First Monday/Tuesday Crime Preview @1stMondayCrime

Can you believe it is that time again? Yep, end of one month followed quickly by the start of a new one. Which can only mean one thing … It’s time for the next First Monday Crime.

Only on a Tuesday.

Blame the bank holiday…

Appearing at First Monday/Tuesday Crime on May 7th are four cracking crime writers: Vanda Symon, Mark Billingham, Chris Carter and Deborah O’Connor. I have had the pleasure of reading three of their books and have the fourth on my tbr pile. I can honestly say if you get a chance to read any of them you are in for a treat. Here are the books that these lovely folk will be discussing:

The Ringmaster – Vanda Symon
Published by Orenda Books.

The heart-stoppingly tense next instalment in the richly atmospheric, bestselling Sam Shephard series … for fans of The Dry

Death is stalking the South Island of New Zealand

Marginalised by previous antics, Sam Shephard, is on the bottom rung of detective training in Dunedin, and her boss makes sure she knows it. She gets involved in her first homicide investigation, when a university student is murdered in the Botanic Gardens, and Sam soon discovers this is not an isolated incident. There is a chilling prospect of a predator loose in Dunedin, and a very strong possibility that the deaths are linked to a visiting circus…

Determined to find out who’s running the show, and to prove herself, Sam throws herself into an investigation that can have only one ending…

Rich with atmosphere, humour and a dark, shocking plot, The Ringmaster marks the return of passionate, headstrong police officer, Sam Shephard, in the next instalment of Vanda Symon’s bestselling series.

You can read my review here.

Their Little Secret – Mark Billingham
Published by Little, Brown

She says she’s an ordinary mother.
He knows a liar when he sees one.

Sarah thinks of herself as a normal single mum. It’s what she wants others to think of her. But the truth is, she needs something new, something thrilling.

Meanwhile, DI Tom Thorne is investigating a woman’s suicide, convinced she was driven to do it by a man who preys on vulnerable women.

A man who is about to change Sarah’s life.

From number one, five-million-copy bestseller Mark Billingham comes a breathless new thriller starring Thorne and Tanner that readers will devour.

Loved this and will be reviewing very soon. Another cracking Tanner and Thorne novel that’s hard to walk away from.

Hunting Evil – Chris Carter
Published by Simon and Schuster

As roommates, they met for the first time in college. Two of the brightest minds ever to graduate from Stamford Psychology University.

As adversaries, they met again in Quantico, Virginia. Robert Hunter had become the head of the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit. Lucien Folter had become the most prolific and dangerous serial killer the FBI had ever encountered.

Now, after spending three and a half years locked in solitary confinement, Lucien has finally managed to break free. And he’s angry.

For the past three and a half years, Lucien has thought of nothing else but vengeance.

The person responsible for locking him away has to pay, he has to suffer.
That person … is Robert Hunter.

And now it is finally time to execute the plan.

I’ll be reviewing this book as part of the blog tour, sadly not until after First Monday Crime, but can honestly say that if you’re a fan of Robert Hunter, you do not want to miss this book. With the trademark psychological insight, dark storylines and emotional turmoil, it’s Hunter v Lucien and it is very very personal.

The Dangerous Kind – Deborah O’Connor
Published by Zaffre

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandal and Belinda Bauer,The Dangerous Kind is a dark and gripping thriller that asks us all: how well do you really know the people you trust?

One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who send prickles up the back of our neck. 

These people hide in plain sight. They can be teachers, doctors, lawyers, holding positions of trust, of power. 

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the sfety of her own family.

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

If you can make it along to London’s City University on 7th May, why not book up know and go along, listen to some brilliant conversation and pick up one or two of the books while you’re at it? If you ask nicely, they’ll even sign them for you too!

Places can be reserved right here. The event takes place at 18:30, College Building, Room A130, City University, London.

Tickets are absolutely free and gratis so what are you waiting for?

Follow First Monday Crime on Twitter for up to date info on all future events.