Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 14/10/18

woman-945427_640

Me this past week. No, honestly (well apart from the ‘actually being me’ bit). All I have done for most of the week is read. I had a lot of catching up to do if I’m to get ahead before I start work. I did go for a short walk on Wednesday afternoon while the weather was nice, made it out of the house to fat club and, as far as I can remember, that was about it. Oh, did a little bit of shopping on Friday for a few new work tops and a flamingo pen, but that really was it. My eyes are now tired and my brain is fried and I have more reviews to write up than is decent, but hey. I am ahead. Just.

How has your week been? Do anything exciting. I took some nice pictures on my walk, if that counts for anything. Here they are.

Okay. So those last few aren’t strictly of my walk but they are still nice. Little Rory cat fast asleep, a giant bug infestation at the Merry Hill Centre, and a couple of all important purchases. Even though I can’t actually eat the robin as I’m on a diet …

Might have made one or two book purchases too. As you do. Well, I do. First up I realised that I didn’t actually have a kindle copy of How To Be Brave by Louise Beech. Problem now resolved. I also bought Stealth by Hugh Fraser, the fourth Rina Walker novel. I preordered a copy of Noelle Holten’s Dying in the Dark, a book so new it doesn’t yet have a cover and three new reference books to help my writing – The Urban Setting Thesaurus, The Rural Setting Thesaurus and The Emotional Wound ThesaurusMy copy of A House of Ghosts arrived too which was nice. One book from Netgalley which was Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel which is for a tour.

A really busy week on the reading front though. Five books. Five!!!

Books I have Read

odnOne Dark Night – Tom Bale

He sees his wife’s eyes watching him in the rear-view mirror, the kids up on their knees to get a better look. That’s when he hears the scream…

You’re driving home from a family outing one afternoon, when a speeding car cuts you up, nearly causing you to crash. Like anyone would, you pull over to confront the driver.

But a glance into the backseat of the speeding car reveals a woman fighting to escape. She is terrified and she’s screaming for your help: these men have murdered her husband…

What would you do?

An addictive thriller with plenty of twists – fans of Harlan Coben, James Patterson and Robert Dugoni will be completely hooked. 

Well if this isn’t a good example of why not to give in to road rage then I don’t know what is. Mr Bale is back with a bang and fans will not be disappointed. I’ll be reviewing this heart thumping thriller for the tour but in the meantime you can order a copy here.

HTBBHow To Be Brave – Louise Beech

All the stories died that morning … until we found the one we’d always known.

When nine-year-old Rose is diagnosed with a life-threatening illness, Natalie must use her imagination to keep her daughter alive. They begin dreaming about and seeing a man in a brown suit who feels hauntingly familiar, a man who has something for them.

Through the magic of storytelling, Natalie and Rose are transported to the Atlantic Ocean in 1943, to a lifeboat, where an ancestor survived for fifty days before being rescued.

Poignant, beautifully written and tenderly told, How To Be Brave weaves together the contemporary story of a mother battling to save her child’s life with an extraordinary true account of bravery and a fight for survival in the Second World War. A simply unforgettable debut that celebrates the power of words, the redemptive energy of a mother’s love … and what it really means to be brave.

I have heard people talk for ages about how brilliant this book was and now I know for myself. Poignant and full of emotion I tour through this in a day, but not without scars. Beautiful as always I will endeavour to review this book as soon as I can but you can buy a copy here.

catlcothChristmas at the Little Cottage in the Hill – Emma Davies

One twinkling winter’s night, Ruby wakes her sleeping children and escapes for a new life in the countryside. It’s a choice that will change her life beyond all recognition…

Arriving at the cosy little rental cottage as the first snow begins to fall, Ruby doesn’t regret leaving her bully of a husband for a moment, but she does feel guilty about uprooting her kids so close to Christmas. She can only wish that one day soon her son will forgive her.

It’s not long before the family are settled in and drinking hot chocolate by the fire, the flames kept roaring by a neighbouring woodsman called Angus. As big as a tree, but as gentle as a dormouse, all Ruby’s instincts tell her to be wary of letting this gorgeous stranger get too close. Is that the first tingle of festive magic Ruby can feel? Or might it even be hope?

As Christmas day approaches and a blizzard sparks a power cut across the entire village, Ruby must force herself to believe in Christmas miracles again. Was she right to put her trust in Angus? With only flickering candles to guide her through the darkness, will she ever find her way back to the light? 

Wrap yourself up in this utterly gorgeous festive romance, perfect for anyone who loves Heidi Swan, Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond – and Christmas!

When you choose to spend Christmas with the gang at Joy’s Acre you should know that it will be no ordinary winter. As much fun as the earlier books and with extra added wintry romance, this book will melt your heart, if not all the snow they seem to have been cursed/blessed with. You can preorder a copy here and I’ll be sharing my thoughts very soon.

SASSteel and Shadows – Stuart Field

No-nonsense NYPD detective Sam McCall is investigating one of the deadliest and most complex cases of her career when the mysterious, yet infuriatingly intriguing, John Steel insinuates himself into the department. 

What appears at first to be the work of a serial killer soon encompasses a cast including violent Russian gangsters, creepy psychiatric doctors, the homeless community and ghosts from the past for both McCall and Steel. 

This debut novel keeps the reader gripped from start to finish with a breathtaking joyride through a wild series of unexpected twists and turns.

Well this book opens with a bang and doesn’t much let up from there. Grizzly murders, high action scenes and an enigmatic and highly skilled hero in John Steel, you’ll barely have time to pause for breath. I’ll be reviewing soon but in the meantime you can order a copy of the book here.

trs.jpgThe Righteous Spy – Merle Nygate

INNOCENT LIVES ARE AT RISK… BUT WHO IS THE REAL ENEMY?

Eli Amiram is Mossad’s star spy runner and the man responsible for bringing unparalleled intelligence to the Israeli agency. Now, he’s leading an audacious operation in the UK that feeds his ambition but threatens his conscience.

The British and the Americans have intel Mossad desperately need. To force MI6 and the CIA into sharing their priceless information, Eli and his maverick colleague Rafi undertake a risky mission to trick their allies: faking a terrorist plot on British soil.

But in the world of espionage, the game is treacherous, opaque and deadly…

A twisting international spy thriller, The Righteous Spy is a shocking page turner that portrays a clandestine world in which moral transgressions serve higher causes. A must-read for fans of Homeland, Fauda and NCIS, it will also appeal to readers of Charles Cumming and John le Carré.

Despite this subject matter, this is a slow burning novel, one which will have you thinking long and hard about the actions of the security services and the decisions and operations they undertake. Based around the central theme of a terrorist plot on the UK, there is more to this than meets the eye and no one is what they seem, not even to each other. You can order a copy here.

So there you have it. A bit of a mix I’ll admit, but I am finding that I need a break from psychological thrillers more at the moment so this was a nice blend to cleanse the pallet. Steady week on the blog – recap below:

Heart in the Right Place by Lisa Hill

One Winter’s Day by Laura Briggs

The Warning by Kathryn Croft

Our Little Lies by Sue Watson

The Promise by Katerina Diamond

The week ahead it pretty full, starting this morning with the blog tour review of Trap by Lilja Sigurdardottir. I have further blog tours for Perfect Liars by Rebecca Reid; Death on the River by Clare Chase; The Righteous Spy by Merle Nygate; Dead End by Rachel Lynch and Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner, plus a publication day review of Fatal Promise by Angela Marsons. And do stop by tomorrow when I have an exclusive cover reveal that you do not want to miss…

I hope you have a fabulous week. Today, Mandie and I are off to Liverpool to the roadshow to celebrate the launch of In A House of Lies by Ian Rankin. Cannot wait. More reading ahead after that but it’s all good.

Have a good one.

Jen

3 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 14/10/18

Comments are closed.