to be amongst the scariest folk you’ll meet. And that ending. Loved it. You can order a copy here while I have a think about how to review it without naming who I think Evie reminds me of … 😉

Tick Tock – Mel Sherratt

TICK…

In the city of Stoke, a teenage girl is murdered in the middle of the day, her lifeless body abandoned in a field behind her school.

TOCK…

Two days later, a young mother is abducted. She’s discovered strangled and dumped in a local park.

TIME’S UP…

DS Grace Allendale and her team are brought in to investigate, but with a bold killer, no leads and nothing to connect the victims, the case seems hopeless. It’s only when a third woman is targeted that a sinister pattern emerges. A dangerous mind is behind these attacks, and Grace realises that the clock is ticking…

Can they catch the killer before another young woman dies?

Okay – technically I’ve cheated as I finished this yesterday but hey ho. I’ve had a busy week. Book two in the Grace Allendale series sees Grace and her team on the trail of a killer who is preying on the women of Stoke, someone who has their sights set on someone very close to home. Full of tension and mystery, fans are going to eat this up. I’m reviewing for the tour very soon but you can order a copy here.

Mixed week on the blog – recap below:

First Monday Crime Preview

Their Little Secret – Mark Billingham

The Way of All Flesh – Ambrose Parry

Envy – Amanda Robson

A Summer To Remember – Sue Moorcroft

A quite quiet week ahead with only a handful of posts, although tomorrow is quite full with three. Like buses my posts these days. We have tour reviews of Hunting Evil by Chris Carter; Deadly Secrets by OMJ Ryan, The Markham Mysteries by Catherine Moloney and Their Final Moments by Jane Adams.

It’s not been all books this week. Whilst in Newcastle we took a quick trip to Mog On The Tyne cat cafe too. Lovely company and a nice way to while away the time in between panels.

Nothing beats being back home with my two though, although this comes a close second.

Have a fabulous week all. See you on the other side.

Jen

2 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 05/05/19

Comments are closed.