Keep Her Close by MJ Ford @MJFordBooks @AvonBooksUK #extract

Today I am delighted to join the blog tour for Keep Her Close by MJ Ford and have an exclusive extract from the book to share with you all. Thanks to Sabah Khan from publisher Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. Here is what the book is all about:

The Bookish Bits

The second edge-of-your-seat thriller from M.J. Ford

When a young woman goes missing from Jesus College, Oxford, DS Josie Masters is plunged into a world of panic as fear grips the city. Along with Thames Valley Police’s newest recruit, the handsome DS Pryce, Josie must act fast – and when two more students disappear from Oriel and Somerville colleges, she realises the killer is sending her a deadly message in a cruel game of cat and mouse. This time, the case is personal – but who is the perpetrator?

In a desperate race against the clock, Josie hunts for the kidnapper, and soon discovers he could be a lot closer to home than she’d ever thought…

M.J. Ford is back with a gripping new thriller, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and T.M. Logan.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Playstore | iTunes

Keep Her Close

The grand Georgian house where Dr Forster had her practice rooms was in the leafiest part of north Oxford, between the Woodstock and Banbury roads. It didn’t take much detective work to establish that the sleek Mercedes coupé parked outside belonged to her, as the number plate read F0RST3R. That level of narcissism seemed rather out of character for the diminutive psychologist, and Jo assumed therefore it had been an ill-conceived gift, perhaps from a partner.

As she wrapped her scarf around her neck against a freezing wind, Jo felt the vibration near her hip. She reached a gloved hand into her purse for her phone. The text was from her brother.

Would you mind heading to the house? Estate agent has lost key! Viewing at 1.30. P x

It was twenty to already.

No probs, she texted back. How’s the beach?

Her brother had decided the family needed some time away, and Jo got that. For all the shit she’d been through that year, her nephew Will had suffered worse, and his school hadn’t put up a great fight about the absence. Not that ten days of winter sun would go far to erase the mental scars of being taken from his bed by Dylan Jones, a man raised in isolation and depravity, who looked like something from a horror movie.

Her phone pinged as a picture message came through. It was a selfie of Paul, tanned and healthy, seated at some poolside bar with what looked like a strawberry daiquiri, ornately garnished with a pineapple slice and a Jamaican flag.

Not jealous, she replied, pocketing her phone and pulling on her gloves.

If that’s left you wanting to read more than you can pick up the next extract over at Joy Kluver’s blog on 11th. You can also pick up a copy of the books at the links above.

About the Author

MJ Ford lives in the north of England with his wife, two young children and two dogs. He studied English and Classics at Oxford University before working in publishing for many years. He writes for both adults and children.

Author Links: Twitter

Follow the Tour:

3 thoughts on “Keep Her Close by MJ Ford @MJFordBooks @AvonBooksUK #extract

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 10/03/19 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.