Rewind, Recap: Weekly update w/e 07/10/18

thought-2123970_640

What a funny old week. Started off thinking I knew where I was heading and what my future self might look like – lasted all of about two days. By Tuesday I had a fourth job offer and by Saturday a fifth. Strange how these things happen huh? Well, the good new is that at least I had job offers. I am not taking that for granted and feel overwhelmingly lucky to be in this position. But blimey, it makes my brain ache weighing up the pros and cons of the offers on the table and making sure that I am making the right decision for me. I am pretty confident with the path I have chosen, one which will suit me (hopefully) and still allow me to have a home life and continue to bug you all with randomly annoying posts like this one on the blog. It still means a lot less stress and a huge amount of less travel. Fingers crossed it now all works out.

Not wanting to waste what was meant to be my last week of freedom, Mandie and I jumped in the car on Thursday and made the (not quite so) short trip over to spend the day in Hull. We went to Hull last year for the City’s Hull Noir Festival but didn’t really venture all that far from the hotel and the closest parts of the town if we were honest. Despite a grey and dull start, Thursday turned out to be a blue sky kind of day which we made the most of, taking a wander out around the town, venturing down to the marina and eventually finding ourselves in an unplanned visit to the aquarium, The Deep. Now I love animals and fish are no exception so this was a wonderfully relaxing afternoon for us both. Sharks, turtles, clown fish, penguins – The Deep has them all and it is marvellous to see so many beautiful and fascinating creatures up close.

The evening was one very well spent. At six o’clock we headed over to Waterstones to help Louise Beech celebrate the launch of her fabulous new novel, The Lion Tamer Who LostIf you’d like to see my thoughts on what makes this the must do read you can find my review here. You can also see my highlights of the evening here. It really was a brilliant evening, full of laughter, and it was great to hear a little more about Louise’s next book, Star Girl, which is due out early next year. Cannot wait.

All of this thinking, travelling and basically being completely mind blown by my job options has meant I didn’t have a very productive blogging week. Plenty of posts but less reading. I need to get back on top of that this week so my focus is very much on playing catch up on everything. Posts, reading, planning … You name it, I’ll be doing it. I did received a few bits of book post this week which was nice and both expected and unexpected. First up was a copy of The Conviction of Cora Burns from No Exit Press. Alongside the book I received a little game – a chance to see what my conviction was for. Apparently wilful murder, so those who wish to diss this post beware …

Next up was my print copy of In A House Of Lies by Ian Rankin in readiness for the event Mandie and I are attending next week. We are trundling off to Liverpool to attend the Investigating a Murder event at the central library, where Ian will be joined by a panel of experts to discuss what really happens during a murder investigation. This is followed by a book signing, hence the book … Finally, on Saturday I received a copy of Sue Moorcroft’s A Christmas Gift from Avon. I’ve not quite got into Christmas reading mode yet but will no doubt devour this over the coming weeks.

Orders wise I’ve been quite restrained for me. I did forget to mention last week that I had picked up a book whilst in Goldsboro Books in London. That was a signed copy of M.W. Craven’s The Puppet ShowI also ordered a hard signed copy of W.C Ryan’s A House of Ghosts as I couldn’t resist. From Amazon it was just the two books this week – Carol Wyer’s Last Lullaby (which was actually the book I couldn’t tell you about last week 😉 ) and Richard Parker’s The SongbirdCan’t wait to read both of them. A visit to Netgalley saw me pick up two books this week, both for tours. Closer by KL Slater and Christmas at the Little Cottage on the Hill by Emma Davies.

Books I have read

lbuLies Between Us – Ronnie Turner

Will they ever learn the truth?

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.

An intriguing debut this book will certainly make you think and, at times, cringe. Although no gratuitous in it’s telling, the story is quite harrowing. A three person narrative the one timeline centres around the abduction and abuse (non sexual) of a child so may not appeal to all. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book as part of the tour in the coming weeks but meanwhile you can order a copy of the book here.

hhHush Hush – Mel Sherratt

A killer is on the loose, attacking people in places they feel most safe: their workplaces, their homes. It’s up to DS Grace Allendale to stop the murders, and prove herself to her new team.

All clues lead to local crime family the Steeles, but that’s where things get complicated. Because the Steeles aren’t just any family, they’re Grace’s family. Two brothers and two sisters, connected by the violent father only Grace and her mother escaped.

To catch the killer, Grace will have to choose between her team and her blood. But who do you trust, when both sides are out to get you?

An unforgettable thriller that fans of MARTINA COLE and CARA HUNTER won’t be able to put down.

The first in a new series introduces us to DS Grace Allendale. I really enjoyed getting to know Grace and her tortured past in this fast paced police procedural. I certainly don’t envy her her familial connections, and her new colleagues don’t make it easy for her to fit in, but Mel Sherratt is skilled in writing characters you can truly root for and Grace is no exception. My full thoughts will be shared as part of the tour, for now, preorder a copy here.

And … that was it. Well I’ve actually part read two other books but one of them needs my concentration and my head just wasn’t in it this past week for all of the reasons mentioned above. I will catch up this week though as I want to get as much done before I start work as possible. Wish me luck. Full on week on the blog though and highlights are below:

Stealth by Hugh Fraser

Ed’s Dead by Russel D. McLean

The Syndicate by Guy Bolton

Palm Beach Finland by Antti Tuomainen

Tell Nobody by Patricia Gibney

Starlight on the Palace Pier by Tracy Corbett

#BookLaunch: The Lion Tamer Who Lost by Louise Beech

In Her Shadow by Mark Edwards

A Christmas Gift by Sue Moorcroft

We’ve a pretty full week coming up this week too. Tours for Heart in the Right Place by Lisa Hill; One Winter’s Day by Laura Briggs; The Warning by Kathryn Croft; Our Little Lies by Sue Watson and The Promise by Katerina Diamond.

Hope you all have a fabulous week. I will be mostly reading, exercising and praying to the gods of dieting that I can actually lose some weight this week. (Not holding my breath on that last one lol).

See you next week

Jen

2 thoughts on “Rewind, Recap: Weekly update w/e 07/10/18

Comments are closed.