The Truth About Love and Dogs by Lilly Bartlett @MicheleGormanUK #review

Today it is my great pleasure to be sharing my thoughts on The Truth About Love and Dogs by Lilly Bartlett. My thanks go to the author for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Here is what it’s all about.

The Bookish Bits

Four little words, uttered by her husband…
‘Oh my god,’ he gasped into her shoulder. ‘Shannon!’
There’s just one problem: her name isn’t Shannon.


Rewind six months and 
Scarlett and Rufus aren’t in the honeymoon stage anymore so much as the honey-should-we-bother phase. Desperate to get their sparkle back, Scarlett has plotted, planned and waxed more than any woman should have to, but none of it is working. Which makes it very hard to start the family they want. 

At least her business is going strong, even if her marriage isn’t. She and her best friend spend their days tangled up in dog leads and covered in fur. Scarlett is the fairy dogmother, training hopeless pets like compulsive eater Barkley, impulsive Romeo Murphy and bossy Biscuit. Meanwhile, her best friend walks the dogs and pines for the man who doesn’t know she exists. Thank goodness the women have each other. 

If only Scarlett could work out how to get her marriage back on track. But Rufus isn’t sharing his feelings with her. He is, though, sharing with her best friend. Her best friend, Shannon.

Meet your new best friends in the witty, uplifting, utterly hilarious tale that will make you laugh, cry and say “I know the feeling”. Perfect for fans of Marley and Me, Marian Keyes and Jenny Colgan!

Available From: Amazon UK | Amazon US

My Thoughts

I love escaping into the world of a Lilly Bartlett novel. You are guaranteed to have not only laugh out loud moments, in this case courtesy of the many canines that frequent the pages such as Barkley and Murphy, but also moments which will make your heart break as we venture through the complicated lives of Scarlett, Rufus and best friend Shannon.

Scarlett and Shannon are not only best friends, they also work together, Scarlett managing the dog training half of the business and Shannon taking care of dog walking, a job that both of them love. Shannon’s frequent visits to the park with her various charges allow her a chance to see her secret love, ‘Mr Darcy’, a man she lusts after but is too shy to actually talk to. Scarlett’s half of the business brings her into contact with others who are just as unlucky in love. Max, a guy who falls in love hard and fast and whose dog, Murphy, has a nasty habit of humping everything he sees, is hesitant to allow his four legged friend to have the snip. Then there is Charlie and his dog Barkley who eats everything he sees. And finally we have Margaret and her aggressive dog Biscuit. Margaret needs as much help and training as the rest of Scarlett’s clients.

As much as the scenes with the dog training and walking are – and if you read what one of Shannon’s clients does to her poor pugs you will have a damned good chuckle as well as call her out for borderline animal cruelty – there are as many scenes which are filled with heartbreak. Scarlett and Rufus’s relationship has reached a crossroads, and it is this situation that becomes the heart of the story. The author has done a brilliant job of capturing the varying emotions of the couple as they try to conceive but face a series of obstacles along the way. It is an all too common situation that they find themselves in, and the way in which they each cope with the blows they are dealt feels very authentic and will tug at your heart strings.

This is a funny, heartwarming and emotional read that will resonate with a lot of people. From the mad moments of trying to nurse fledgling relationships, the drudgery that comes with a long term partnership and being taken for granted, through to the heartbreak of being unable to achieve the one thing you want the most, this is a story that will draw you in from the start. With brilliant characters you cannot help but love, if this doesn’t bring a smile to our face, I don’t know what will. A book for dog lovers everywhere.

About the AuthorA

Lilly Bartlett’s cosy romcoms are full of laugh out loud moments, quirky characters and guaranteed happily-ever-afters.

Lilly is the pen-name of Sunday Times and USA Today best-selling author, Michele Gorman, who writes best friend-girl power chick lit under her own name.

Author Links: Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Website


One thought on “The Truth About Love and Dogs by Lilly Bartlett @MicheleGormanUK #review

Comments are closed.