Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 19/08/18

landscape-2124756_640

This is going to be a very brief round up of my week as basically, I have done nothing. The above image has nothing to do with anything, but I put it in there as it’s about as inspiring as this post is going to get. You have been warned …

Well … that’s not strictly true. The doing nothing bit (the post really will be dull). I have started to sort through all the random crap (see below) that I have accumulated over the past lord knows how many years, bought a new fridge freezer (I know – living it up me) and decorated my bookshelves (mainly with random crap I have accumulated over the years.) I met a friend for coffee and applied for loads of jobs.

I also did a bit of writing. Norra lot, done nothing for the past few days in fact, but I did get some of the way towards creating my masterpiece (?) so that’s nice.

No book post and only one Netgalley book – Lies Between Us by very lovely Blogger and now debut author, Ronnie Turner. Did order a couple of books mind. First up, an essential pre-order – Fatal Promise by Angela Marsons. I also ordered Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill; How to be Champion by Sarah Millican and Lethal Force by Tony Long. Quite a quiet week for me.

And that was about it really. I’d love to say I was living it up and making the most of my enforced break but in truth I am sitting around, unable to focus on anything, eating junk food (when I remember to eat at all) and basically letting life pass me by. All good fun.

I’ve even been struggling to read. Absolutely no reflection on the books, more a reflection of me. I am broken, with little mo and even less jo right now.

Still. It could always be worse, right? I could have real problems. I am so not there yet.

Anyhow, back to the books.

Books I have read

thhThe Hangman’s Hold –  Michael Wood

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

There’s a killer in your house.
The Hangman waits in the darkness of your living room. As soon as you get home, he will kill you – hang you by the neck – and make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.

He knows your darkest secrets.
The police are running out of time. DCI Matilda Darke is facing her worst nightmare: a serial killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice, whose campaign of violence is spreading fear throughout the city.

And he is closer than you think.
As the body count rises, Matilda is personally targeted and even her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

I came extremely late to this series but ever since reading the last book, A Room Full of Killers, I have been a convert. this book is dark, fast paced and thrilling from first page until last and I raced through it. If you are a fan of Matilda Darke then you are going to love this as she is pitted against a killer who is extremely cunning and seems to enjoy toying with her. The book is released on 24th August and I’ll be reviewing as part of the tour next Monday, but in the meantime why not order your own copy here.

BlueBlue: A Memoir – John Sutherland

‘This is a remarkable book . . . profound and deeply moving . . . It has as much to tell us about mental illness as it does about policing’ Alastair Stewart

John Sutherland joined the Met in 1992, having dreamed of being a police officer since his teens. Rising quickly through the ranks, he experienced all that is extraordinary about a life in blue: saving lives, finding the lost, comforting the broken and helping to take dangerous people off the streets. But for every case with a happy ending, there were others that ended in desperate sadness, and in 2013 John suffered a major breakdown.

Blue is his memoir of crime and calamity, of adventure and achievement, of friendship and failure, of serious illness and slow recovery. With searing honesty, it offers an immensely moving and personal insight into what it is to be a police officer in Britain today.

There is no doubt in my mind that I have been suffering from a whole heap of self pity. It is affecting me and everything I do and I needed to gain a little perspective. What better way than by reading a book I have been meaning to get to for far too long. Blue is a story of a man who truly knows what pressure is, who knows how it feels to be broken and have to build yourself back up. Who gave every part of him to protect the people that he chose to serve loyally for twenty-five years. I’ll be reviewing very soon, just as soon as I’ve found the words to do it justice, but you can get a copy of the book here, which I totally recommend that you do. Funny, inspiring and truly moving, it’s a book which will resonate with many, no matter your background and it deserves to be read.

BSBellevue Square – Michael Redhill

Jean Mason has a doppelganger.

She’s never seen her, but others* swear they have.

*others | noun. A peculiar collection of drug addicts, scam artists, philanthropists, philosophers and vagrants – the regulars of Bellevue Square.

Jean lives in downtown Toronto with her husband and two kids. The proud owner of a thriving bookstore, she doesn’t rattle easily – not like she used to. But after two of her customers insist they’ve seen her double, Jean decides to investigate. Curiosity grows to obsession and soon Jean’s concerns shift from the identity of the woman, to her very own.

Funny, dark and surprising, Bellevue Square takes readers down the existentialist rabbit hole and asks the question: what happens when the sense you’ve made of things stops making sense?

I am about eighty-five percent through this book as I write this so, given that it is not yet lunchtime on Sunday, I am going to take this as a win as I will finish reading it today. This is quite an intriguing and thoroughly absorbing tale, with a story which unwinds oh so cleverly. I found myself galloping through the first quarter of the book in seemingly the blink of an eye. Beautifully written with characters so tare so real you almost feel they are sat next to you on the sofa. Quite a chilling thought given the subject matter but that’s another story. Actually, it’s this one in a nutshell. I’ll be reviewing it as part of the tour next week but you can grab your own copy right here.

..

And … that was it. I kind of half read two other books which I will finish this week but that just didn’t quite break through my incessant brain fog this time around. Blog wise it was an okay week, recap below.

Valentina by S.E. Lynes

Dead of Night by Michael Stanley

Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker

Press Release: #BloodyScotland

Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter

A Holiday to Remember by Susanne O’Leary

The week ahead is a relatively slow one, depending on whether or not I can get my reviewing head on. If not, then I’ve a few tours on for the following: Deepest Wounds by Gordon Brown; The Wife Before Me by Laura Elliot; Perfect Silence by Helen Fields; Finding Felix by Jo Platt and Secrets at Meadowbrook Manor by Faith Bleasdale. If I can locate my blogging brain, I may even chuck in a few random reviews too. Who knows.

So. I am going to go and continue reading. Hopefully, buried in the those final pages of Bellevue Square I will find my lost mojo and a little bit of spark to get me going again. Wish me luck.

Jen

9 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 19/08/18

    1. Thanks Linda. Today has been the distraction I needed. Fresh (ish) air, good company and Irn Bru. Makes a change going to Edinburgh and not having to get up at crack of stupid the next day to go to work lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s a really odd feeling. Part of me needs something to keep me sane the other part of me wishes that part would just sod off and let me sleep.

      Like

Comments are closed.