Happily Never After by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonuk @Bookouture @mgriffiths163 #guestreview #blogtour

It’s a Mandie takeover this week and today we’re delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Emma Robinson’s latest laugh out loud book, Happily Never After. Our thanks to Kim Nash for inviting us to join the tour and to Bookouture for providing the advance copy for review. Here is what the book is all about.

hnaAbout the Book

She closed her eyes. Think with your head. Your heart can’t be trusted. Life is not a fairytale…

Rory doesn’t believe in love. She’s got far too many real problems to deal with. 

She’s just bought a tumbledown house. Her mother is generally behaving like a wicked witch, insisting on calling her Aurora, and generally interfering in her (admittedly pitiful lack of) love life. And her 16-year-old daughter has finally grown out of Disney princesses and discovered dating…

But Rory’s adamant that she doesn’t need saving. In fact, the only thing she’s wishing on a star for is a bit of practical help. However, when she meets a builder whose name is John Prince and who seems to be in the habit of rescuing her (right down to finding her lost shoe one evening) she might have to face a truth as uncomfortable as hobbling home barefoot – that maybe there’s something enchanted in the air.

Her mother, daughter and friends are convinced her prince has come, but Rory just wishes everyone could let it go. Especially when she hears a story that makes her question whether he is really the hero everyone thinks he is…

A hilarious, romantic love story about mothers, daughters and how on earth to find Prince Charming, for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern.

Every now and then I love to indulge myself and read a feel good book, you know the sort, one you can sit back and relax with and will leave you with a smile on your face when you come to the end of it. For me Happily Never After is one of those books.

Aurora or Rory as she prefers to be known is a teacher and single parent to 16yr old Belle. With her ex-husband needing his house back that she and Belle have been living in, she decides to take on a massive renovation project. With her mother Sheila thinking she is crazy and should be concentrating on finding a husband, she is determined to do it and do it on her own.

I couldn’t help but like the character of Rory. She is fiercely independent to the point of stubbornness. Every time someone suggests that she gets help, she does the exact opposite… a trait I can sometimes identify with. On her first trip to the local DIY store she meets John Prince. Initially she mistakes him for an employee and he seems to play along but he does eventually confess that he is actually a builder. He insists on giving her some free advice but ends up helping fix the house, always managing to be there just when she needs him the most… usually when she is in her “I can do this alone” phase. Rory is both proud and protective of her students, most of which are considered problems, and will go that extra mile for them to ensure that learning is fun.

John has his own hang ups regarding relationships and is quite adamant that he prefers to be single but he is a bit like a knight in shining armour to a few single women in the area, helping them with odd jobs for a fraction of the true cost of the work.

Her best friends are also teachers but they do deem to be the opposite of Rory, Susie is confident and speaks her mind whilst Penny is quiet shy and quiet. Both however seem determined to find a man and enter into a permanent stable relationship. They are often dragging Rory to nights out in the quest to find Mr Right.

Although you just know how it will end for Rory and her friends, I found that I couldn’t put the book down and raced through it. Happily Never After is the perfect holiday read whilst lying on the beach or relaxing by the pool and will give you a few chuckles along the way.

You can find your own copy of Happily Never After waiting for you at one of the following links:

About the Author

EREmma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Author Links: Website ~ Facebook ~ TwitterInstagram

Follow the tour:

hnabtp.jpg