The Lost Sister by Tracy Buchanan @TracyBuchanan @AvonBooksUK #blogtour #extract

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for The Lost Sister by Tracy Buchanan and to be able to bring you an exclusive extract from the book. My thanks to Sabah Khan from Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. Here is what the book is all about.

tlsAbout the book

From the #1 bestselling author of My Sister’s Secret and No Turning Back

For the first time in your life, she is going to tell you the truth…

Then: A trip to the beach tore Becky’s world apart. It was the day her mother Selma met the mysterious man she went on to fall in love with, and leave her husband and child for.

Now: It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but Selma has just weeks to live. And she has something important to tell Becky – a secret she been hiding for many years. She had another daughter.

With the loss of her mother, Becky aches to find her sister. She knows she cannot move forward in her life without answers, but who can she really trust?

An emotionally powerful novel full of twists and family secrets. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Susan Lewis.

The Lost Sister

Tracy Buchanan

‘Selma!’ A voice pierced my thoughts. I looked up, annoyed, as a red-faced woman in a bright pink top wove her way through the tables to get to me, waving her hands erratically, her sullen son following her.

It was Monica from work, the office manager who considered everyone her best friend, spilling the intimate details of her life to anyone who’d listen. Her husband’s breakdown. Her sister-in-law’s affair. The dose of thrush she’d been suffering from the past two years. I did my best to avoid her most days, unable to deal with her perpetually sunny disposition, especially on Monday mornings.

But it was hard in such a compact office, just ten of us crammed into the top floor of a small barn conversion as we scribbled out copy for various clients. Thank God I only had to endure it three days a week.

‘Hello, Monica,’ I said with a tight smile. Her son let out a bored sigh and crossed his arms, staring out to sea. He was ten, just a couple of years older than Becky but the same size, which always came a surprise to anyone who knew Monica, who was a tall, wide-hipped, big-breasted woman. I suppose that was one thing she and I did have in common: our curves – a contrast to the stick-thin women that seemed to grace the town.

‘Oh, hasn’t Becky grown!’ Monica exclaimed, gazing across to Becky on the beach. Her forehead was sunburnt, freckles smattering her tiny nose, her golden hair long and tangled in the sand, ice cream smeared on her face. My heart clenched at the sight of her, my beautiful happy daughter. They tell you about the love you feel for your children and at first, for some, it doesn’t come as quickly in the madness of those early newborn days. But when it does, it has a quality that supersedes all other types of love. Even I, as a writer, find it hard to describe.

Doesn’t it sound great? Well if you’d like to get a copy of the book for yourself then it is available at the following links:

Amazon UK ~ Kobo ~ Waterstones

About the Author

Tracy Buchanan lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband, their little girl and their puppy, Bronte. Tracy travelled extensively while working as a travel magazine editor, and has always been drawn to the sea after spending her childhood holidays on the south coast visiting family, a fascination that inspires her writing. She now dedicates her time to writing and procrastinating on Facebook.

Sign up for Tracy’s e-newsletter at www.tracy-buchanan.com. If you’re a fan of her books, join the exclusive Facebook group she’s set up with other bestselling women’s fiction authors for giveaways and exclusives. Just visit www.facebook.com/groups/TheReadingSnug and request to join. Or follow Tracy on Twitter.

Follow the tour:

TLSBTP.jpg