One Way Or Another by Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth

I’m delighted to be joining the blog blitz for the latest novel from author Colleen Coleman, One Way Or Another. My thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for providing an advance copy of the book for review and for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in a moment after we’ve seen what it’s all about.

owoaAbout the Book

Twenty-nine-year-old Katie Kelly is at an all-time low. The love of her life, gorgeous Ben Cole, took a job abroad and broke her heart, the restaurant she’d put her all into went bust, and now she works in a retirement home, cooking beige mush for the residents.

Not exactly the life Katie had dreamed of…

So when the opportunity comes up to work for one of the best chefs in the country – Katie’s idol – she is determined to get the job, no matter what. But then she discovers who she’s competing against: Ben.

As the competition heats up, Katie and Ben spend more and more time together, and it’s clear the old spark is still there… But only one person can win their perfect job, and Katie is going to make sure it’s her. She knows she can’t let Ben back in – or can she find a way to have it all?

A hilarious, heart-warming story about romance, good food, and following your dreams, for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Cate Woods.

Everyone needs a dream and Katie thought she’d found hers. Her perfect partner, plans to open her own restaurant … and then it all went wrong. Finding herself working in a retirement home she is encouraged by one of the residents, her friend Martha, to enter a competition to become the Grand Chef to perhaps the world’s most infamous Chef, Jean-Michel Marchand. In a Master-Chef-esque environment Katie is forced to compete against dozens of other hopefuls for the coveted position. Now true to type, nothing in the life is ever straightforward Katie finds that once again, getting your dream isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. What the reader finds is a romantic, funny, occasionally high pressure story which warm the cockles, stir the soul and seer the heart a point of near perfection. In other words, it’s a pretty dang fun book.

What I love about picking up a book by Colleen Coleman is that I know I am guaranteed to find a character I can immediately get behind, one who isn’t perfect, who had her fair share of trials and tribulations, but ultimately is a person you like. Very much in this case, and not just because of how down to earth Katie is. Her easy-going friendship with Alice and her kind way with Martha all add to the warmth you can feel radiating from her with each page turn (or kindle click). Colleen Coleman manages to blend and astute observation of human nature with a good dollop of humour and the result is always a joy. There is a moment of sadness in this book too, some poignant scenes which will make your heart break, but they only add to the story.

Now, I will admit, at one point I thought I knew where this book would lead. Oh, that’ll teach me to make assumptions. While perhaps the inevitable did happen, it wasn’t in exactly the way I expected and I really did enjoy the journey I was taken on in the meantime. And Ms Coleman really did seem to capture at least my expectation (or perhaps my stereotype) of the world of fine dining and world-class chefing. From the ultra competitive Harry who perhaps needs some anger management sessions with a good counsellor, to the high pressure environment in which Katie was finally set to work, it all felt authentic. Apart from the fact that some of the food sounded edible. I find that rarely happens for me in a very posh restaurant 😉

It was great to watch Katie trying to balance family, friendship and ambition and not always succeeding. Did she ultimately do right? Well of course she did, but perhaps she learned some important life lessons along the way. And to be fair, the book gives out some sage advice in its own way about following your dreams, taking risks and pursuing your ambition as life is always fleeting, but never do so at the expense of happiness or family.

The ending to this book … Well a fitting tribute paid and a perfectly positive way to end. A fun foray into the world of food with a side helping of comedy jus and a Michelin star romance. Fans of Colleen Coleman are in for a treat.

One Way Or Another is available from today from the following retailers:

Amazon ~ Kobo ~ iBookstore ~ Googleplay

About the Author

CCColleen was born in Canada and raised in Ireland. She is the winner of the much-coveted Novelicious Undiscovered People’s Choice Award launched to find the next ‘chick-lit star’.

She spent years teaching English and Philosophy before finally taking a deep breath, scrunching both eyes shut, putting her pen to paper and vowing not to lift it again until she wrote the words ‘the end’. As a result, her first novel, Don’t Stop Me Now was born.

Colleen lives between London, Ireland and Cyprus with her very patient husband and very, very chatty twin daughters.

For chat, pics and updates visit www.colleencolemanbooks.com or Twitter

Follow the tour:

btp

One thought on “One Way Or Another by Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 29/04/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.