Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @Bookouture #review #blogtour

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog tour for the new thriller, and the first in a new series from author Richard Parker, Never Say Goodbye. My thanks to publisher Bookouture for the advance copy of review and for inviting me to join the tour. Here is what the book is all about.

nsgAbout the Book

Somewhere in this city… she’s waiting to be found. When the body of an innocent woman is found stabbed in her otherwise pristine bedroom, Detective Tom Fabian is called in to lead the investigation. It’s the latest in a series of seemingly random murders all over London, which Tom suspects might be linked… but how?

Just when Tom feels all his leads have run dry, he discovers a startling connection between the victims. The killer is tracing a sinister web of murder through the capital – but where does it lead, and who is next?

But then another victim is found, just as Tom’s wife and teenage daughter find themselves in grave danger. Is it a coincidence, or has his job put his family at risk? Has Tom unknowingly sacrificed those he loves most to the darkest case of his career… and can he catch the killer before he strikes again?

A completely gripping, pulse-racing crime thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Mark Edwards and Robert Dugoni.

Now it is safe to say that I do like me a book by Richard Parker. There was a little of the devil in me which just loved the Scream-esque twisty darkness in Follow You and I have been a fan ever since. When I heard that he was writing a new crime series I was intrigued and most determined to read the book to see what it was all about. Having powered through it in a day, in and around attending Bute Noir, I can happily say that I am mighty glad I did.

Now this book follows a murder investigation which is led, rather unexpectedly as it happens, by Detective Inspector Tom Fabian. There have been a series of murders in and around London with no clear pattern and no obvious links between the very random mixture of victims. Progress has been slow and all the Detectives seem able to do is wait for the next victim, something that no-one is keen to let happen. With a great team around him, Fabian knows that the pressure is on them to find that all important link so that they can get one step ahead of the killer, but even if they find it and are able to decipher the killers clear signature, how can they catch a person so skilled at hiding in the shadows?

What I liked most about this book is that from the very beginning Richard Parker suckered me straight into the story. You meet the first victim right away, you find enough of her history in order to be able to care about her death. It is shocking without being graphic and it sets the tone, and the pace, for the rest of the book. This killer is methodical, prepared, almost relaxed even. It is really quite chilling. From here on in you know what to expect, and with several chapters told from the killer’s point of view, you can see the tragedy unfolding even as they police struggle to find their footing.

Tom Fabian is a great character. Flawed, as all good Cops are, his main failing seems to be in being too invested in his job, so much so that it has cost him his family. He is still undeniably close to his daughter but his marriage is well and truly over. In terms of his team he is a well respected manager and there are some great characters in amongst them, especially DS Natasha Banner who is as determined and focused as Fabian and makes a great partner. They understand each other perfectly and it’s a team I am looking forward to seeing develop over the series.

The murders in this book are not graphic, or particularly gruesome although there is no mistaking what has happened. You are not necessarily present at the kill but you are alongside the killer in the lead up which is almost as scary – the knowledge of what is yet to come. Even once the pattern is discovered, the still seems no logical motive and it will take some time for this to all become clear. Leads take them nowhere and as a reader I too got the sense of frustration the investigating officer felt. It really was a compelling read, if only because I needed to know why the killer was doing it and what the end game might be.

For the first book in a series, this has me hooked and I can’t wait to read more, if only because of that ending. What a set up. And the twists and misdirection that the author fed throughout the novel were perfect, deflecting attention just long enough to hide the truth but not enough to cause confusion. It’s all just building to something bigger and I am looking forward to book two.

If you would like a copy of Never Say Goodbye for yourself then you can find DI Fabian and his team at the following retailers:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

About the Author

Richard Parker was formerly a TV script writer, script editor and producer before turning his hand to penning twisted stand alone thrillers.

Author Links: Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Website ~ Instagram

Follow the tour:

nsgbtp

2 thoughts on “Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @Bookouture #review #blogtour

Comments are closed.