The Note by Andrew Barrett @AndrewBarrettUK @Bloodhoundbooks #blogblitz

Today I am taking part in the blog blitz for The Note by Andrew Barrett, a novella which introduces his central character of CSI Eddie Collins. My thanks to Sarah Hardy of Bloodhound Books for inviting me to join the tour and for providing the advance review copy. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about shall we?

tn.jpgAbout the Book

A thrilling novella introducing Eddie Collins, CSI

Have you ever had that feeling of being watched but when you turn around no ones there?

I have.

It was raining, and I was working a murder scene around midnight when that prickle ran up my spine. If I’d listened to that feeling, if I’d thought back to my past, maybe I could have prevented the terror that was to come.

Back at the office, I found a death threat on my desk.

I had no idea who sent it or why they wanted to kill me.

But I was about to find out.

I’m Eddie Collins, a CSI, and this is my story.

Andrew Barrett is the best-selling author of The End of Lies. This novella serves as a thrilling introduction to his Eddie Collins Series. It will appeal to fans of authors like Ian Rankin, Robert Bryndza and Kathy Reichs.

the Note is a cracking little novella and a brilliant introduction to Andrew Barrett’s man of the hour, CSI Eddie Collins. And man of the hour is an apt description because at around 50 pages, that is more or less how long you will spend in his company and what a fascinating hour it is.

It is hard to say too much about the story itself as, being a novella, if I say much more than is in the blurb, it will give too much away. What I can say is that Eddie finds himself on a call out to a rather grim crime scene, at odds with the rather up-himself Detective on call and quickly on the receiving end of a death threat. Not too shabby for one nights work. What he doesn’t know is who is threatening him or why. What he does know is that the Detectives in charge are going to be no help to him whatsoever.

I really liked the character of Eddie. Much like the blurb, the story is told in his no-nonsense style, occasionally deriding his colleagues but always conversational and always entertaining. Despite the fact he is not the happiest of chappies in this book, he is easy to get to like, personable and easy to identify with. He’s not entirely straight-laced but not easy to sway from process either. All in all a really enjoyable character and one I was happy to spend time with.

The pacing is quite quick and I found that I raced through the story much faster than I was expecting. There are surprises along the way and a few elements that you will probably be expecting. It also gives us a slightly less discussed but equally harrowing and important look at domestic violence.

If you’d like to read a book told from the CSI perspective, which I personally found a refreshing change to the more prevalent Detective, then this is a great place to start. It promises great things for the series and I can’t wait to hear more from Eddie Collins.

If you would like to get your hands on a copy of The Note it is available at the following retailers:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

About the Author

ABAndrew Barrett has enjoyed variety in his professional life, from engine-builder to farmer, from Oilfield Service Technician in Kuwait, to his current role of Senior CSI in Yorkshire.

He’s been a CSI since 1996, and has worked on all scene types from terrorism to murder, suicide to rape, drugs manufacture to bomb scenes. One way or another, Andrew’s life revolves around crime.

In 1997 he finished his first crime thriller, A Long Time Dead, and it’s still a readers’ favourite today, some 200,000 copies later, topping the Amazon charts several times. Two more books featuring SOCO Roger Conniston completed the trilogy.

Today, Andrew is still producing high-quality, authentic crime thrillers with a forensic flavour that attract attention from readers worldwide. He’s also attracted attention from the Yorkshire media, having been featured in the Yorkshire Post, and twice interviewed on BBC Radio Leeds.

He’s best known for his lead character, CSI Eddie Collins, and the acerbic way in which he roots out criminals and administers justice. Eddie’s series is four books and two short stories in length, and there’s still more to come.

Andrew is a proud Yorkshireman and sets all of his novels there, using his home city of Leeds as another major, and complementary, character in each of the stories.

Author Links: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram ~ 

Follow the tour:

TNBTP