Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 22/04/18

baby-215303_640

Me this weekend. Made the bloody mistake of reading Angela Marsons’ latest book Dying Truth didn’t I? Oh. My, God. I knew it would be good but I wasn’t prepared for that. When people mention book hangovers I’m usually like – meh – I loved it but I move on. This … Gutted, devastated, wounded … just some of the words I could use. Alongside ‘loved it’. 😀 Top stuff. Continue reading “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 22/04/18”

The Girl Who Got Revenge by Marnie Riches @Marnie_Riches @AvonBooksUK

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest George McKenzie novel from Marnie Riches, The Girl Who Got Revenge. I love this series and am thrilled to be able to share an extract from the book with you all today. We’ll take a look at that in just a moment but first of all, let’s take a look at what George is up to this time.

TGWGRAbout the Book

Revenge is a dish best served deadly…

A twelve-year-old girl is found dead at the Amsterdam port. An old man dies mysteriously in a doctors’ waiting room. Two seemingly unconnected cases, but Inspector Van den Bergen doesn’t think so…

Criminologist George McKenzie is called in to help crack the case before it’s too late. But the truth is far more deadly than anyone can imagine… Can George get justice for the dead before she ends up six-feet under too?

A heart-racing thriller packed with secrets, lies and the ultimate revenge, perfect for fans of Steig Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

The fifth gripping thriller in the Georgina McKenzie series.

Continue reading “The Girl Who Got Revenge by Marnie Riches @Marnie_Riches @AvonBooksUK”

East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie once more for a review of East of India by Erica Brown as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Ellie Pilcher at Canelo for inviting us to take part in the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

EOI.jpgAbout the Book

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband’s plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don’t miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman’s determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D’Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

Continue reading “East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163”

Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours

Today I’m thrilled to be joining the blog tour for Body and Soul the final Frank Elder novel from author John Harvey. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour and to the publisher for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before I tell you my thoughts on the book, let’s see what it’s all about.

basAbout the Book

From the master of British Crime Writing comes Frank Elder’s last case.

‘The heavy manacles around the girl’s wrists, perhaps not surprisingly, looked very much like the ones that had been found on the studio floor. For a moment, she had a vision of the chain to which they were attached being swung through the air, taking on force and speed before striking home.Then swung again.’

When his estranged daughter Katherine appears on his doorstep, ex-Detective Frank Elder knows that something is wrong.

Katherine has long been troubled, and Elder has always felt powerless to help her. 

But now Katherine has begun to self-destruct.

The breakdown of her affair with a controversial artist has sent her into a tailspin which culminates in murder.

And as Elder struggles to protect his daughter and prove her innocence, the terrors of the past threaten them both once more …

Continue reading “Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours”

Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights

Today I’m delighted to share my review of the novella, Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky. A quick read at a little under 100 pages, this is one twisted read. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

rtbAbout the Book

Like a spider wrapping flies…

When psychopath Duncan leaves a trail of duct-tape-wrapped bodies scattered across the suburbs of Birmingham, there’s nothing to link the victims except his own name and address, carefully placed on each new corpse.Six very different people follow his clues, each convinced they can use Duncan to further their own selfish or naïve ends. Is there a reason Duncan’s driven to target these particular individuals, or does their very nature contribute to their fate?Will any of them be strong enough to break the cycle and escape a painful death? Or will Duncan reel them in and rearrange them to his own insane ideal? 

“Raise the Blade is a gloriously gruesome read, riven with the very blackest of humour. And I loved it.”Ian Ayris, author of ‘Abide With Me’ and ‘April Skies’.

Continue reading “Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights”