The Man you Meet In Heaven by Debbie Viggiano @DebbieViggiano @Bookouture #guestreview #blogtour @mgriffiths163

Mandie is on fire this week. Today she’s back with a blog tour review of The Man You Meet In Heaven by Debbie Viggiano. Thanks to Noelle of Bookouture for inviting us to join in and providing the advance copy for review. Here is that what the book is about.

tmymihAbout the Book

One of the funniest, most down-to-earth books I have ever read… I devoured it.’ Leah Reads Books

When Hattie Green pops to the shop one afternoon, she never expects her life to flash before her eyes between the tins of baked beans and a special offer on sliced white. One minute she’s loading her trolley and thinking about what to give her son for dinner, and the next she’s speaking to a gorgeous man in a glowing white suit about what her life could have been…

If you had the chance to go back and relive it all, what would you do differently? Go on that date, take that promotion… eat that second biscuit? Hattie is about to discover where she went wrong, but will her mystery second chance reveal some STONKING secrets in her past that probably should have stayed hidden?

A gorgeous romantic comedy from the bestselling author of What Holly’s Husband Did. Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Marian Keyes and Dawn French.

Hattie Green is a single mum who is constantly trying to stop her own mother from setting her up with men. After finding her husband was having an affair with her friend she had sworn off men. When she has an accident in her local supermarket, she finds herself “transported” to heavens halfway house where she meets Josh who is determined to guide her though events in her life in the hope that she will re assess her reactions and decisions made at the time. He tells her she can’t change the past but she can learn to forgive herself for things that happened.

The Man You Meet in Heaven was certainly different and not quite what I expected but in a good way. I have to say that if I was Hattie I would certainly have been a little freaked out that I was halfway to meeting my maker, never mind the fact that there was someone there who could read my thoughts… not the really personal ones but everything else.  Would I like the chance to go through things of the past and react to them differently…. honestly I don’t know that I would.

I couldn’t help but like Hattie as she slowly found that by realising that maybe things were not all her fault. A couple of times I found myself chucking especially with her handling of her husband’s infidelity. That’s not to say this book was all sweetness and fun, some elements of Hattie’s past were not quite so easy to read but each time she faced them, Josh was there to help her through them and see that not everything that happened in her life was her fault…

Once I started the book I found I couldn’t stop reading it… I really wanted to know how by just some slight changes to her reactions could make a big difference to Hattie’s life.  Despite some of the subjects the author has managed to keep the book quite fast paced and light and the ending although kind of what I expected was not out of place at all. Even some of the parts in the halfway lounge just seemed to fit the whole tone of the book. For the lovers of chic lit this is definitely one to read.

If you’d like a copy of the book for yourself it is available now from the following retailers:

Amazon Apple Books ~ Kobo ~ Googleplay

About the author

dvPrior to turning her attention to writing, Debbie Viggiano was, for more years than she cares to remember, a legal secretary. She lives with her Italian husband, a rescued pooch from Crete, and a very disgruntled cat. Occasionally her adult children return home bringing her much joy… apart from when they want to raid the fridge, or eat her secret stash of chocolate. Follow Debbie’s (intermittent!) blog: www.debbieviggiano.blogspot.com Tweet @DebbieViggiano or look her up on Facebook.

 

Follow the tour:

tmymihbtp