Shortlist revealed for 2018 McIlvanney Prize @BloodyScotland @Brownlee_Donald #mcilvanneyprize

bloody scotland logo vectorised-01-1

Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival 21-23 September 2018




Winner to be presented at the opening reception of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival at The Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling on Friday 21 September

A panel of judges including comedian and crime fan Susan Calman, writer Craig Sisterson and Guardian books writer, Alison Flood, today reveal the finalists for The McIlvanney Prize from a twelve strong longlist.

The finalists include New Zealand based author, Liam McIlvanney, the son of the man after whom the prize is named; Lin Anderson, a founder of Bloody Scotland and two former winners of the McIlvanney Prize – Chris Brookmyre and Charles Cumming.


The winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will be awarded The McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney at the opening reception on Friday 8 September (for which tickets are already sold out) and at 7.15pm will lead a torchlight procession – open to the public – with Val McDermid and Denise Mina on their way down to their event. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.


The judges explained why each book made the final four:

Lin Anderson, Follow the Dead (Macmillan)
One of Scotland’s long running series raises the bar even higher, a series which is constantly re-inventing itself without being formulaic. The judges praised the novel’s evocative atmospheric setting.

Lin Anderson Credit Paul Reich

Chris Brookmyre, Places in the Darkness (Little, Brown)
Chris Brookmyre is creating his own genre of cosmic noir in a fully realised world.  A superlative off world thriller about real world issues
Chris Brookmyre credit Paul Reich

Charles Cumming, The Man Between (Harper Collins)
A fresh twist on the spy novel, taking the genre to a different dimension, deftly weaving political events into the story. A superb page turner in the best possible way.

Charles Cumming

Liam McIlvanney, The Quaker (Harper Collins)
In a crowded market, McIlvanney has created a protagonist who is fresh and distinctive.  He takes the familiar tropes and makes them extraordinary.

Liam Mcilvanney, credit Michael McQueencredit Michael McQueen

Previous winners are Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre withBlack Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May withEntry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012. The 2018 winner will be kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.

BS-Hollywood-sign (1).jpeg

About Bloody Scotland

Bloody Scotland is Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival, providing a showcase for the best crime writing from Scotland and the world, unique in that it was set up by a group of Scottish crime writers in 2012. The festival uses a number of atmospheric, historic venues in Stirling’s Old Town setting it apart from other literary festivals. Full information at

Bloody Scotland is supported by the National Lottery through Creative Scotland’s Open Project Funding, Stirling Council, Stirling University and Open University Scotland.  Stirling Gin have remained a sponsor for a second year running and are kindly providing Bloody Scotland cocktails at the opening reception and will have a pop up bar at the annual football match. Waterstone’s are once again our festival bookseller and other sponsors include The Faculty of Advocates, The Sunday Times Crime Club, Headline Publishing and The Crime Vault. We have also secured a number of new sponsors including H W Fisher who are sponsoring the green room during the Festival.

This year Bloody Scotland coincides with a number of other Scottish literary festivals, why not take the opportunity to move on from Stirling to the infamous Wigtown Book Festival which runs until 30 September.

In addition to our own McIlvanney Prize, Bloody Scotland is shortlisted for the CWA Short Story Dagger for two stories from the Bloody Scotland anthology published last year by HES. Chris Brookmyre, The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle and Denise Mina, Nemo Me Impune Lacessit are on a shortlist of five. The winner will be announced on 25 October in London.

3 thoughts on “Shortlist revealed for 2018 McIlvanney Prize @BloodyScotland @Brownlee_Donald #mcilvanneyprize

Comments are closed.