The Reach of Shadows by Tony J Forder @TonyJForder @Bloodhoundbooks #guestreview #blogtour @mgriffiths163

First up today I hand over to Mandie who has a blog tour review of Tony J Forder’s latest thriller, The Reach Of Shadows. Thanks to Emma Welton for inviting us to join the tour and publisher Bloodhound Books for providing the advance copy for review. Here is what the book is about:

Discover a bestselling crime series that will have you gripped from the explosive start to the heart-pounding conclusion.

Recovering from injuries sustained in a road collision, DI Bliss is taken directly from hospital to a fresh crime scene and ordered to investigate the vicious stabbing and murder of Jade Coleman.

When Bliss realises the victim had reported being stalked, and that two of his own team had been drafted in to take her statement, he is given the unenviable task of interviewing both of his detectives.

Increasingly it appears that the stalker may be their killer. However, several other people soon become part of the team’s suspect list.
Bliss also finds himself being questioned about his own past and has to battle to defend himself whilst continuing to investigate the murder.
Soon more questions arise.

Why would anybody target Jade Coleman?

Why are the team unable to identify the victim’s close female friend?

And why did Jade recently leave her job without any explanation?

With his work cut out, and his team under pressure, can Bliss solve the case before more victims show up?

Or will the shadows of his own past reach out and drag him under before he can succeed?

Mandie’s Thoughts

The Reach of Shadows is the fourth book in the DI Bliss series, and once again I seem to have stumbled my way into the middle of it. What I will say is though, you really don’t need to have read books 1 – 3 to fully enjoy this one as at no point did I feel that I was missing any information or past plot.

The book opens with DI Bliss chasing a would be intruder from his home only to be knocked down in the process. On his release from hospital, instead of being taken home to recuperate, he is taken to a crime scene. Jade Coleman has been murdered, but as it turns out, she had previously reported that she had felt that she was being followed. It’s up to Bliss and his team to determine if the two events are linked and the force failed her by not following up on her complaint or if it was just an unlucky coincidence. On top of this, Bliss finds himself under the scrutiny of the IOPC as his past comes back to haunt him in a big way.

Despite the book having two different parts to it, I was in no way distracted by this. Having read books in the past where a second storyline was introduced to essentially be treated as a page filler then forgotten I was pleased to see that both storylines were dealt with, with the same attention to detail and relevance. Jimmy Bliss is definitely a copper of the old guard however you can see that in his own way he is trying to embrace the new way of policing and all the procedures that go with it. Even he can see that some of his old colleagues should be relegated to the past and stay there. He has a real connection with his DS – Penny Chandler. They have each other’s back on more than one occasion. His team also seem very loyal to him and are even willing to put their own careers on the line in order to save his. I loved the easy way they had with each other to the point of ribbing each other on a regular basis despite the seriousness of the situations they found themselves in.

What I found refreshing was that at no time did the author fall into the trap of – murder, convenient motive, found the culprit, arrest them. The investigations took a few different avenues as the team slowly picked at the victim’s life, giving it a more realistic feel to it and at the same time keeping the reader interested.

As I said, you don’t have to have read all the books to enjoy this one, I certainly hadn’t, but then again why miss out on a very engaging and well written series by not starting at the beginning?

If you’d like a copy of the book for yourself, it’s available from the following retail links:

Amazon UK | Amazon US

About the Author

Tony J Forder is the author of the critically acclaimed, internationally best-selling crime thriller series featuring detectives Jimmy Bliss and Penny Chandler. The first three books, Bad to the Bone, The Scent of Guilt, and If Fear Wins, are now joined by The Reach of Shadows, published in January 2019.

Tony’s dark, psychological crime thriller, Degrees of Darkness, featuring ex-detective Frank Rogers, was also published by Bloodhound Books. This is a stand-alone novel. Another book that was written as a stand-alone was Scream Blue Murder. This was published in November 2017, and received praise from many, including fellow authors Mason Cross, Matt Hilton and Anita Waller. Before it had even been published, Tony had decided to write a sequel, and Cold Winter Sun was published in November 2018.

Tony lives with his wife in Peterborough, UK, and is now a full-time author.

Social Media Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Bloodhound Books

Follow the tour: