Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 07/04/19

Other coffee shops are available …

Sums up my week really. All coffee and computers. Well, and ebooks of course. Got to keep up with my reading after all.

How are you? Hope you’ve had a more exciting week than me. Actually had to do a whole five days in work – I know – shocking right? This means I have done nothing of note and nothing of interest. Read a few books and wrote a few reviews but that’s about it for me. Nothing to see here …

I’ve been quite a lucky blogger this week in spite of the tedium with two lovely pieces of book post mid week. They came in the form of Tick Tock by Mel Sherratt from the lovely folk at Avon and The Absolution by Yrsa Sigurdardottir from Hodder & Stoughton. I love both series and authors so am over the moon to receive them. So pretty right?

As if that wasn’t epic enough my Netgalley haul this week is a thing of beauty. First up was The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington , again from Avon. Then, to my absolute delight and surprise I was granted access to A Book of Bones by John Connolly by the folks at Hodder. You may have missed it but I am a particular fan of the Charlie Parker series so I am a very happy bunny about that one. I have it on pre-order but being able to dip in early seems like such a treat (especially as it’s 700 pages long so I need to dedicate quite a chunk of time to devouring it!). I also picked up a copy of Tick Tock (before the book arrived) and Dead Inside by a certain blogger turned author called Noelle Holten. Heard great things about it so I’m really looking forward to tucking in.

Two books ordered from Amazon – Nine Elms by Robert Bryndza and How The Dead Speak by Val McDermid – a new Hill and Jordan book. Woohoo!!!. Cannot wait. I ordered a book off Goldsboro Books too, a limited edition signed copy of The Closer I Get by Paul Burston.

Books I have read

You Die Next – Stephanie Marland

When a group of urban explorers stumble across a murderer’s kill room in a derelict film studio, terror strikes. And when one of the group is found dead, the team realise – they’re being hunted.

DI Dominic Bell is investigating the murder, but as the body count rises, time is running out. The only person who can help him is a figure from his past, Clementine Starke – but Clementine is haunted by her own demons. Can the two of them pair up to catch the killer? Or is it already too late?

A cat-and-mouse thriller perfect for fans of Sarah Hilary and Rachel Abbott. Read it if you dare!

The second book in the Starke and Bell series, this is riddled with tension, and some heart stopping moments – quite literally for some of the characters – as they search for a ruthless killer. I love the dynamic between the two lead characters in this series, driven by obsession and and unwavering attraction, and both seeking answers to very personal mysteries. You can order a copy of the book here, and I’ll be reviewing for the blog tour very, very soon.

Dark Sky Island – Lara Dearman

There’s a killer on the island – and someone knows who…

When human bones are found in a remote bay in the Channel Islands, DCI Michael Gilbert is plunged into an investigation to find out who they belong to. The remains are decades old – but after another body is discovered, the police realise they could be dealing with a serial killer.

Journalist Jennifer Dorey is desperate for answers, driven by a secret of her own – but it soon becomes clear that nobody on the island is quite what they seem. Will anyone tell the truth before it’s too late? Or will the killer on the island strike again…?

A gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Peter May.

This the second Jennifer Dorey book but, although I do have a copy of book one, it’s the first one I’ve read. It’s left me with a bit of a book hangover though and a desire to get to book one as soon as I can. It’s also left me wanting to visit the Channel Islands where there book is set, despite the dark nature of the story, a true murder mystery which spans twenty years and sees the main characters placed in great jeopardy. Will they make it off Sark alive? You can buy your own copy here to find out.

Close to the Edge – Toby Faber

Morning rush hour on the London underground and Laurie Bateman is on her way to work when she witnesses a terrible accident. The elderly gentleman next to her on the platform falls onto the tracks and is fatally injured. With the police uninterested, Laurie is drawn to investigate and soon finds herself breaking into the tube network in the dead of night searching for a clue dropped by the dead man, only to be pursued by two unknown assailants whom she narrowly escapes.  

But Laurie’s troubles are far from over and soon she loses her job, has her phone stolen and discovers her flat has been burgled and her flatmate assaulted. It takes her father to persuade her that everything might be connected. Laurie starts to dig deeper, unaware that as she gets closer to the truth, she is endangering not only herself, but also everyone she loves.

I’m sure we’ve all experienced the pain of a busy morning commute, but I’m glad that none of mine have ever been as eventful as that of Laurie Bateman. I loved the way the tension slowly built in this one with a seemingly simple and yet tragic accident leading to a series of events which see Laurie slowly getting out of her depth. A wonderful mystery that slowly drew me in, the episodic nature of it really worked well. You can order a copy here and I’ll be reviewing very soon as part of the tour.

The Absolution – Yrsa Sigurdardottir

All he wants is for them to say sorry.

The police find out about the crime the way everyone does: on Snapchat. The video shows the terrified victim begging for forgiveness.

When her body is found, it is marked with a number 2…Detective Huldar joins the investigation, bringing child psychologist Freyja on board to help question the murdered teenager’s friends. Soon, they uncover that Stella was far from the angel people claim – but even so, who could have hated her enough to kill?

Then another teenager goes missing, and more clips are sent. Freyja and Huldar can agree on two things at least: the truth is far from simple. And the killer is not done yet.

A brilliantly suspenseful story about the dark side of social media, The Absolution will make you wonder what you should have said sorry for…

I love the Children’s House series. Dark and unforgiving, Yrsa Sigurdardottir takes some truly meaty subjects, in this case involving teenagers rather than small children, and brings them right into the minds of the reader. Full of tension, atmosphere and with two of my favourite characters in Freyja and Huldar, this was another of those read in a day books that I’ve been craving of late. Perhaps not quite as shocking as some of the scenes in the last book, it still makes you pause and think. I’m sure there is a lot of this story that many readers will sadly identify with. Thankfully, we don’t all react in quite the same way … You can preorder a copy of the book here ahead of its release on 18th April.

Four books. I’ll take that. After a very slow start to the year, I’ve been on a bit of a roll lately. I’ve started another one too so not too bad a week all told. Just a handful of posts on the blog this week – recap below:

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village – Joanna Nell

One More Lie – Amy Lloyd

The Librarian of Auschwitz – Anontio Iturbe

Sleep – C.L. Taylor

Busy week coming up with blog posts pretty well every day. Starting today with Call Me Star Girl by Louise Beech, we’ll also be reviewing The Island by Ragnar Jonasson, The Girl In The Painting by Renita D’Silva, Twisted by Steve Cavanagh and Amazing Grace by Kim Nash, as well as bringing you an extract from the latest rom-com from Carol Wyer, Suddenly Single.

Hope you have a wonderfully bookish week everyone. I’m off to read a few more books. I’ve got a day off this week too – heading to Brum to attend the event at Waterstones with C.L. Taylor and Gillian McAllister. Should be a fab evening.

Gratuitous Kitty Shot

See you next week!

Jen

6 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 07/04/19

Comments are closed.