Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 11/11/18

juggle-1027847_640

Me this week … Between starting a new job, trying to stick to my diet, finding time to write and trying to stay ahead with the blogging I’ve very much been tested this week. Least said soonest mended on the diet front. still fat but back on it so I’m hoping to undo some of the damage by my next weigh in. Job going well so far but it’s very early days and I have a lot to learn still. Looking forward to finding my feet though and my new team are great.

frog-1339892_640

Blogging … yes well. Least said soonest mended on that front too. I have written up three reviews today, two more to go. Reading wise I am falling behind but thankfully I built in a bit of a cushion so I should be okay. Just. I’m on December reads now so I am a couple of weeks ahead of myself. Still can’t afford to fall too far behind though. Only managed to read two books this week. (Well – strictly speaking one as I am currently still reading the other and have taken a break to write this post).

Writing wise it is going a little better. Managed to get ahead before starting work so as it stands I’m a couple of days ahead of schedule at a little over 20k words. Planning on doing more later so by the time this post goes out, I’m hoping to be nearer 22 or 23k. It’s all drivel but hey ho. Aren’t all first drafts. Once I have the outline of my story down I’ll see about editing it into shape, chopping a few million words and writing a few thousand new ones I suspect.

home-office-336378_640.jpg

Relatively quiet week on the book front this week after last weeks mammoth book post. On Tuesday I attended the launch of Trap by Lilja Sigurdardottir and Palm Beach Finland by Antti Tuomainen at the Icelandic Embassy in London. I failed miserably at taking pictures (sorry) but do have a few candid shots of the authors in signing mode, and of the cake.

I already have a signed copy of Palm Beach Finland from my trip to the Edinburgh Festival in August, but I picked up a lovely copy of Trap and Lilja kindly signed that for me, plus the lovely Karen Sullivan gave me an early proof of Beton Rouge by Simone Buchholz. I had a quick sneak peek on the train home and it looks fabulous. Can’t wait to get stuck in properly.

They do look rather fetching on the shelf too don’t you think? It must be an Orenda frenzy week as on Saturday I received my #TeamLori pack which consisted of a #TeamLori hat, a bounty hunter badge and a signed copy of Deep Dirty Truth by Steph Broadribb. So excited to be a part of this. Such a fabulous series I can’t wait to read more.

I ordered a grand total of one book this week -a preorder of Perfect Crime by Helen Fields. No cover yet but as it was on Amazon … I know. Only one. And no. I’m not ill, just busy. I did receive my audible copy of The Infirmary though, as well as the e-copy of Deep Dirty Truth I’d had on preorder. Just the one book off Netgalley too which was The Silent Patient. I’m reading it for the blog tour, so that’s my Christmas read sorted.

tsp

Books I have read

tsd.jpgThe Silent Dead – Graham Smith

(Previously available for preorder as The Darling Dead)

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough…

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District. 

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James.

This is Graham Smith’s first book with Bookouture and the first in what looks set to be an exciting series. Featuring DC Beth Young, the story takes us into the heart of quite a dark investigation when the body of a young man is found in rather gruesome circumstances in a ruined country house. The premise of this story is in intriguing one, with several lines of investigation leading the reader up the garden (or grand estate) path. The murders are quite inventive and it has left me wondering quite what is going through Mr Smith’s mind at times ;). The book is released in December and you can preorder here.

cCuckoo – Sophie Draper

There’s a stranger in your house…

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in Derbyshire. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship, and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do.

As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth?

A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.

Okay … So I haven’t quite finished this book but I’m going to claim is anyway as I will have by the time you read this post. This is quite an intriguing story, the marketing ploy engaged by the publishers to entice readers in very inventive. A twisted and brooding psychological thriller, this had me hooked from the start, and I’ve been struggling with psych thrillers recently so that’s definitely a good thing. Unsettling and riddled with secrets, I can’t wait to see how it ends. You can preorder a copy here. I’ll be reviewing for the tour.

And … that’s it. Just two books. How pathetic am I right? Well, okay so I’ll forgive myself this one time as I am sort of moderately busy. Or something. Full on week on the blog though so you won’t have missed me too much. Recap below.

#DarknessSeries by C.S. Duffy

Some Old Bloke by Robert Llewellyn

The Infirmary by LJ Ross

The Twisted Web by Rebecca Bradley

Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel by Karen King

Dreaming of Christmas by T.A. Williams

Missing Lies by Chris Collett

We’re a bit quieter again this week. a few blog tours and a random review to keep you amused but we’re definitely slowing down for hibernation over the winter … Tours are for Her Last Move by John Marrs; And So It Begins by Rachel Abbott and The Lingering by SJI Holliday.

Have a fab week all. See you next week.

Jen

6 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 11/11/18

    1. Good to see you too Jacob. Had a very bad and unproductive night tonight as I’m too tired. Still got 800 words fownhut will probably scrap them tomorrow lol. Back on it tomorrow though. Got to keep the momentum.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.