If You’re Not the One by Laura Briggs @PaperDollWrites ‏@Bookouture #review #blogtour @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back to Mandie who has a blog tour review of If You’re Not The One by Laura Briggs. Happy publication day Laura! Thanks to Bookouture for the advance copy for review. Here is what the book is about:

The Bookish Bits

A heartwarming, escapist romantic novel for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Nora Roberts and Nancy Thayer.

Natalie isn’t a romantic. She doesn’t believe in true love, or destiny. She thinks that people are just plain lucky if they happen to find someone. It’s coincidence and nothing more.

As a wedding dress designer though, she knows she has to keep these feelings under wraps. Even if she’s suspicious that Harper, the bride she’s working with, might secretly agree with her. Because if Harper admitted she wasn’t sure about love, it might also mean giving up on a millionaire husband-to-be and the lavish island wedding of her dreams.

But, for Natalie, as her feelings develop for both her on-off boyfriend Chad, and for the boy-next-door Brayden, she starts to fear that her heart might not be as immune to love as she claims…

Could love have been there all along? And as the wedding approaches, who will find a happy-ever-after, who will find their way to themselves, and who will get left behind?

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Googleplay | iBooks

Mandie’s Thoughts

If You’re Not The One once again brings the reader into the world of Wedding Belles, the one stop shop for all your wedding needs and the lives of its three partners, Tessa, Natalie and Ama. This time they are hired to plan a society wedding where the groom is conspicuous by his absence and the bride to be seems to be like a fish out of water in the world she is about to become part of. On top of this they are very much dealing with issues in their personal lives that might just pull the team apart.

This is the third book in the Wedding Belles series but can be easily read as a standalone. I have read the second book so I was really looking forward to tucking into the latest instalment. Although the wedding and all the issues surrounding it is the main theme running through the book, the author also digs deeper into the personal lives of the three ladies behind the company which I rather enjoyed.

Natalie is juggling the pressures of the business along with preparing her original designs for her first fashion show. Added to this she is trying to work out just where her relationship with her boyfriend Chad is going. Relegated to dress advisor for the current wedding she doesn’t feel quite as bad that her time is divided. What amuses me about her is that she is a self-confessed unromantic (if that is a word) yet she works in a business that is all about romance and true love. But even an unromantic person can find the person who they are willing to take a chance with and Natalie eventually has to question herself and her feelings.

Ama on the other hand knows that she loves her boyfriend Luke but for her to follow her heart she has to find the courage to stand up to her parents and their beliefs and traditions and fight for what she believes will make her happy. You can’t help but feel for her as she comes close to putting the wishes of her family before that of her own, and it is probably something that happens more than we realise in real life too.

Tessa is the most frustrating of the lot. She is an excellent planner and good in any crisis that the latest wedding puts in her path… including that of the bride to be’s ex-boyfriend. Yet when it comes to her own love life she is a complete mess. She has had a crush on their handyman/sort of partner Blake for just about forever yet she just can’t bring herself to say/do anything about it which just drove me up the wall.

Do they all get what they want in the end and does the wedding go off without a hitch?? For the answer to that you really will have to read the book for yourself as I am giving nothing away. All I will say is that this is a fun read and a great addition to the series.

About the Author

Laura Briggs is the author of several lighthearted romance novels and novellas, including the bestselling Amazon UK series A Wedding in Cornwall. She has a fondness for vintage-style dresses (especially ones with polka dots) and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family, caring for her pets, going to movies and plays, and trying new restaurants.

Author Links:  Website | Twitter | Facebook

Follow the Tour:

One thought on “If You’re Not the One by Laura Briggs @PaperDollWrites ‏@Bookouture #review #blogtour @mgriffiths163

Comments are closed.