Death on the River by Clare Chase @ClareChase @bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

Today I’m delighted to hand back over to Mandie who has a blog tour review of Death on the River, the second Tara Thorpe thriller from Clare Chase, which is published today. Happy Publication day Clare. Our thanks go to noelle of Bookouture for inviting us to join the tour and to the publisher for providing he advance copy for review. Here is what the book is all about.

DOTRAbout the Book

Meet Tara Thorpe – she’s Cambridge Police’s newest recruit… but her dark past is never far behind her. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross and Joy Ellis.

When a body is pulled from the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of town, everybody assumes it was a tragic accident. But Detective Tara Thorpe, newly joined and determined to prove herself, suspects there’s more to the story.

Tara is desperate to investigate further, but her supervisor Patrick Wilkins has other ideas. He would rather die than let this ambitious upstart show him up – even if it means some digging in Tara’s secret past to keep her under his thumb. After all, it’s not like he can report her – everyone knows that his boss Detective Garstin Blake and Tara have a history…

When another body is found, it becomes clear that there’s a killer on the loose. Could the murders be linked to the secrets that Tara has been keeping from her team… and can she solve the case before another innocent dies?

An unputdownable page-turner that will keep you hooked until the very last page!

Death on the River is the second book in the Tara Thorne series. Set four years after Murder on the Marshes Tara has now re trained as a police officer and is serving under DI Garstin Blake as part of the team that had saved her life when she was an investigative journalist.

Having really loved the first book I couldn’t wait to read Death on the River and I wasn’t disappointed. Tara loves being a DC with one exception, her immediate superior DS Patrick Wilkins. He is not happy that she is even a police officer, let alone on his team and will do anything to undermine her. When Tara is approached by someone asking her to look into the death of her brother, this sets her on a collision course with DS Wilkins as he had investigated the original case and deemed it an accident.

Tara is a determined person and using her previous talents and instincts as a journalist she is determined to make sure that the original investigations were completed correctly, even if that does mean going against her boss. Relying on her instincts she starts to believe that maybe everything is not as it first appears, especially when more deaths occur in what appear to be either suicide or an accident. DI Blake gives her the benefit of the doubt over her beliefs and lets her conduct basic enquiries. You do have to wonder however if this is because he thinks that there may be something in what she is saying or because he has feelings for her. Wilkins definitely thinks it is the latter. As she digs further though all around her start to see that maybe her theories are not quite as far out there as they initially appeared. With the suspect list small but with each one having a potential motive you have to wonder if this case will be solved.

Wilkins has no redeeming qualities as far as I can see. He is so determined to prove that Tara is wrong and that she should not be in the force that he puts both the investigations and his career in jeopardy. He takes great pleasure in finding holes in her theories and thinks nothing of going straight to the DCI when she initially starts digging into the old case.

DI Blake sometimes struggles to be objective where Tara is concerned at times as there was a definite connection between the two of them in the previous case. Determined to make another go of his marriage for the sake of his daughter they never actually acted on it, but clearly the feelings have not totally gone away for either of them.

What I love about Clare’s books is that although they may not be fast paced or graphic in their detail they still manage to get you hooked, creating characters that although they have their flaws are not defined by them nor do they impact on their ability to do their jobs. This is another great read by this author and I can’t wait to see what she writes next or what happens to Tara, Blake and the team in the future.

If you would like a copy of the book it is available now from Amazon.

About the Author

CCClare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available for pre-order and will publish in July 2018. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Links: Twitter: Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook

Follow the tour:

DOTRBTP

2 thoughts on “Death on the River by Clare Chase @ClareChase @bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

  1. Pingback: #Excerpt from Death on the River by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @nholten @bookouture - Zooloo's Book Diary

Comments are closed.