Rewind, Recap: Weekly Update w/e 03/02/19

I’m not sure if it is just me or whether this week has passed by in a blur. Anyone else? Yep. I thought so. Can you believe it’s actually February? I mean, what the heck right? I have no idea what happened to last month, but I do know what happened to this weekend. This weekend, I went writing. Sort of.

Thursday afternoon, straight after work, I made my way to the very southern border of Shropshire to meet up Abbie Osborne for a weekend of writing. Abbie had a deadline to hit and lots of ideas to process and I … well I’m still just playing, but a bit of peace and quiet was just what I needed to get more of a handle on the piece I am working on. With limited internet access and a lot of woolly jumpers and socks, we got all cosy indoors, ignored the cold weather and cracked on with our respective WIPs.

Now, I’m not going to lie. I actually spent more time on Friday morning watching all of the birds feeding in the back garden than I did writing. I’d like to say I was plotting, or gaining inspiration, but so far the only birds in my novel aren’t feathered. They were really pretty though. Chaffinches, Goldfinches, Blue Tits, Robins, Sparrows. There was an owl around somewhere too, hooting away each morning, although we never saw it, and I’m pretty sure I saw a juvenile Woodpecker which was pretty awesome. As a Twitcher (if I was a Twitcher) I’d be impressed. As a wannabe writer, I was just distracted.

See – how cute are they? Well … it’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. I did actually get some plotting and writing done as well, and have a few chapters down. I was even brave and let Abbie have a quick look. She has apparently fallen in love with ‘Dr’ Alex – which is a bit worrying as he is actually a PC but that’s a whole other story … We worked through a lot of Abbie’s plotting too so she is well on the way to completion now which is fab.

With all the writing, I’ve not read as much this week, but I did complete a couple. Some nice book post on Tuesday – Happiness for Beginners by Carole Matthews, and my US version of Rupture by Ragnar Jonasson. It means I now have four of of five Ari Thor titles in US covers and I love them. Had a lovely bit of book post to come home to as well in the shape of Sleep by CL Taylor, courtesy of Avon Books UK. A couple of orders have gone in this week for Amazing Grace by Kim Nash and Final Betrayal by Patricia Gibney. A couple of nice Netgalley treats with The Dare by Carol Wyer and After The End by Clare Mackintosh and that was my week in terms of books. 

Books I have read

The Taking of Annie Thorne – CJ Tudor

One night, Annie went missing.

Disappeared from her own bed. There were searches, appeals. Everyone thought the worst.

And then, after 48 hours, she came back.

But she couldn’t, or wouldn’t, say what had happened to her.

Something happened to my sister. I can’t explain what.

I just know that when she came back, she wasn’t the same.

She wasn’t my Annie.

I didn’t want to admit, even to myself, that sometimes I was scared to death of my own little sister.

Oh this is a good one. Very much in the vein of Stephen King, this books has all I look for in a book. Mystery, tension, and a dark heart touched by something evil. I loved Chalk Man, but this one is just as good, if not better … but it’s going to be a bugger to review. You can order a copy here.

The Dare – Carol Wyer

Jane’s daughter is a good girl. What is she hiding?

When thirteen-year-old 
Savannah Hopkins doesn’t come straight home from school, as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm.

Leading the investigation is 
Detective Natalie Ward whose daughter Leigh is the same age as Savannah. Soon Natalie’s worst fears are confirmed when the teenager’s broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points towards a local recluse, but just as the net is closing around him, one of Savannah’s friends, 
Harriet, is reported missing.

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours.

But Natalie isn’t quick enough for this killer, and she is devastated to find Harriet’s body on a fly tip a day later. 

Caught up in the case, she takes her eye off her own daughter and when Leigh goes missing after school she knows she must be in terrible danger. The clock is ticking for Natalie. Can she catch this killer before her little girl becomes the next victim.

This gripping rollercoaster of a read will have you up in the small hours turning the pages. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare.

I have loved the Natalie Ward series since book one and I think the books just keep getting better. The team around Natalie, Lucy, Murray and Ian, are really growing on me and the stories are full of tension, intrigue and strong pacing. This time the case becomes very personal for Natalie who is struggling with a very tense home situation as it is. I’ll be reviewing for release day in April, but you can preorder the book here.

Just the two books for me, but that’s not too bad I guess, all things considered. A quietish week on the blog once more. Recap below

Changeling – Matt Wesolowski

The Six Loves of Billy Binns – Richard Lumsden

Press Release: The Dylan Thomas Prize

The Manor On The Moors – Liz Taylorson


Cover Reveal – Amazing Grace – Kim Nash

The week ahead is a bit busier – tours for You Belong to Me by Mark Tilbury; If You’re Not The One by Laura Briggs; Apple Of My Eye by Claire Allan; What Happens In France by Carol Wyer and The Hunter by Andrew Reid

I’ve also booked up to go to the Orenda Books Roadshow in Birmingham in March. If you are anywhere near one of the four venues, Edinburgh (4th), Manchester (5th), Birmingham (6th) or Hungerford (7th) then I would heartily recommend you pop along. The line up of authors is unreal and the books are superb. How can you resist?

That’s it from me. No cats this week as they don’t mix well with the birds … ;). Hopefully it’s back to normal this week so i’m going to try and read three books, write up eight reviews and manage at least an hour a day on my WIP.

What could possibly go wrong?

Oh, yes. One last thing. I was nominated this week for the Annual Bloggers Bash awards in the Best Book Blog category. It’s all changed this year so I will be in there with all my fellow books bloggers. To whoever nominated me, I’d like to say a big thank you. It’s very much appreciated that you thought of me. For me, every book blogger is an award winner as we all celebrate the joy and our love of books. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Have a fabulous week all. See you next Monday.

Jen

6 thoughts on “Rewind, Recap: Weekly Update w/e 03/02/19

  1. So many points…1. Congratulations on your nomination. So well deserved. 2. How could you write anything in such an idyllic setting????? 3. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the new C.J. Tudor book because I’ll be reading that one next. 4. The Orenda Roadshow sounds like it will be amazing and I’m green with jealousy. 5. I’ll look for the kitties next week. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.