Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK #review

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Perfect Crime, the latest book in the ‘Perfect’ series by Helen Fields. I am a huge fan of this series and am always excited to see what DI Luc Callanach is up to now. A big thank you to Sabah Khan for inviting me to join the tour and to publisher Avon for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Here is what it’s all about:

Source: Advance Review Copy – Courtesy Avon Books

About the Book

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable…

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed…

As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.

Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes…

An unstoppable crime thriller from the #1 bestseller. The perfect read for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Playstore | Apple Books

My Thoughts

I was late coming to this series but the moment I started reading I raced to catch up. There is a real darkness in the stories, which I love, and with two brilliant protagonists in DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner, what is not to love?

This time the story sees Luc Callanach and Ava called to the scene of what could easily be an accidental death or potentially suicide. The victim in question had only recently been stopped from jumping into the Forth, so it is not entirely unlikely that he had chosen to try again, this time succeeding where he had previously failed. And yet something doesn’t seem quite right to Ava, even more so when a small anomaly is spotted during the post mortem. When another previously suicidal victim is found dead, this time in circumstances which brook no argument over whether the death is murder, it falls to Ava and the team to stop a brutal killer before they claim more lives. However … they are a man down. This time Luc has troubles of his own as events from his mother’s past come back to haunt him.

Be in no doubt that the themes in this book are quite dark. Whilst dealing very sensitively with the subject of suicide, the victims’ deaths are far from peaceful, and there is no sense that they are escaping pain, more being subjected to it on a truly torturous scale. They are not graphically described, we are not there are the point of death so to speak, but enough description is given to leave you as a reader in no doubt as to what has occurred. Nothing less than I’d expect from this series which has never shied away from exploring the darker side of Edinburgh life.

Added into the tension of the investigation you have a parallel murder enquiry, led by newcomer to the team, but not to the reader, Pax Graham. This case is very personal to Luc Callanach, and sees him as one of the key suspects putting him in a truly precarious position both with his job and with Ava. and speaking of Ava, the obvious chemistry between her and Callanach is off the charts in Perfect Crime, and will drive fans of the series mad. It was never going to be easy between those two, despite everything, but another mistake from Callanach’s past is going to jump up and bite him leaving some very frustrated, but excited, readers I suspect.

I loved the ebb and flow of the tension in this one – the quiet moments when Callanch and Ava are being completely honest with each other, and the moments of real breath taking action where as readers we are taken right to the cusp of a murder, being it in the present or via a series of flashbacks from the killer. And the secondary story will leave you reeling, closing down a long running storyline which I just knew had to resurface at some stage. Wasn’t quite expecting that though.

I wasn’t entirely surprised by the eventual reveal of the killer, it was really only ever going to be one of two people to my mind anyway, but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story at all. The distraction of the central characters, the loss of Callanach from the investigating team, even the love sick behavious displayed by Sergeant Lively, all added to the tension and the enjoyment of the novel, leaving flashes of uncertainty and suspense which drew me deeper into the story. And the ending? Well that certainly changes things a bit. I’m looking forward to seeing quite how much, and how Callanach and Ava navigate the latest bump in the road of their friendship.

And by bump, I do mean Arthur’s Seat/Salisbury Crags size hillish bumps. Possibly even Everest sized as lord knows Ava’s cold enough towards Callanach right now.

Dark, intense, and full of suspense and thrills, this book will leave fans of the series begging for more. Top stuff.

About the Author

Helen Fields’ first love was drama and music. From a very young age she spent all her free time acting and singing until law captured her attention as a career path. She studied law at the University of East Anglia, then went on to the Inns of Court School of Law in London.

After completing her pupillage, she joined chambers in Middle Temple where she practised criminal and family law for thirteen years. Undertaking cases that ranged from Children Act proceedings and domestic violence injunctions, to large scale drug importation and murder, Helen spent years working with the police, CPS, Social Services, expert witnesses and in Courts Martials.

After her second child was born, Helen left the Bar. Together with her husband David, she went on to run Wailing Banshee Ltd, a film production company, acting as script writer and producer.

Helen self-published two fantasy books as a way of testing herself and her writing abilities. She enjoyed the creative process so much that she began writing in a much more disciplined way, and decided to move into the traditional publishing arena through an agent.

Perfect Remains is set in Scotland, where Helen feels most at one with the world. Edinburgh and San Francisco are her two favourite cities, and she travels whenever she can.

Beyond writing, she has a passion for theatre and cinema, often boring friends and family with lengthy reviews and critiques. Taking her cue from her children, she has recently taken up karate and indoor sky diving. Helen and her husband now live in Hampshire with their three children and two dogs.

Author Links: Twitter | Website

Follow the tour:

2 thoughts on “Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK #review

Comments are closed.