The Tall Man by Phoebe Locke @phoebe_locke @Wildfirebks @annecater #RandomThingsTours

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for Phoebe Locke’s new psychological thriller The Tall Man. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour. I have a great extract to share with you all as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is about.

TMAbout the Book

YOU DON’T FIND HIM… HE FINDS YOU.

The Tall Man is an ADDICTIVE and UNFORGETTABLE blend of psychological suspense and spine-tingling chills that will be perfect for fans of Stephen King, Ruth Ware, Sarah Pinborough’s BEHIND HER EYES. If you love STRANGER THINGS, prepare to be haunted by THE TALL MAN.

A SENSELESS MURDER. A TERRIFYING LEGEND. A FAMILY HAUNTED.

1990: In the darkest woods, three girls devote themselves to a sinister figure.

2000: A young mother disappears, leaving behind her husband and baby daughter.

2018: A teenage girl is charged with murder, and her trial will shock the world.

Three chilling events, connected by the shadow he casts.

He is the Tall Man. He can make you special…

The Tall Man

by Phoebe Locke

From ‘Making the Movie: The Difficult Journey to the Truth’ by Federica Sosa, published in Variety magazine, July 2019

When I first embarked upon this project, I was cautious. Although my previous documentary had been the subject of much critical acclaim, I needed to find another story which would grab me – consume me – as that one had.

The Banner family’s story first came to my attention during an extended stay in London. The case was much in the news at the time; in fact, as the impending trial drew closer, it was unavoidable. The headlines chilled me: a senseless murder; a family haunted by one member’s demons; an urban legend which had sunk its claws into an innocent child and turned her life upside down. I knew immediately that this was a story I wanted to tell.

Never, at that tentative sketching stage of potential, did I foresee the difficulties that my team and I would encounter. For every knot we untied in this tragic story, there was another one waiting; another secret looped up and feeding on the very fabric of this family. We compiled pages and pages of interviews; we began to look at events from all points of view, trying to find our way in. And looming over it all, always, was this playground tale, this dark figure of the Tall Man.

Many of the difficulties involved access. Not everyone concerned in the tale was alive to share their part. Often we had to rely on material left behind; on second-hand accounts. While these can be more enlightening than an interview, it was so incredibly frustrating, as a film-maker, not to be able to pick up on a certain point – a thought or a choice of word or an act itself – and ask Why? To ask, Was this real to you?

Much of what is in the film is now public knowledge, thanks to the trial and to the constant media attention. People became obsessed with the ghosts and the darkest deeds of the Banner family. With the Tall Man and the grip he held over them. I set out to cover the trial, to get behind the headlines and the ghouls and to uncover the cold truth about a murder. But to hear it told by the people involved shed a different light on those events. This story is not one of tabloid gore and shock; it is one of grief and guilt and the terrible secrets which nestled for years at the heart of not one but two families. It is about the legacy of a dreadful legend, a story that begins and ends in the darkest woods.

It has haunted me ever since.

Intrigued yet? I know I am. If you’d like to read more about The Tall Man it is available from the following retailers:

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Kobo ~ Waterstones

About the Author

PL

PHOEBE LOCKE is the pseudonym of full-time writer Nicci Cloke. She previously worked at the Faber Academy, and hosted London literary salon Speakeasy. Nicci has had two literary novels published by Fourth Estate and Cape, and also writes YA for Hot Key Books. She lives and writes in London. THE TALL MAN is Phoebe Locke’s debut thriller.

Find Phoebe on Twitter on @phoebe_locke

Make sure to check out some of the other blogs taking part in the tour for more reviews and features.

TTMBTP

4 thoughts on “The Tall Man by Phoebe Locke @phoebe_locke @Wildfirebks @annecater #RandomThingsTours

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 17/06/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.