Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 10/03/19

Image by WelshPixie on Pixabay

This is exactly how I feel right now. This and a little bit bunged up as it appears I’ve developed a cold. It could be worse. At least I don’t feel like the walking dead like I did at the start of the week. Now I’m just tired. All self inflicted, and very worth it, but by god, I’m feeling my age now.

Monday saw me heading up to Edinburgh for the Orenda Roadshow. You can read my write up of the evening here but suffice to say a brilliant night was had by all as 14 of Karen Sullivan’s most excellent authors told us all about their latest books. I might have purchased a few extra books myself while I was there because, you know … books. Buying links for all can be found in the post in case you were interested.

It was a pretty whirlwind trip to Edinburgh, there and back in just over a day, but I did enjoy it and it was lovely to catch up with everyone again. I just about had time to recover on Tuesday afternoon before jumping back on a train on Wednesday, this time with my sister and friend Lou, to see the Birmingham leg of the roadshow. A slightly different line up of authors this time and my write up can be found here. Another couple of books bought because it is nice to have a full collection 😉 My shelves look very tidy now.

I’ll be hunting down a few more signed copies at Newcastle Noir in May too. Vanda Symon and Paul Hardisty are over which is a treat too good to be missed and I’m looking forward to hearing new to Orenda author Paul Burston talk about his book too. Tickets are only £4 per panel so it would be madness to miss out if you can get there.

On Thursday I was in my car heading north again, this time to attend Crime and Publishment, an annual crime writers course held at The Mill Forge in Kirkpatrick Fleming. This is a fabulous two and a half day event with top writers running sessions on varying aspects of crime writing. This year it was Zoe Sharp, Caro Ramsay, Doug Johnstone and Stan of The North Literary agency putting delegates through their paces. I’ll do more of a write up when my brain is back functioning but you can find out more about the weekend in a fabulous post by Zoe Sharp which can be found here. We even ended the weekend with a touch of snow which was nice … not. Thankfully it cleared before the drive home.

Only two bits of book post this week. Perfect Crime by Helen Fields courtesy of Avon and Close to the Edge by Toby Faber courtesy of Muswell Press. Two new Netgalley books, Amazing Grace by Kim Nash and Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton. Two new Amazon pre-orders too. Thin Air by Lisa Gray and Fallen Angel by Chris Brookmyre. It’s all been a bit Noah’s Ark book wise this week …

Because of all the travel I’ve done very little reading this week. Two books (well one and three halves if I’m honest but I’m mostly done with a second book so going to claim it.)

Books I have read

The Truth About Love and Dogs – Lilly Bartlett

Four little words, uttered by her husband…
‘Oh my god,’ he gasped into her shoulder. ‘Shannon!’
There’s just one problem: her name isn’t Shannon.


Rewind six months and Scarlett and Rufus aren’t in the honeymoon stage anymore so much as the honey-should-we-bother phase. Desperate to get their sparkle back, Scarlett has plotted, planned and waxed more than any woman should have to, but none of it is working. Which makes it very hard to start the family they want. 

At least her business is going strong, even if her marriage isn’t. She and her best friend spend their days tangled up in dog leads and covered in fur. Scarlett is the fairy dogmother, training hopeless pets like compulsive eater Barkley, impulsive Romeo Murphy and bossy Biscuit. Meanwhile, her best friend walks the dogs and pines for the man who doesn’t know she exists. Thank goodness the women have each other. 

If only Scarlett could work out how to get her marriage back on track. But Rufus isn’t sharing his feelings with her. He is, though, sharing with her best friend. Her best friend, Shannon.

Meet your new best friends in the witty, uplifting, utterly hilarious tale that will make you laugh, cry and say “I know the feeling”. Perfect for fans of Marley and Me, Marian Keyes and Jenny Colgan!

I do love a good rom-com by Lilly Bartlett and this one even has dogs so how could I resist. Fun, full of laughter but with a very emotional story at its core, this will have fans very happy. Loved the characters and loved the canine companions who really did steal the show, especially Barkley and Murphy. You can buy a copy right here.

Runaway – Claire Macleary

When Aberdeen housewife Debbie Milne abruptly vanishes without trace, leaving behind her two young children, husband Scott is too distraught to sit out the police’s 72-hour window and await developments. He turns to local detective agency Harcus & Laird.

Put off by previous “domestic” cases, Maggie Laird isn’t keen, but is cajoled by partner Wilma Harcus into a covert operation. Together they comb through meagre scraps of information, eventually trawling the city’s women’s refuges and homeless squats, in spite of the deadly danger.

Then a woman’s body is discovered in a Dundee builder’s skip. With the clock ticking and the police struggling to make identification, the race is on. Claire MacLeary fashions a surprising, gritty, fast-paced tale with the warmth and wisdom of ‘women of a certain age’.

This is the first book I have read by Claire Macleary but it definitely won’t be my last. Possibly the most unconventional Private Investigators you will ever meet, Maggie and Wilma are two characters I won’t forget in a hurry. Funny, gritty and just a bloody good tale, I’m going to be heading back to see what I’ve missed in this series very soon but for now you can bag a copy of Runaway here.

Not too shabby a week on the blog, aided by the Orenda write ups to be fair, but you can see my recap here.

Orenda Roadshow – Part One

Thunder Bay – Douglas Skelton

Orenda Roadshow – Part Two

A Gift For Dying – MJ Arlidge

Keep Her Close – MJ Ford

The Age of Misadventure – Judy Leigh

The week ahead is mixed. A few reviews and a couple of blog tours from Mandie for One Summers Night by Kiley Dunbar and The Cornish Lady by Nicola Pryce.

My brain is currently mush, but I have big plans to catch up on reading as well as trying to get a few words a night down on my own work in progress. Whether it leads anywhere or to anything I would want others to read is yet to be seen, but hey. At least I’m trying.

Some would argue very.

Have a fab week everyone and see you on the other side. Assuming I’m awake.

Jen

8 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 10/03/19

  1. Looks like you’ve had a great week… no wonder you’re knackered! I’m thinking of braving Newcastle Noir… it actually falls on my weekend off but the nerves!!! I got Three Hours from Netgalley too. I’ve heard it’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you absolutely should go if you can. They’re such great weekends, loads of bloggers going. I know it’s nerve wracking but as soon as you get there you’ll wonder what you were worried about. Would be great to say hi!

      Like

Comments are closed.