Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 08/04/18

beach-1790049_640

This picture has literally nothing to do with anything I have done this week but who doesn’t look at this puppy and just go awwwww?

You? Well you can just bugger off then as this is the most interesting thing in this post and if this doesn’t make you happy then pfttttthhhhhhhh to you. 😉

Well – in spite of this being only a four day working week, I think there is every chance I am more tired now than I have ever been, Okay – perhaps not ever – but I am most definitely very, very tired. Physically, mentally – I’m just about pooped. Yay!!! I managed to avoid going to Manchester on Wednesday, so that was nice but I still had to do my trip to Leamington for ADR Awareness training on Friday and I think that did for me. Great course with a brilliant tutor but such a dull subject and a long old drive – especially as the fluffing M6 was shut on the way there. About right.

IMG_6261 4.jpg

I took a little time away from the books this past weekend and instead went to watch the national tour of Wicked in Birmingham. Absolutely chuffing brilliant performance from the cast and I loved every minute of it. This is probably the fifth time I’ve seen the show but it never gets old. Great stuff.

Book wise I have been busy reading, reading, reading. No book post – I know right?  Netgalley wise – I had no books – but I may have purchased one or two titles to make up for it. One Little Lie by Sam Carrington is now on preorder for July and I also ordered Call to Arms by Rachel Amphlett and Too Close To Breathe by Olivia Kiernan as I realised I hadn’t yet purchased either, despite being on the tours for both. Naughty Jen. I also purchased the audio version of Hydra by Matt Wesolowski.

And, believe it or not, that was it. I received a load of books I’d had on preorder but didn’t purchase other any new ones.

I told you I was tired.

Good news though – I have managed to complete week three of my Forensic Psychology – Witness Investigation course. It hasn’t been a completely failed week.

Books I have read

TWITWThe Woman In The Woods – John Connolly

It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.

But there is no sign of a baby.

Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.

And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.

For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .

Been so looking forward to this book and it did not disappoint for one minute. I am a huge fan of the series and think this is one of the best yet. You can read my review here and you can purchase your own copy of the book right here.

tctbToo Close To Breathe – Olivia Kiernan

FIND THE KILLER WHO LIKES TO PLAY DEAD
A bold, brilliant new crime thriller – perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn

TOO SOON TO SEE

Polished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.

TOO LATE TO HIDE

DCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.

TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE

As Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.

Quite an intriguing debut set in Ireland. Detective Frankie Sheehan is called in to investigate a suspected suicide which turns out to have a much more sinister story. You’ll be able to read my thoughts a bit later this week but you can order your own copy here.

DSDeadly Secrets – Robert Bryndza

To commit the perfect murder, you need the perfect cover.

On an icy morning, a mother wakes to find her daughter’s blood-soaked body frozen to the road. Who would carry out such a killing on the victim’s doorstep?

Straight off her last harrowing case, Detective Erika Foster is feeling fragile but determined to lead the investigation. As she sets to work, she finds reports of assaults in the same quiet South London suburb where the woman was killed. One chilling detail links them to the murder victim – they were all attacked by a figure in black wearing a gas mask. 

Erika is on the hunt for a killer with a terrifying calling card. The case gets more complicated when she uncovers a tangled web of secrets surrounding the death of the beautiful young woman. 

Yet just as Erika begins to piece the clues together, she is forced to confront painful memories of her past. Erika must dig deep, stay focused and find the killer. Only this time, one of her own is in terrible danger… 

I’m a big fan of the Erika Forster series and so it is always exciting to know another book is out there. Full of interesting revelations about the team, this book also has a grizzly murder at its heart and sees one of the team in real jeopardy. You’ll be able to read my review on launch day but in the meantime why not preorder a copy here.

kKeeper – Johana Gustawsson

Whitechapel, 1888: London is bowed under Jack the Ripper’s reign of terror.

London, 2015: actress Julianne Bell is abducted in a case similar to the terrible Tower Hamlets murders of some ten years earlier, and harking back to the Ripper killings of a century before.

Falkenberg, Sweden, 2015: a woman’s body is found mutilated in a forest, her wounds identical to those of the Tower Hamlets victims. With the man arrested for the Tower Hamlets crimes already locked up, do the new killings mean he has a dangerous accomplice, or is a copy-cat serial killer on the loose?

Profiler Emily Roy and true-crime writer Alexis Castells again find themselves drawn into an intriguing case, with personal links that turn their world upside down. Following the highly acclaimed Block 46 and guaranteed to disturb and enthral, Keeper is a breathless thriller from the new queen of French Noir.

Oh my life. I loved Block 46 and you always have to wonder when a book is that good whether a follow up can compare. Simple answer – yes it can. Great being back in the company of Alexis Castells and Emily Roy, this time set against a story involving the notorious true life murderer, Jack the Ripper. you’ll be able to read my thoughts at the weekend, but in the meantime, why not grab yourself a coy of the book here.

Four books. I’ll take that, all things considered. It was 1320 pages (in case anyone was wondering) so not too shabby. Good week on the. blog with a variety of posts, all of which can be found below.

Manipulated Lives by HA Leuschel

Author Spotlight: #RachelAbbott #ComeALittleCloser

Review: Class Murder by Leigh Russell @LeighRussell

Spotlight on ‘The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle’ by Stuart Turton

Review: The Woman In The Woods by John Connolly

Friends and Traitors by John Lawton

I’ve a few tours and the like this week, starting with A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh, My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland; Too Close To Breathe by Olivia Kiernan; The Summer Theatre By the Sea by Tracy Corbett; Deadly Secrets by Robert Bryndza and Keeper by Johana Gustawsson.

This week will be mostly taken up with a trip to First Monday Crime, two online training courses in Forensics and Forensic Psychology, a day trip to Lille (another 2.5 hr meeting) and a bit of reading. Not a lot really. I’m hoping to combine all of this with a little sleep. You never know. I may even pull it off … Wish me luck.

Have a fabulously bookish week all

Jen

12 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 08/04/18

    1. I’ll do cats for you, not a problem. I feel your pain re the eyelids. Not literally as that would be weird, but I’m thankful to have a health and safety meeting tomorrow so I can grab an hours shut eye 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, that course sounds fascinating!!
    I love Robert Bryndza and his books, just catching up on the series 😀
    Too Close To Breathe sounds good, been seeing it around a lot lately.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.