Dead End by Rachel Lynch @r_lynchcrime @canelo_co #blogtour #extract

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Dead End, the latest Kelly Porter thriller from Rachel Lynch. My thanks to Ellie Pilcher of Canelo for inviting me to join in. I have an extract from the book to share with you in just a moment, but first, here is what the book is about.

de.jpAbout the Book

When the seventh Earl of Lowesdale is found hanging from the rafters at Wasdale Hall, everyone assumes the aging, hard-partying aristocrat had finally had enough of chasing the glory of his youth. But when the coroner finds signs of foul play, DI Kelly Porter is swept into a luxurious world where secrets and lies dominate.

At the same time, two young hikers go missing and it’s up to Kelly to lead the search. But digging deeper reveals ties to two other unsolved disappearances and Kelly and her team find themselves in a race against time.

Now, as all roads of both investigations and Kelly’s own family secrets lead to Wasdale Hall it becomes more important than ever for Kelly to discover the devious truths hidden behind the walls of the Lake District’s most exclusive estate…

Don’t miss this gripping crime thriller featuring an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

Dead End

Rachel Lynch

Kelly waited in the prefabricated office for Garth Cooke. From the window, she could see Rob, and it reminded her of all the shit assignments in British weather that she’d notched up before she earned the privilege of staying inside with an electric heater. The manager of the campsite, Jack Sentry, had made her a mediocre coffee, and she perched on the edge of a table and eyed him up. He was the nervous type, and appeared defensive when she asked about the two girls. Perhaps he was edgy because they’d commandeered his site and were allowing hundreds of feet to ruin the grass.

‘Maybe they went for a walk,’ he was mumbling.

‘Well, we’ll hopefully find that out,’ Kelly said. She got the distinct impression that Jack Sentry didn’t like being beholden to a woman.

Even inside the cabin, the damp air smelled of the lake; it was the same smell that woke her each morning, when she’d rather stay in bed with Johnny than face the world. She’d got into the habit of not wanting to get out of bed, wanting to stay there next to him, listening to him talk. He too was an outsider, and it was perhaps no coincidence that they’d found each other. He understood how it felt to be on the fringes.

She took comfort from the fact that her team appreciated her; without them, her job would be a whole lot harder. As a result, she didn’t feel as though she needed to go charging out into the middle of Rob’s search and take over; she trusted him.

Outside, Rob shouted through a loud hailer, trying to control the mob. It was time to go, and Kelly watched as they trudged metre by metre towards the fells. Uniformed officers in high-visibility vests kept the crowds in team-like formations, and spoke into their radios.

The searchers ambled slowly forward in three directions: one group to the lake, the second to Martindale, and the third to Loadpot Hill. Kelly had ordered police dogs to be brought in and they’d gone crazy around the tent and then headed off towards the fells. It wasn’t an exact science that was admissible in court, but the whole force would rather trust their dogs than any human testimony. The three canines involved in the search were each a unique mix of Labrador and pointer, with a smattering of hound, and they’d trained with the police since they were pups. Their handlers struggled to keep them back, and Kelly watched from the cabin as they pulled ferociously towards the Loadpot Hill trail.

She had instructed that the dogs be allowed to go ahead and the foot search bring up the rear; it wasn’t feasible to contain both. The three handlers kept in contact with Rob and were over two hundred metres ahead when they disappeared out of sight. Kelly turned back to Jack Sentry.

‘Did the girls pay up on time?’

‘Ah, no, actually. It was a bone of contention. They were tardy even by holiday standards. It seems trivial, but it’s not when they’re using water and electricity paid for by everyone else.’

Kelly found his irritation disproportionate to the subject: a few days of showers and heat wasn’t enough to get worked up about, was it?

‘So they weren’t up to date?’

‘No. They owed the last day.’

‘The last day? Had they told you their plans?’

‘Erm, no. I assumed …’ Sentry moved to the window. ‘They must have found him by now; his tent is only in field two.’ He was talking about Garth Cooke and the PC who’d been tasked to bring him to the office. Kelly waited.

‘Did you find anything about the situation unusual?’ she asked.

Sentry smiled. ‘Well, Garth wasn’t best pleased that his girlfriend preferred girls, let’s put it that way.’

Kelly processed the nugget of information and looked outside once more. The weather had eased slightly and she hoped that the rain hadn’t dampened the dogs’ abilities.

If that has got you all intrigued, you can find a copy of the book at the following retailers:

Amazon (UK) ~ Kobo (UK) ~ Google Books (UK) ~ Apple Books (UK)

About the Author

rl.jpg.pngRachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.

Author Links: Twitter

Follow the tour:

DEbtp

One thought on “Dead End by Rachel Lynch @r_lynchcrime @canelo_co #blogtour #extract

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 21/10/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.