Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 06/01/19

Hi there. Did you miss me? I mean, it’s been a whole week and everything …

Okay, so I said last week that I might not do these weekly posts anymore, and I still might not, but at the moment it’s habit and you’re stuck with me, so best we both get over it and move on ūüėČ

Back to work this week and I might be one of the few people on the planet not actually depressed by that fact. Trust me, I had enough of a lazy summer that I am fed up of being at home and happy to be working. Sad but true. I’m on my new schedule now though so I’ll be finishing earlier everyday, the plan being that this will allow me more time to write at night. Yeah – wish me luck with that one.

I think I mentioned last week that Mandie and I intended to be good on New Year’s Day and celebrate with a short walk to our local ‘hill’ and back. Well – as you can see from the FatBit stats above, we did it. Took blog dog with us too. It was a little drizzly at times and flipping windy at the top but surprisingly neither of us suffered any ill effects for out efforts. I didn’t manage any weight loss either but after a trip to Tim Hortons last Monday and hoofing a nice big box of TimBits, I’ll take it.

As you can see, the views from the Wrekin got progressively worse. As did the redness of our faces … (ps if I’m not here next week it’s because Mandie has killed me for posting that picture …)

Went for another walk with blog dog yesterday but it was a leisurely seven miles stroll to the local shopping centre – no real hills involved.

Received a little more #bookpost this week, because, you know, spoilt … Four more books from my recent advent win over on Facebook. Killer¬†Intent by Tony Kent; The¬†Puppet¬†Master by Abigail Osborne; False¬†Lights by KJ Whittaker and Blood¬†in¬†the¬†Sand by Kelly Clayton. Thanks guys.

Three new arcs received this week, both from Netgalley and direct from the publisher. Twisted by Steve Cavanagh; The Hunter by Andrew Reid and Bollywood Wives by Alex Khan.

Two new preorders in this week two. All¬†The¬†Little¬†Lies by Chris Curran and the second book in James Oswald’s Constance Fairchild series. No title or cover for that one, but Amazon does have a lovely picture of Mr Oswald typing, in a field, with his sheep.

Books I have read

§

What¬†Happens¬†In¬†France¬†–¬†Carol¬†Wyer

‚ÄúShe stood and took her place in front of the camera… It was now or never‚ÄĚ

Bryony Masters has been looking for her long-lost sister, Hannah, for years, but when their father has a stroke her search takes on new urgency. So when primetime game show, What Happens in France, puts a call-out for new contestants, Bryony spots the ultimate public platform to find her reality TV-obsessed sister, and finally reunite their family.

With the help of handsome teammate 
Lewis, it’s not long before she’s on a private jet heading for the stunning beauty of rural France. With a social media star dog, a high maintenance quiz host and a cast of truly unique characters, Bryony and Lewis have their work cut out for them to stay on the show and in the public eye.

Yet as the audience grows and the grand prize beckons they find that the search that brought them together may just fulfil more than one heart’s wish… 

This heartwarming romantic comedy of friendship, family and laugh-out-loud adventures is perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Colleen Coleman and Marian Keyes.

I do love a good Carol Wyer book and this is yet another excellent Carol Wyer book. A step away from my usual crime novel, this book was fun, fresh, poignant and brilliant fun, with one of the cutest characters ever to grace the page – Instagram celebrity Pug, Biggie Smalls. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the tour, but if you love a bit of romance and a bit of an adventure, why not preorder your copy here.

You¬†Belong¬†to¬†Me¬†–¬†Mark¬†Tilbury

Can two wrongs ever make a right?

The police never found fifteen-year-old Ellie Hutton. She vanished ten years ago after walking home from school along a disused railway track. But Danny Sheppard knows exactly what happened to her. She is dead and buried in a field near Lassiter’s Brook.    

Now Cassie Rafferty has gone missing. Same age. Similar circumstances. And Danny also knows what has happened to her.

Can Danny fight his demons and tell the truth this time?

Or will history repeat itself and leave another innocent girl dead?

No cover yet for this one but I can tell you this is a really good and engrossing story full of mystery and intrigue that will keep you glued to the book. It’s kind of got a Stand¬†By¬†Me vibe and follows a group of friends through one fateful summer which will change their lives forever. I’ll be reviewing for the tour so keep your eyes open.

Not my busiest blogging week, a recap is below:

A¬†Look¬†To¬†The¬†Future¬†–¬†Anticipated¬†Reads

Only¬†a¬†Mother¬†–¬†Elisabeth¬†Carpenter

Deep¬†Dirty Truth¬†–¬†Steph¬†Broadribb

See. I wasn’t lying. A few more in the go this week with a mix of reviews and blog tour posts. We’ll be taking a look at Red¬†Snow by Will Dean; For¬†The¬†Missing by Lina Begtsdotter; Fatal by Jacqui Rose; Mary¬†Kate by Nadine Dorries and The¬†Perfect¬†Match by Zoe May amongst others. Do stop by.

Hope you have an amazingly bookish week. No idea if I’ll be back next Monday – it really depends on whether or not I do anything interesting enough to tell you about. ūüėČ

Jen 

2 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 06/01/19

Comments are closed.