Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 29/07/18

lunar-eclipse-767808_640.jpg

Thought long and hard about whether to write a post this week as I have done pretty much nothing of note. Then I thought to myself, I have had a lifetime of doing nothing of note and it has never stopped me posting before so here we are. How are you? Did you manage to get a clear sky and see the ‘Blood Moon’? No? Me neither but hey. Not the first and probably won’t be the last and a red moon is a red moon right?

So. My week went pretty quickly. After the busy weekend and fun of Harrogate it was somewhat of an anticlimax (understatement), but it did show me what a fabulous bunch of folk I know and I appreciate your friendship and support so much. Those who know me, know why. Those who don’t yet know why will find out soon enough. Cryptic you say? Hell yeah.

Happy to report I think the internet is fixed. Made my week. Yep. It’s one of those weeks where the little things matter. A lot. Also been doing a lot of reading which after the paltry two books (good as they were) I managed to finish last week, is not a bad thing. I’m now ahead of my reading schedule. Whoop whoop. Might even make a dent in my Netgalley mountain if I’m lucky.

woman-945427_640 (1).jpg

Book wise, it’s been a pretty slow week for me. Two bits of book post and one e-book post and one book on Netgalley. No new Amazon orders either. I know. I should be ashamed right? My book post was most excellent. First I got a copy of Trap by Lilja Sigurdardottir from the lovely Orenda books, who were also responsible for my e-book post, After He Died by Michael J Malone. My second bit of book post was The Syndicate by Guy Bolton from the lovely folk at One World. Netgalley wise it was Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of Her which I’m reading for a blog tour.

Books I Have Read

tlosThe Language of Secrets – Ausma Zehanat Khan

AN UNDERCOVER INFORMANT HAS BEEN MURDERED… BUT WHOSE SIDE WAS HE ON?

The sequel to The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehanat Khan, featured on BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour

‘Powerful’ – Bookpage * ‘Exceptionally fine’ – Library Journal * ‘Compelling’ – Leigh Russell

A terrorist cell is planning an attack on New Year’s Day. For months, Mohsin Dar has been undercover, feeding information back to the national security team. Now he’s dead.

Detective Esa Khattak, compromised by his friendship with the murdered agent, sends his partner Rachel Getty into the unsuspecting cell. As Rachel delves deeper into the unfamiliar world of Islam and the group’s circle of trust, she discovers Mohsin’s murder may not be politically motivated after all. Now she’s the only one who can stop the most devastating attack the country has ever faced.

The Unquiet Dead author Ausma Zehanat Khan once again dazzles with a brilliant mystery woven into a profound and intimate story of humanity.

Ah. This book. What a read. I knew when I started it that it was one I needed to take time over, and take time I did. Set in a world of hatred, intolerance, suspicion and violence and against a backdrop of terrorism, Khattak and Getty are back in a case which could see them both in a perilous position. Family and loyalty are key themes in this marvelous follow up to The Unquiet Dead. You can catch up with my review in the highlights below and order a copy of the book here.

drDeath Rope – Leigh Russell

The new novel in the million-copy selling Detective Geraldine Steel series

‘UNMISSABLE’ – LEE CHILD * ‘A RARE TALENT’ – DAILY MAIL * ‘BRILLIANT’ – JEFFERY DEAVER

Mark Abbott is dead. His sister refuses to believe it was suicide, but only Detective Sergeant Geraldine Steel will listen.

When other members of Mark’s family disappear, Geraldine’s suspicions are confirmed.

Taking a risk, Geraldine finds herself confronted by an adversary deadlier than any she has faced before… Her boss Ian is close, but will he arrive in time to save her, or is this the end for Geraldine Steel?

Good lord this book. Murder, lies, secrets and double crossing in this book which sees Geraldine Steel pitted against a most savage killer. This had me guessing until the end and on the edge of my seat. Top read and another stunning entry in a brilliant series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts tomorrow as part of the blog tour but you can order a copy of the book here to get ahead of the game.

DNHDo No Harm – LV Hay

Till death do us part…

After leaving her marriage to jealous, possessive oncologist Maxwell, Lily and her six-year-old son have a second chance at happiness with headteacher Sebastian. Kind but vulnerable, Sebastian is the polar opposite of Maxwell, and the perfect match for Lily. After a whirlwind romance, they marry, and that’s when things start to go wrong…

Maxwell returns to the scene, determined to win back his family, and events soon spiral out of control. Lily and Sebastian find themselves not only fighting for their relationship, but also their lives…

Chilling, dark and terrifying, Do No Harm is a taut psychological thriller and a study of obsession, from one of the most exciting new voices in crime fiction.

Twisted. That’s the only way I can think to describe this book. Twisted relationships, twisted minds and a truly twisted storyline which had me guessing and second guessing myself from start to finish. Fired through it in an afternoon and evening and the ending left me astounded. In a good way. Fabulous read and if you’d like to find out why you can order a copy here.

kodKiss of Death – Paul Finch

Could this be the end for Heck?

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with an unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride won’t be able to put this down.

Don’t let them catch you…

A Deadly Hunt
DS ‘Heck’ Heckenburg has been tasked with retrieving one of the UK’s most wanted men. But the trail runs cold when Heck discovers a video tape showing the fugitive in a fight for his life. A fight he has no chance of winning.

A Dangerous Game
Heck realises that there’s another player in this game of cat and mouse, and this time, they’ve not just caught the prize: they’ve made sure no one else ever does.

A Man Who Plays With Fire
How far will Heck and his team go to protect some of the UK’s most brutal killers? And what price is he willing to pay?

Dang. This book. That ending. What a story. High stakes from the off this sees our favourite hero Heck tracking down a fugitive and not remotely prepared for what he is about to find. This book takes you on a real adventure where everything is at stake and my god, the ending will have you on the edge of your seat and then stuck in slack jawed shock. Top stuff and fans of the series are in for an absolute treat. You can order a copy of the book here.

taThe Affiar – Sheryl Browne

The moment she opened her eyes, she knew everything had changed. The stale taste of alcohol; her uneasy stomach. She looked at her husband sleeping peacefully, and knew she would never tell anyone what happened last night.

You will think you know what happened to Alicia that night.

You will see a desperate wife, lying to her husband.

You will watch a charming lover, trying to win her back.

You will judge her, just like everyone else.

You will assume you know what happens next. But everything you think you know about the past, the relationships, what drives Alicia and her husband to lie… is wrong.

If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and The Sister, you’ll love this compelling and gripping psychological thriller from Sheryl Browne. The Affair will have you hooked from the very first page!

If I were to be honest, it is hard to know quite where to classify this book. it’s not quite domestic noir, more domestic drama or suspense, but if nothing else, it’s addictive. Raced through this in a day and while it’s not a story that will leave you guessing, it is powerful stuff. Those opening scenes nearly had me in tears. And the tension towards the end … A fab read. You can order a copy of the book here.

Not bad huh? Five books. Not sure I’ll do as well in the week to come as I have the beauty of Bute Noir to amuse me at the weekend but that does me a couple of long train journeys so who knows? Anything is possible. Blog was pretty busy too this week – recap below.

A Cold Flame by Aidan Conway

The Emperor of Shoes by Spencer Wise

Mini Review: No Time To Cry by James Oswald

Press Release: Bloody Scotland – Ashley Jensen appearing at this year’s Festival

Guest Post: Abby’s Promise by Rebekah Dodson

The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Daughter of River Valley by Victoria Cornwall

This week sees me and Mandie buried under blog tours – happy days. Starting today with One Little Lie by Sam Carrington, we also have Death Rope by Leigh Russell, Her Name Was Rose by Claire Allan, My Very Italian Holiday by Sue Roberts, Murder By The Broads by Anthony Tamiozzo, Her Last Breath by Charlie Gallagher, Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller and Murder on the Marshes by Clare Chase.

Not too bad, but it’s mostly Mandie’s hard work this week. Making her earn her keep so to speak. Or her books. Either or.

Have a fabulous week all. I am hoping for a nice sunny one up in Bute. If all else fails there will be cake and books. What more can a girl want?

See you on the other side.

Jen

8 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 29/07/18

      1. I don’t really. More so when I’ve seen all school friends on Facebook who have already celebrated and I think that the last time I saw them was when I was 15.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.