Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

Today Mandie is back in the driving seat with a blog tour review of Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller. With thanks to Bookouture for the early copy for review and including us on the tour. Here is what the book is all about.

tatAbout the Book

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry. 

‘There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies: a sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.’

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl…

At the Barton BakeryBetty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton, but Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

Audrey’s stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much, a man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams…

As Winston Churchill tells the country to ‘never give in’, the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.

Telegrams and Teacakes takes you back to 1942 with Britain at war, bomb raids a regular occurrence and rationing a way of life.

We meet Betty who has decided to leave Bristol and her heartache behind and move to Bournemouth. Desperate not to be found she changes her surname and manages to get herself a job working at the Barton Bakery.  You just know however despite her best laid plans she will not remain undetected for long.

As this is the third in the Wartime Bakery series the majority of the characters are well established however don’t let this put you off from reading it if you have not read the first two. I haven’t and I can honestly say that this did not cause me any problems or detract from the story.

I have to say I loved the characters in this book. One of the funniest parts that made me chuckle was a customer in the bakery having a bit of a temper tantrum over the National Loaf that had been introduced that “tasted like sawdust” and was not white like they used to be. The fact that they threatened to camp out there until she was given a white loaf was both amusing and sad at the same time. This for me really showed some of the sacrifices that were made during that time even with the simple things in life that we take for granted. The bakery really does seem to be one extended family and Betty soon becomes part of that even when the past she had been running from catches up with her.

The one character that really stood out for me was Audrey’s brother William. He is now out of the army having sustained serious injury but he is haunted by what happened whilst he was overseas. Blaming himself for his friends’ death he suffers terrible nightmares and this is taking its toll on his marriage. Despite his struggles he feels that he can’t burden anyone with the truth and would rather suffer in silence and alone.

I did admire Audrey though not only had she taken on the running of the bakery whilst her husband was fighting in the war, she had also adopted a girl who had lost all her family and was also heavily pregnant and refusing to slow down any time soon.

Amy Miller has manages to give the reader a real sense of what people during that time were going through, from the rationing to the interrupted sleep from air raid warnings and the sense of not knowing what they would find once they emerged from the shelters. Despite this there was a real sense of pulling together and hope. Amy has managed to get the right blend of humour and heartache of the period making Telegrams and Teacakes a must for any reader.

If you would like a copy of Telegrams and Teacakes  for yourself, it is available now from the following retailers:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Kobo ~ iBookstore ~ Googleplay

About the Author

am

Amy Miller lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. New
to saga, she has previously written women’s fiction under a different
name.
Author Links:

Follow the tour:

tatbtp

One thought on “Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 05/08/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.