The #Bookvent Calendar 2018: Day 2

advent-calendar-2900406_1280

#Bookvent – Celebrating my top reads of 2018 

My day two #bookvent selection is a book I was invited to read for a blog tour right back at the beginning of the year. I actually read it over Christmas while I was suffering from a heavy cold and generally feeling sorry for myself. It was the kind of book that helped me put things in perspective, but it also nearly killed me. There were the odd scenes throughout, some which were just so incredibly moving, that I ended up crying so heavily I practically couldn’t breath. Cold or no cold, this is a book which is best served with a box of tissues. My day two #bookvent choice is …

gift-1760899_640

We Own the Sky

Luke Allnut

How far would you go to save the one you love?

“Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands.” Jill Mansell

An emotional page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma. Fans of Jodi Picoult, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes will love We Own The Sky.

Anna and Rob were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby boy Jack came along, their world seemed complete.

But when tragedy strikes they are faced with an impossible choice. They have one chance to save their child, but at what cost?

Oh my life. This book. People said I’d need tissues but as I’m usually a cold fish, unwaveringly unemotional and very difficult to move in any way shape or form (physically or emotionally), I figured I’d be okay. How wrong was I? From the very beginning we are faced with a beautiful romance, two people who fit together perfectly, who seem to have the perfect life including having the perfect child. But all too quickly we are reminded how fragile our lives can be and how everything we hold dear can be taken away from us. I cried when I read it. I cried when I tried to explain it to my sister. I can feel the tears welling now as I think about that scene, the one which was so simple, so moving and so damned emotional it nearly did for me. If you can read this book and not feel at least a little emotion at the scene at the school fete … I feel for you. I really do. this is a story of family, of sacrifice, of fighting against the inevitable and of loss. It looks at how far a father will go to save his child and makes the reader stop and wonder what they would do if it were them in this position. So many lives are affected in the same way that Anna and Rob’s are that it will resonate with many a reader. Inspired by author Luke Allnut’s own story, this is a story that compels you to keep reading, no matter how hard it may feel.

You can read my full review of We Own The Sky here, and it is available to purchase from the following retail links:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo | Waterstones

gift-1760899_640

Happy #bookvent reading all

JL

4 thoughts on “The #Bookvent Calendar 2018: Day 2

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 02/12/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.