Murder on the Marshes by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

Today I am delighted to pass the blog over to Mandie who has a review of Murder on the Marshes by Clare Chase. Thank to Noelle Holten of Bookouture for inviting us to join the tour and providing an advance copy for review. Here is what the book is all about.

motmAbout the Book

Do you love twisty murder mysteries? Meet Tara Thorpe – the clue to a puzzling local murder has landed right on her doorstep. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross and Joy Ellis.

As the sun rises, a wealthy young woman – Samantha Seabrook – is found drowned in the ornamental fountain of a deserted Cambridge courtyard, the only clue – an antique silver chain wound tightly around her throat. 

It’s Tara Thorpe’s job to discover what happened to Miss Seabrook – but the case becomes personal when she learns that Samantha had been receiving death threats… rather like the one that landed on Tara’s doorstep the night the woman died.

Together with Detective Inspector Garstin Blake, Tara tracks the killer to the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of the city. But there’s something Tara can’t quite admit to Blake about her past – and it could make all the difference to whether they live… or die.

An absolutely gripping page-turner that will keep you hooked until the very last page. The first in a series of unputdownable Cambridge mysteries featuring Thorpe and Blake.

Murder on the Marshes introduces us to journalist Tara Thorpe and DI Garstin Blake. Tara arrives home to find that she has been sent a package that contains a small doll with a noose round its neck and a note stating “This is a warning”. With her past history the first thing she does is contact the police. When a Cambridge professor is found strangled, initial investigations uncover that she too was sent a similar doll. When the professors assistant is also murdered the race is on to find the killer and find out what links the murder victims to Tara.

Tara has been tasked by her editor to write a story about Professor Samantha Seabrook only he is not aware that there is something that may connect them.  Her investigations into the story means that she keeps coming in contact with DI Blake who seems to have a bit of a soft spot for Tara and is genuinely concerned for her safety.

Tara has quite a way about her and manages to get all the people in Samantha’s life to open up to her. Despite having to constantly look over her shoulder she is determined to find the real Samantha. The more she investigates the more she finds that the professor may not have been quite the stand-up citizen she appeared to be on the surface. There was certainly no love lost between her and some of her colleagues.

DI Blake is dealing with his own issues at home and is sometimes distracted by this but he is determined to catch the killer. He finds that by sharing some information with Tara, she in turn shares bits of information with him that gives him slight insights into potential suspects and their motives. I am not sure however that he really likes the fact that sometimes Tara seems to be one step ahead of the police when it comes to gaining information.

I am not naturally a gushy person but I have to say that I loved this book. The two main characters work well together despite being in professions that would normally rub each other up the wrong way. The setting in and around Cambridge gives the author plenty to play with when setting the scene for Tara and her stalker. With so many potential suspects the reader will be kept guessing to the end who murdered Samantha Seabrook and why. This is certainly a fantastic start to the series and I can’t wait to see what awaits Tara in the next book.

If you’d like a copy of Murder on the Marshes for yourself it is available now from the following retailer:

Amazon

About the Author

CC

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available for pre-order and will publish in July 2018. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author links: Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook

Follow the tour:

MOTMbtp

 

5 thoughts on “Murder on the Marshes by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

  1. Thanks so much for this wonderful review, Mandie – I’m absolutely delighted that you enjoyed Murder on the Marshes. Very many thanks to Jen for hosting too – it’s much appreciated!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 05/08/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.