The Promise by Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPen @AvonBooksUk #blogtour #review #extract

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog tour for the latest Imogen Grey thriller from Katerina Diamond, The Promise. A big thank you to Sabah Khan of Avon for inviting me to join the tour and for providing the advance copy for review. Not only will I be sharing my thoughts on the book with you, but I also have a short extract from the book to whet your appetites. First up, here’s what it’s all about.

tpAbout the Book

No one can protect you from your past…

When a young woman is found strangled in her own bedroom, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles are plunged into an investigation to find a twisted serial killer who likes to date his victims before he kills them.

Determined to stop the horrific deaths, Imogen is forced to act as bait – but will she get caught in her own trap? As the search for the killer ramps up, attention falls on the strange new boy in town. Why does he watch his neighbours through the windows? And could the truth be closer to home than any of them realise?

Katerina Diamond is back with a bang in this dark, dangerous thriller, perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

The Promise

Katerina Diamond

 

The girl had long mousy hair and round glasses, around his age. She stared out of the window into her own garden, which was comprised of a tidy lawn and a decked patio with black plastic furniture and a big orange parasol. Fixating on a point in the distance, she just stared for a while. Her face was empty, not interested, not sad – nothing. After a few seconds, she pulled a book from a shelf in her room and then got into her bed. Connor continued to watch her; she read for less than five minutes and then flipped a switch that turned her reading light into a soft pink glowing orb. It was only then that he realised the dusk had turned to night time, he had never known it to get this dark so early back home, it was barely six in the evening. He turned his attention back to the couple downstairs, who were still grabbing and pawing at each other desperately until he slumped against her and she pushed him away. The urgency gone, they redressed and disappeared back into the parts of the house that he couldn’t see. He watched the sky for a while until the popping slowed to a stop and the sky returned to its lifeless dusky black.

Reluctantly, Connor climbed back out of the treehouse and down the tree. It was harder than going up, but still it just reassured him that his father would never be able to make the journey with his leg. He walked back through the garden to his father, who was sitting in the almost-darkness, from the looks of it on his fourth beer already. It wasn’t as cold as he expected it to be, from the stories he had heard it did nothing but rain over here. So far his denim jacket had been enough to keep him warm.

The Promise is the fourth book in the Imogen Grey series by Katerina Diamond but only the second one I have read. That said, it can easily be read as a stand alone and I didn’t feel at too much of a disadvantage having not read other books. You do get a good recap of what has come before, but not so much as to spoil the other reads completely, although, as always, exercise caution as there is one element which I think will give away book three quite a bit.

The story is one which many people will recognise – women being murdered by someone they have met through a dating app. The only problem is for Imogen and her partner Adrian Miles is that descriptions of the potential suspect differ greatly and there is no discernible link between the victims and the men they may have been dating. The killer is clever, ensuring that any electronic trails are eliminated and leaving no trace of themselves at the scene. So just how will the pair catch this cruel murderer before he, or she, can strike again.

This is really a triple narrative story, part focusing on Imogen and Adrian as they investigate the murder and navigate their own complicated personal and work relationships. It also focuses on a teenage boy, Connor, who has just moved to Exeter with his father. Connor is a curiosity in his new school – American, good looking, easily fitting in with the ‘in-crowd’, but he is clearly harbouring a dark secret, one which is slowly revealed through the course of the story. Connor should be at ease with the popular kids but he is more fascinated by his next door neighbour, a young girl called Selina, who Connor recognises as a kindred spirit. It is initially hard to see where Connor’s story fits in with the main murder investigation but as you read on things become a lot clearer and Katerina Diamond has done a brilliant job of pulling the seemingly separate threads together.

Now I mentioned this was a triple narrative story, and it is, with the third segment being told through a series of flashbacks. I don’t want to say too much about this part of the book, but I will say that it is very dark and quite harrowing to read, full of manipulation and abuse and very skilfully helps to build an element of back story which will lead the reader to draw all manner of conclusions along the way about what is really happening. It creates a kind of misdirection, pointing the finger of suspicion to many potential perpetrators as you read, whilst cleverly disguising the truth of what is happening.

I really like the way in which the author builds pace and urgency into the novel. As a reader you feel like the ultimate voyeur. You can tell immediately what will happen and feel the tension building inside you, but are powerless to change what is about to happen. You will curse the victims for their naivety whilst willing them to find a way to fight back. You will want Connor to come good, and yet be horrified by his actions, and you will pray that Imogen and Adrian find a way to stop the killer before it is too late, perched, as you inevitably will be, on the edge of your seat during those final few nail biting chapters. got to be honest, if you are looking for a read where the author takes it easy on their protagonists, then this really isn’t your read. Katerina Diamond is just plain mean. I love it.

Fast paced, full of heart-stopping tension intertwined with more poignant and tender moments, this book is highly recommended. If you haven’t read any of this series yet you are missing a trick. Get and fix that now. If you are already a fan then rest assured, this is another brilliant read.

If you would like a copy of the book for yourself, it is available now from the following retailers:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Kobo ~ Waterstones ~ Googleplay ~ Apple Books

About the Author

Katerina Diamond was born in Weston in the seventies. She moved to Thessaloniki in Greece and attended Greek school where she learnt Greek in just 6 months. After her parents’ divorce, they relocated to Devon. After school, and working in her uncle’s fish and chip shop, she went (briefly) to university at Derby, where she met her husband and had two children. Katerina now lives on the East Kent Coast with her husband and children. She is a Sunday Times and Kindle bestseller.

Author links: Twitter ~ Website ~ Facebook

Follow the tour:

tpbtp

5 thoughts on “The Promise by Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPen @AvonBooksUk #blogtour #review #extract

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 14/10/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.