Missing Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks #guestreview #blogtour @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing back to Mandie who has a review of Chris Collett’s seventh DI Tom Mariner book, Missing Lies. Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw for inviting us to join the tour and to publishers Joffe Books for providing an advance copy for review. Here is what the book is about:

mlAbout the Book

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

18-year-old Grace Clifton vanishes on her way home from work. Amazingly, not a single witness comes forward. But Detective Tom Mariner suspects that she ran away from her overbearing, rich father.

A PACKAGE ARRIVES AT THE POLICE STATION. IT CONTAINS GRACE’S CLOTHES, NEATLY FOLDED AND CLEANED.

Then another woman disappears. And a disturbing pattern begins to emerge.

WHO IS TAKING THEM?

Detective Mariner must track down a suspected serial killer in his toughest, and strangest, case yet, with a conclusion that will have you gasping.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the seventh book in the DI MARINER SERIES.

Missing Lies is the 7th book in the DI Tom Mariner series but you do not have to have read all the previous books to enjoy this one. I will confess that I have only dipped in and out briefly having previously only read book 4 but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of this latest offering. Although there are references to past characters they are not so integral to the storyline that you have to know how they fit in to anything.

This time Tom is working with a few new members in his team trying to find out what has happened to the missing daughter of a local councillor. Initially believing that the girl had run away they soon had to change the direction of the investigation when they received a package containing items of her clothing, closely followed by the disappearance of another woman. To add to the stress of the ongoing investigations he also has to juggle the care of the autistic brother of a former partner and his current relationship.

Part of what I love about these books is the area it is set in. Set around Birmingham I can actually picture some of the places that are mentioned as ones I have visited on occasion. Tom is quite a down to earth person who seems to have a good relationship with his team both old and new (even if he does sometimes wish he had not lost one or two of them).

Alongside the missing girls case there is a sub story involving one of his old team to do with gun smuggling. I will admit that I thought I knew how that part of the book would play out… turns out I was wrong but that’s a good thing as there is nothing worse than being able to work out what was going on before you get to the end of the book. Although I wouldn’t personally describe the book as fast paced there is certainly enough going on to hold the reader’s attention right to the end without confusing them. Although not really part of the story I do love the glossary of terms at the back of the book that explain some of the terms to overseas readers as they often give me a chuckle. Overall this is a really great read and I am going to try to find the time to read the rest in the series that I have missed.

 If you would like a copy of the book for yourself, it is available now at the following links:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

About the Author

CCI was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Author Links: Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

Follow the tour:

mlbtp

One thought on “Missing Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks #guestreview #blogtour @mgriffiths163

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 11/11/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.